We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Montvale
Nearby Hotels
Park Ridge Marriott(Park Ridge)
US$228
US$183
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Saddle River(Saddle River)
US$167
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Motel(Upper Saddle River)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$126
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
95
99
49
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
99
49
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskdouble doorsoak restauranttypical courtyardon site restaurantthe garden state parkwaychestnut ridgenice stayquiet locationnice roombusiness tripking roomfollowing morningcoffee makermini fridgenew jerseyclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

There are only a few hotels in the vicinity of the montvale corporate office place and this cortyard is one of those.
The pros:
convinient location - near to office, has A&P store nearby (<2 miles) ,CVS and a farmer fresh market store nearby for all your needs.
The rooms overlooking the pools have a good view.
The rooms though compact are cleana n the house keep does a pretty decent staff.The staff is couteous , and the front desk was quite helpful.
The pool is clean and nice.Free breakfats for elite emembers and the 5th floor has a snack buffet 5:00 to 07:00 for priveledged \ elite emembers.
Cons:
The tariff is high for a courtyard, that too on a corporate plan (169 including taxes) -includes free wifi.
There are rooms whose windows open in the hotel lobby - that is a terrible thing to have!
.They could doa little better with the rooms to be more spacious.
Some good eating options like Fire and oak nearby.
There is a strip mall nearby which houses Banaana Republic, GAP etc other brands.

Room Tip: choose rooms whose windows open towards the pool, not the one tahts open towards the lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niraj_seth2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontvaleGM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Mr. Seth,

We thank you for your review of Marriott. However, it appears that you did not stay at the Courtyard Montvale, it appears as though you stayed at the Park Ridge Marriott, which is a nearby property. Unfortunately, we do not have a concierge lounge, however we do have Fire & Oak which is one of the best restaurants in all of Bergen County. I do hope if you are in the area of Montvale in the near future, you do give us a try, we would love to show you our true hospitality skills here at Courtyard Montvale!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott, NJ for Business in December 2013.

Did not quote have the look and feel of a Courtyard as this seemingly is a Holiday Inn property remodeled

Must say that the tariff was really Pricey with breakfast excluded. Nice Bed with real great cushions but the Bathroom was cramped. One of the things you notice is the real small and cramped Lift.

Had the 11.95$ + tax breakfast. Far too expensive though the Host was very friendly and helpful.

All in all a disappointing experience for a Courtyard

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinchillRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here for local business. I'd stayed at another Marriott in the area in the past but I'd heard decent reviews of this one and the cost was a little better. The room was clean and comfortable.

I did miss before booking that the pool is a seasonal outdoor pool. For me this did not matter but if I'd stayed here with family, it would have so just to be aware.

Free wi-fi is nice but not as convenient as other locations since any drop in the wi-fi requires a reagreement to the terms and conditions vs. other places which have a 24 hour token after providing name/room.

Breakfast was decent for $12. The made to order eggs is nice and there are enough options for most.

If I return to the area, I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiberjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us for the first time, we thoroughly hope that you saw what we have to offer and what makes us stand out as a hotel. Our outdoor heated pool is opened from Memorial Day to Labor Day so please make sure you stay with us during that time period so you can experience ultimate relaxation. The made to order eggs in our breakfast area are a popular one with all of our guests. We do offer omelettes and waffles as well. Our helpful breakfast attendants can help you with anything you need. We do hope to see you soon and hope we exceeded your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in Montvale for a difficult funeral, and the Courtyard Marriott helped us through it, truly. It was very conveniently located, not just to the services themselves, but to places to get food, incl a Fresh Market grocery store which, if not familiar with the chain, is a great place to get all kinds of things, though a bit on the pricey side. (I did a review for Bellissimo during our last stay in Montvale, which is a great, small Italian restaurant, and quite close as well.) The king size bed was clean and very comfortable. The room was a medium size, with sofa and ample table and desk space. The bathroom was nicely tiled, though there was no fan to absorb the steam from the shower. Breakfast was not included but there were two buffet options, incl a hot bar, and a continental, which included oatmeal and cold cereals, fruit, etc. Staff were warm and friendly. The lobby was spacious and pleasant. The price was reasonable. I would stay again easily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneupstatenewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

We are terribly sorry for the loss that you occurred. We do hope that we were able to make your stay the utmost comfortable for you and your family during this difficult time. We are glad that you found our staff warm and friendly. Here at Courtyard Montvale, that is one thing that we definitely pride ourselves on. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed the room and happy that you were able to try out our breakfast options. If there is anything else we can do for you in the near future please do not hesitate to call or visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for a reunion for two nights this past weekend. We were able to check in early. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The walls are paper thin, so you could hear mumblings of conversations in the surrounding rooms, never mind if people were in the hall conversing. The black out curtains did not shut all the way, so there was light coming in. There was also a humming all day and night, not sure if it was from the a/c or the fridge from another room, that was a bit annoying. The bathroom doors had an interesting glass panel in them that did not allow for complete privacy, very strange.
We did not use the restaurant so I don't know how that was. The location was good for what we needed. My only other complaint is that our bill was for more than the amount we reserved at, so a bit miffed that is somehting that needs to be resolved. For the price I would expect a quieter hotel, but overall it was a pleasant stay. I opted for three stars over four based on the noise level for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacalover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Montvale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We do hope that you enjoyed your reunion that you were in town for. It is always a plus catching up with old classmates to share memories as well as create new ones. We are pleased to hear that you were able to check-in early and a great arrival experience. Our engineers are always looking at a/c and heating units to make sure that they are top-notch condition. Regarding your bill, we would be more than happy to look at it for you to see where the discrepancy was. Anytime, you can contact us and we would be more than happy to assist you in that matter. Once again, thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews