We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Grub and Sushi”
Review of Clancy's

Clancy's
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Neptune
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub and Sushi”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Believe it or not, Clancy's is my go to place for great sushi at the Jersey Shore. The sushi is freshly prepared by a talented sushi chef and always top quality! The pub grub at Clancy's is well prepared and the service is top notch too. They recently put in a raw bar too that served freshly shucked clams and oysters. Love the place before we go to the Pony or Wonder bar for concerts!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south river,nj
Level Contributor
115 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, fair service”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was here 2 times this week and my experiences were totally different. The first visit was for breakfast on Monday and the service was great, the bartender was on top of everything and the food was very tasty. The 2nd visit was for dinner Thurs night. The sushi was excellent, the raw bar was decent enough but the person who was shucking the oysters needs to learn how to keep the shell out of the meat. The service sucked. The waiter was polite but not really very good. It took way too long to get my drink and I asked several times. He forgot my water, I had to ask for it 2 additional times and during the course of my visit, I had to work to get the attention of the bartenders for additional food items. They never even bothered to see if I wanted additional glasses of saki. This is an Irish pub with a sushi chef and Japanese appitizers. The bartenders were more busy joking with each other then talking with the customers. From reading the reviews here I'm not alone in noticing there is little consistency here. I'll be back for the sushi as the quality was excellent but to come her to hang out and chill, there are too many places that are more attentive to its customers then Clancy's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonladyrvrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Breakfast Until 2pm on Weekends!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pulled into Asbury Park on Saturday around noon; hot and hungry! Since it was 4th of July weekend, we wanted to find a pace with parking. Upon turning on to Main St there is a little strip center where we found Clancy's.

We were greeted and seated promptly. Our server responded quickly with our drink orders. We decided on breakfast which is served until 2pm on the weekends. I noticed a home made corned beef hash with 2 eggs and toast. I figured I would give it a try.

The food arrived quickly and it was delicious. It is honestly the best corned beef hash I have eve eaten. Large pieces of corned beef, oh so delicious. The eggs cooked over medicum to perfection. And the home frieds were made with onions and green peppers! Mmmmm

We had a nice conversation with some of the staff regarding other items on the menu, the history of the place and an affiliated restaurant name Kelly's. It was a truly great experience with delicious food, great staff and a reasonable price. I can say there is nothing else like it in the area.

Easy to drive by but well worth the effort to look over and find it. Stop in and see for yourself, Clancy's is truly a diamond in the rough, down to earth, good food in an area starving for just some everyday food and drink. Seems like a locals kind a place with a good attitude toward all who enter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NASCARbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty disgusting and gross”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The food is hairy, cold, nasty and tasteless, even drunk it tastes horrible. The crowd is toothless, unclean, dirty and disgusting. The decor is old, dark and musty. The overall experience are for deadbeats and gross beings. Taco Bell attracts a much more elite crowd than this place. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skippy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I first heard of Clancy's Tavern about four years ago when my family and I were looking for an open restaurant during the off season in the afternoon. When we got there, the place was filthy and there were only people at the bar. Mind you, we were the only ones there and it took almost two hours for seven people to get food. The waitresses and waiters seemed inexperienced and more concerned about their conversations. My family vowed to never go again.

This June we came back and it was after searching for a restaurant that was open on a Monday and around 1 pm. (Many of the restuarants were closed or opened later) We had a party of 13 this time and when we got there, again no one was there and they had nothing ready for us to sit down. The restaurant looked filthy and their liquor store area or whatever you want to call it, was trashy with papers, machines, and other things thrown all over.

As they put together the table, the waiter mistakenly put a lower number of seats than what we had in our party. As we stood there, he completely gave up trying to figure out what to do and called the manager/owner maybe? to the table. He was the most un-accommodating and the rudest person I have ever met. He did not want to make us feel comfortable at all and figure out some sort of way on how we can organize ourselves to eat, since there was no room. We decided to leave and go somewhere else and as we were walking out, the waiters and owner were snickering and laughing to themselves. It was extremely unprofessional and aggravating since we all came from an emotional day of a lost in our lives. They will not only get any of our service ever again, but we have talked to regulars and others about them as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxxkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clancy's also viewed

Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Clancy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing