We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #23 of 119 Restaurants in Mount Laurel
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our usual Mexican restaurant in this area, however, the past two visits have been less than satisfying. For the second time our food was so cold that it had to be sent back. Of course, the server was sincerely apologetic. It was a holiday weekend but the eatery was busy. they have added runners to deliver the food to the tables. I don't like this new change. You just don't see your server again until it is time for the check. The server blamed the runner, the runner blamed the manager for not scheduling enough staff, the manager blamed the kitchen. We were spared an excuse from the kitchen. I doubt we will return here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    24
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice treat”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything was great. Our server Mike was very engaging and made our evening awesome. He checked on us throughout the evening to make sure we were okay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tash195711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

4 adults and two toddlers ate dinner here - they were able to squeeze us into a table for 4 outside with two highchairs which was nice of them. The food was just ok - I`m not a huge fan of mexican food but everyone else in our group enjoyed it. Portions are big and service was quick. They had coloring sheets and crayons ready for kids.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Greeted by such a friendly staff as soon as we walked in. We were exhausted from travelling and they took such great care of us! Sat us down and got our drinks right away. The server was so sweet and very helpful with my gluten free needs.
We got enormous servings and everything was delicious.
We will certainly be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were in town on business and found the food and the service were great. The food was hot and came very quickly. Server was so courteous and attentive. We will go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank divakern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing