We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good property with close proximity to NYC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Montvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Montvale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good property with close proximity to NYC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel is in a quite area with not much around it. However, the location is in close proximity to New York about 40 min. and about 30 min. away from the largest outlet mall in US - Woodberry Commons! The hotel is on a small size but the rooms are a good size, clean with HD TVs. The staff was friendly and accommodating (I asked them to change the room type and they quickly arranged it with no extra charge) I also enjoyed the restaurant in the hotel "Fire & Oak" they have a very culturally diverse menu with some Italian, American, Japanese dishes, I had their risotto scallops and they were delicious although a very large portion. The only negative comment is, we had a bug in our room, maybe because our room was on a ground floor but nevertheless unpleasant.

Room Tip: try to get rooms above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Evgenia,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott in Montvale, NJ. We are glad to be of service and appreciate you letting us know our oppotunities for improvement. Our Maintenance team is looking into the bug issue that you experienced and will make sure that we look into getting this resolved.

We thank you for staying with us and we hope that we remain to be your preferred host whenever you are in the area.

Best regards,



Cecilia Kuhlman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    90
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
56
43
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Courtyard is a good property but comparatively smaller to other hotels in the area.
The rooms are good and the staff is friendly. The shuttle service runs for 4 hours - 2 in the morning and 2 in the evening.
Overall it was a good experience. Do try out the Fire & Oak Restaurant, its one of the best in the area. Ask for Daniel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prateek_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

As a Marriott platinum member I am very familiar with the Courtyard chain as I have enjoyed staying at them across the globe. Upon my arrival to this location I decided to shower before stepping out for the evening. Shortly into my shower I noticed the water was not draining correctly and was backing up. I finished up, called the front desk, and made them aware of the situation. I was told they would take of it while I was out for the evening. I came back hours later (left around 430 came back after 11) to find still standing water over 3 inches deep. I called again and was assured someone had come and taken care of it while I was out.... Meanwhile I'm looking at still standing water in the shower. I awoke next morning to find the water still standing at the same level I had left it the afternoon before. The water level hadn't lowered. Needless to say I was less than pleased.

Besides the incident mentioned above, the hotel is satisfactory. Customer service is the corner stone of the hotel industry and this establishment is severely lacking in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

For those of you familiar with the "Courtyard" setup, this is not anywhere close, which for me was refreshing since I stay in them all the time. This hotel has a restaurant, the Fire & Oak, connected (but independent) directly to the hotel and it's very good. Also very nice restaurant bar and private dining options. Guest rooms are adequate, but I do like the stand up shower instead of the tub. As some of the reviews indicate, this might give the impression that the bathroom is smaller than normal, but I would say it's about the same. Again, refreshing from your basic Courtyard design. Fitness room was fine and grounds seem well maintained. Location is great and there is good shopping/dining within a walking distance. Rate I paid was a steal given where it is.

Room Tip: Hotel is very large, so ask for something closer to elevator if you don't want to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Hi
I was visiting this hotel during a business trip
Room is very nice and clean, wifi is free and fast.
There is a very nice complementary shuttle service to the nearby area which helped me a lot- very nice service

I will visit here again while I'm in the area

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yaki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel is fairly nice and updated, rooms look dates and uninviting. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice enough. The man who checked us in was impatient and obnoxious. Bedding is low quality and was too small for the mattress, kept waking up on the bare mattress which was disgusting. Bathroom was worn out, wall was missing tile, lack of attention to detail. Overall just not a good choice for the area. Try the Hilton or th Marriott park ridge

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Staying here at the moment to bridge over the days between moving out of my house and leaving the country. Overall a very nice and roomy room, nicely appointed, big shower.
My rate comes with free breakfast... What nobody told me is that not all breakfasts are created equal... and so you have to pay extra if you take any of the warm items. Breakfast room staff overall unfriendly, bordering on unpleasant, didn't bother mentioning that.
Pool is nice but not too clean. Showers at the pool are inop.
Location is good when you are with one of the companies along Chestnut Ridge Road.
Oh, there are a lot of weddings here at the moment, which means that people will walk through the hallways in the middle of the night loudly chatting. But that's not so much the hotel's fault but rather these people's rudeness.
Fire and Oak is a nice upscale bar and restaurant right in front of the hotel. On the pricey side but very good.
Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaKu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontvaleGM, General Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear MaKu70,
Thank you for staying with us. Your company negotiated rate does include a continental breakfast. We do offer a full paid breakfast as well at the hotel. I do apologize that your experience was not completely up to expectation. Service is of the utmost importance to us. I will make a point to meet with the breakfast and maintenance staff to review your expectations and mine. Thank you for choosing Marriott. We hope to see you again when you return.

Sincerely,
Paul Viapiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montvale
0.8 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Pearl River
Hilton Pearl River
#1 of 1 in Pearl River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Saddle River
Residence Inn Saddle River
#1 of 1 in Saddle River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montvale

Property: Courtyard Montvale
Address: 100 Chestnut Ridge Rd, Montvale, NJ 07645-1803 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Region: United States > New Jersey > Montvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Montvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated hotel from the ground up. A very unique and contemporary courtyard with a signature restaurant, "Fire & Oak." We offer complimentary high speed Wi-fi in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Montvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Montvale
Montvale Courtyard
Montvale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing