We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great meal!”
Review of Fascino

Fascino
Reserve with OpenTable
Fascino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 207 Restaurants in Montclair
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Lackawanna Train Station
Description: "The atmosphere of Fascino, with its minimalist cream and deep red decor, borders on stark but not casual. The complexity's in the entrees, where flavors, scents and textures fuse seamlessly. Puree of kobacha squash soup with oregano crema and hazelnut oil wins the intriguing appetizer award, and the paper-thin sheets of beef carpaccio with truffle oil and petite salad are a beef purist's dream. Pastas, risottos and raviolis are all available as appetizers or main courses, but the duck breast with confit cannelloni and black fig compote or pine nut-crusted codfish might be hard to pass up." -- Mike Hess, AOL Digital City
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“another great meal!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

i was going to go the the orange squirrel for bloomfield restaurant week, but when my date couldn't make it, I cancelled and went with my roommate to one of my favorite places!!! i should try some new things there, but i again ordered the gnocchi as an appetizer and the pork chop. what can I say? lovely delicate gnocchi with a very tasty ragu, and the pork chop was cooked to perfection…again!!! and I do love that schnitzel they serve with it. small portions??? i don't think so! we both have larger appetites, and we couldn't even think of dessert! Fascino…you have my heart - and my stomach!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maestromuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    50
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“One of the most enjoyable meals I've ever had”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 8 and dined last night for the first time. It's byo so that's great. I like the layout of the restaurant there's areas so it's quiet and cozy and we sat in a corner booth that was almost a round table and made for great conversation. The menu is excellent, while 7 of our party chose fish I was the lone dissenter and had gnocchi. It was the best freshest tastiest pasta I've ever experienced. Appetizers are great including stuffed zucchini flowers, chorizo, mussels ( on the tiny size) but good and fresh. We also tried the polenta fries which were more like bread sticks but very good. The bread basket is delicious including corn bread. Desserts were the finishing touch after one of the best local dining experiences we've ever had. We all left feeling great. One tiny suggestion, when we walked in the door there was a slight mildew odor possibly from the carpeting which needs attention. However in no way will that affect our returning again for a tremendous dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Place with Average Food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

BYOB. Excellent service. Decor was quaint. More upscale which was what we wanted. Comfortable environment.
Very quite place. We liked that !
Food was ok. Had the buttermilk chicken breast. The marinade was tasty but could have used more. Smaller portions in general at a high price.
Would go back again only if asked to by friends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pros:
Busy place but
if you get the booths, it is a rather cozy restaurant.
The quality of the food is good and portions are adequate.
BYO, always a plus.
Cons
Service diligent but obsequious and pushing you out the door.
Menu does not change much.
rather expensive for what it delivers.
No amuse bouches or treats afterwards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,160 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,398 helpful votes
“Memorable Upscale Italian”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A family fave - both the tasting menu and the a la cart menu are exceptional! The pan seared scallops and the duck are amazing. Although the outside is not attractive, the decor is modern with dim lighting and leather booths. This is a family owned restaurant and their service is impeccable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Luvs2TravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fascino also viewed

 

Been to Fascino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing