We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Chef

Thai Chef
Reserve with OpenTable
Thai Chef is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 202 Restaurants in Montclair
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Thai Chef's food is great. It has been at this location in Montclair for as long as I can remember. Not the best Thai I've ever had but still, very good. Reasonable prices. Attentive wait staff. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkolodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai with a French Twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

You can get all of the classic Thai dishes made very well. Or you can get Thai/French fusion dishes that are interesting and delicious. Save room for the chocolate souffle!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickFLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Could be much better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Though overall I enjoyed the experience at Thai Chef, a few missteps led me to rate a 3 and not a 4. We had a "crispy" duck salad to start. Flavors were great except for the most important part. The duck was soggy and fatty. I had to eat around it to enjoy the salad. wouldn't get it again but would love a salad with the same lime chili dressing sans the duck.

For entrees we shared the soft shell crabs in garlic sauce. Portion was 3 very large crabs ($29) but again, flavor fell short and the tempura battering was way too heavy. The pad thai with shrimp was very tasty, and the chocolate souffle we shared for dessert was yummy.

I will definitely try it again but will be more careful about ordering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I've been to Thai Chef numerous times and have not been disappointed. The restaurant is BYOB, and the wait staff is quick to offer a bottle opener and suggestions on what to eat. I would strongly suggest the scallop pancake as an appetizer, and you can't go wrong with any of the curry or noodle dishes for your main course. I also love the mango with sticky rice for dessert . Without a doubt the best Thai place in Northern Essex county.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badkitty13x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
352 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“OK, but not #8 of 92 in Montclair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was an OK Thai restaurant with average food and friendly service. However, I'd make the trip a little further to Belleville for a better experience at Topaz. The ending was disappointing when we had to wait 20 minutes extra at the end for our Souffle despite ordering it at the beginning of the meal. That was a pretty simple item to overlook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyLScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Chef also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing