We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Best Stay At A Marriott Courtyard”
Review of Courtyard Montvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Montvale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

From check in to check out this hotel was first class all the way.The location is perfect for almost anything you might want to acccomplish.We found the hotel and the room to be the cleanest of all the hotels we have ever stayed in.The breakfast was great and the ladies and gentleman who operate it were extremely accomodating.The general manager Paul has a great team.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed in the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montvale for 3 nights. The bedroom was big enough with two beds. A big advantage was, that internet is included in the room price Unfortunnatelly the internet connection in my room was broken down and could'nt be repaired. Connection in the hall was a little bit to slow.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rschneede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I have stayed in hotels that were so bad I saw 6 foot cockroaches leave gagging from the stench within the hotel.So I am always anxious when I book a room,and yes I do read the trip advisor.If I go to heaven and while waiting for Saint Peter I hope I can stay at a hotel that was a clean as comfortable as this Marriott.Skip the Xanex when you leave for this hotel you will be smiling and cozy in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keyasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I went to Montvale on a business trip and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott and found it to be a wonderful hotel ... much nicer than what I was expecting for a Courtyard. The room was large and spacious with a modern decor. Also, the restaurant (Fire & Oak) had very good food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitby-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We had a confirmed reservation through Priceline at this hotel - which the hotel staff refused to honor. We arrived there late in the evening with a young child who needed to go to bed. They staunchly refused to give us a room, even though we had paid for it four days earlier. After keeping us waiting half an hour, we were surprised and shocked to find ourselves being shoved off in the dark, in an unfamiliar area, to try to find the sister property in Saddlebrook armed with nothing but a Post-it upon which the desk clerk had scribbled only the most rudimentary directions - not even the name of the sister hotel, its phone number, or a map to help us get there. So of course we got lost. A nightmare experience from start to finish. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Italinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I remember staying here for a business retreat and was pleasantly surprised! The hotel was completely furnished like the newly decorated homes in the shows you see on TLC or HGTV! I was also pleased with the service.

The only thing is, I'm not sure what else goes on in Montvale, NJ that someone would need to go there. But it is not far from the Palisades Mall and is located near the NY/NJ border that is toll free!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymisslySpeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I was recently at the Courtyard in Montvale, it served as my home base for a week.

The Courtyard looks like it went through a major restoration. The lobby and rooms are very nice. The room I had contained a HDTV which actually had HDTV pumping through, and a nice bathroom. I found the bed comfortable, and yadda yadda yadda. I say "yadda" because this is a courtyard and I know what to expect.

Some things that weren't positives.

- no wireless in the room, not a deal breaker, however, a tad inconvenient. Sometimes the internet did not work when I wanted to connect to VPN.
- i found the staff willing to accomodate those guests that they thought had big bucks. I am not a "high roller," I'm not broke. The folks at the front desk seemed to schmooze more with the older crowd. They also seemed more eager to please them.
- This was extremely evident at the bar. The guy at the bar is nice, and can poor a mean drink. He just didn't pay attention to the younger folks. I tipped him fine, and thought I was polite, he also schmoozed with the perceived high-rollers.

The hotel isn't close to much in walking distance. It is about a 10 minute drive to a major shopping mall. There are a few strip malls along Chestnut. The Commuter Rail Station is about a 4 minute drive, if you want to get to NYC without driving.

I will probably stay here again, and then expect that I will be treated differently. I guess that's life.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moogie14a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montvale
0.9 mi away
Park Ridge Marriott
Park Ridge Marriott
#1 of 1 in Park Ridge
413 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
Hilton Woodcliff Lake
#1 of 1 in Woodcliff Lake
771 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Saddle River
Residence Inn Saddle River
#1 of 1 in Saddle River
174 reviews
5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
#1 of 2 in Suffern
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montvale

Address: 100 Chestnut Ridge Rd, Montvale, NJ 07645-1803 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Region: United States > New Jersey > Montvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Price Range: £118 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Montvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated hotel from the ground up. A very unique and contemporary courtyard with a signature restaurant, "Fire & Oak." We offer complimentary high speed Wi-fi in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Montvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Montvale
Montvale Marriott
Montvale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing