We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Neptune(Neptune)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Inn(Neptune)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernwood Motel(Neptune City)
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albatross Hotel(Ocean Grove)
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
95
69
26
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
69
26
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe jersey shoreasbury parkfull kitchenoutlet mallsocial houryogurtfirst floora great place to staysink areaexercise roomhot tubbasketball courtshort drivenew jerseyking bedwalmartsuite
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Gnomemoss hit it on the head! "Disappointing decline from very-good to average", is exactly how I would say it. Time to pump some new life back into the property. Work out room is the size of a closet and the equipment is not very good and not being maintained. The staff was cordial and at times aloof. The house keeping staff needs to use the vacuum cleaner not just keep it on the cart for show. And finally the chef, no I wouldn't call him that, needs to find another job. He gave the distinct impression that he was doing us a favor by putting out less than stellar appetizers. Aside from that it was adequate. Can't say that I would go out of my way to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI_Neptune_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your return visit and comments about your most recent stay. I most certainly will review them for continuing hotel improvements as we ramp up for a great Jersey Shore summer! I invite you to contact me directly so that we can share with you our most recent changes. Thank you much - Abby Kushner, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed three months at this hotel while working in NJ and must say it was one of the nicest stays I have ever had. My room was always clean, the satff was exceptional and free evening snack/meal was good. It is within walking distance of a couple of restaurants and a walgreens. There is a Walmart right around the corner and the Outlet Mall is less then a mile away. The beach is under five miles away and there is a boardwalk with shops and restaurant.

Room Tip: Mattresses could be updated/changed out. The king suite was a nice size room
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKCsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI_Neptune_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for sharing detailed information of your 3-month visit with us! We appreciate all of your comments and wish you all the best. If we could be of further assistance on another trip to the Central New Jersey area, please don't hesitate to contact us directly. Abby Kushner, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Neptune Residence Inn (RI) -- like Forrest Gump's box of chocolates: "...you never know what you're gonna get."

4-story RI with 100+ suites. Disappointing decline from very good to average. Still functional; hope not on slippery downward slope.


1-Bedroom Suite, King Bed
-------------------------------------
(High Floor, Back of Hotel Facing Golf Course)

• Smallish, 1-bedroom suite -- comfortable for 1 person, cozy for 2, crowded for 3.

• Cramped bedroom (dresser drawers, when opened, bump into foot of bed). Narrow path to walk around to far side of bed by window. Comfortable enough king bed.

• Smaller (compared to some other RIs) living room/ kitchenette. Functional, but not as spacious. (Perhaps just luck of the draw.)


Disappointments
-----------------------
• Literally threadbare (with small holes) fitted bottom sheet on bed. (Doesn't affect functionality, just surprised to see.)

• Near empty roll of paper towels on dispenser in kitchenette; a few sheets remained. (No replacement roll in cabinets.) Likewise, near empty roll of toilet paper in bathroom; fortunately, full roll under bathroom sink.

• Steam iron filled with water (sitting in iron compartment in closet for unknown length of time). (Avoid unwittingly rust-staining garments by emptying old water & testing *hot* iron on towel first.)

• Towels ranged from worn/ frayed to brand-spanking new.
(As a frequenter of RIs, not fazed by wearing towels; but couldn't help thinking, if a new visitor (to RI brand), shredding/ unraveling towels leaves negative impression. Such dilapidated towels should have been taken out of circulation -- along with "holey" sheets. (At very least, trim raggedy threads. Recycling well-worn threadbare towels/ linens as cleaning rags gets every last drop of life out of them; using them on new (potentially repeat) guests is not a good idea.) The juxtaposition of brand-spanking new next to raggedy frayed has you wondering if merely a rushed oversight.

• Rusty soup ladle in kitchenette drawer. (Perhaps a new way of getting USDA recommended dose of iron.) Clarification: not a hint of rust, a touch of rust, or a little rust -- thoroughly r u s t e d. (Disappointed. This is *not* Neptune RI from previous visits.)


Petty Annoyances
-------------------------
Not deal breakers -- merely minor annoyances if you've had previous better experiences (or higher expectations):

• Tiny drinking glasses (juice-glass size). (Use coffee cups from gatehouse as full-size drinking glasses.) Equally tiny, ice-cream-scoop-size cereal bowl. Excellent for child-sized servings -- not for adults.

• No garbage disposal in kitchen sink.

• Incomplete kitchenette items/utensils (missing colander, glass pyrex bowls). Without conducting extensive inventory, you may not notice missing item until you need to use it. Missing utensils may not faze you if don't prep meals or only eat takeout meals.

• Bathroom beginning to wear: mold beginning around tub, large crack in shower/ tub tile wall, indeterminate white splats on bathroom wall (paint? toothpaste? caulking?). Doesn't affect functionality, merely lacks eye-appeal.

• Guest information booklet (slim black binder) well-worn: child's crayon scrawls inside on plastic coated pages. Unsure if ever cleaned or if information ever updated.

• Tiny, difficult-to-read type on menu calendar on room's fridge. (Helpful info -- yet difficult to read because of miniscule type.)


Niceties
-----------
• Working free Internet/ WiFi. Separate desk & kitchen table with enough room to spread out. Enough outlets for electronic gadgets.

• Scenic, serene view of golf course with clubhouse sitting atop lolling, green hills. Lovely early morning sunrise through mist on hills. (Wished for balcony -- with sliding glass door -- to sit out & enjoy such peaceful, relaxing view.)

• Ice cube trays in room's freezer -- in addition to automatic icemaker in freezer. (No need to roam halls for ice machine.)

• 2 peppy elevators -- minimal wait.

• Free self-parking; no difficulty finding a spot.

• Attentive, considerate maintenance staff.


Free Breakfast -- Each Morning
------------------------------------------
(6:30-9am on Mon-Fri; 7-10am on Sat, Sun)

• Standard RI cold & hot food items. (Plenty of sugary yoghurts, white processed flour bread/ muffins/ cereals.) Chronic hot-item sameness: scrambled eggs with rotating sausage patty/ ham each day with exception of a morning with unique egg, cheese, bacon on English muffin (very good & much appreciated *change*). Limited rotation may not be problem if occasional guest, but problematic if you routinely live on tedious sameness. (Very good flavourful Canadian bacon/ round ham slice.)

• Prefer plain, unsweetened yoghurt to be used in parfait instead of sweetened. (Sweet yoghurt, sweet blueberries, sweet granola is 3 layers of *sugariness*. Be forewarned before you dip your spoon in, taste, then spiral into diabetic coma.)

• When there's cut fruit, it seems to be actual fresh fruit -- cut that morning. (That is, not typical RI fruit that can be under-ripe, rock-hard, green honeydew melon.) Excellent ripe cantaloupe much appreciated. (Hoped for variety of fresh cut, in-season fruit *every* day. Also wish for: plain Greek yoghurt, whole grain bread. Thankful for plain, hard boiled eggs.)

• Sometimes bananas available, sometimes not. If available, sometimes left on "the bunch" -- not individually separated. (This petty detail isn't an issue. Merely indicates (combined with other observations) staff is rushed, short-handed, or just lacks time to properly set up.)

• Plastic teaspoons used as serving spoons for salsa, cheese, walnuts, etc.. (Again, in perspective, not problematic by any means, merely leaves impression of lack of quality/ care.)

• Ran out of coffee (& cups) minutes into opening of breakfast. Not a problem if you've time to wait for new pot. If you need to be on road, you're out of luck. Brew coffee in room if you haven't time for gatehouse hit-or-miss coffee service. (*2* coffee canisters placed out instead of 1 might help morning rush.) Although staff busily, *competently* works to replenish depleted items, hard to relax & eat breakfast watching staff's frenetic routine each morning; you suppress the urge to get up & lend a hand. (Maybe extra hand in kitchen would set things on steady course.)

(Not worst breakfast experience by an means -- just not up to standards of previous Neptune breakfasts. Disappointing all round; don't know if fluke or new norm.)


Free Dinners -- 3 Weekday Evenings
--------------------------------------------------
(6-7:30pm on Mon, Tue, Wed)

• After long day, looked forward to one of those delicious evening meals -- disheartened by snack items solely. Snack items (cheese, crackers, salads, nuts) were tasty, healthy, nicely presented -- just anticipated a full substantive meal (as in earlier visits). (Had to go back out to purchase meal at nearby eatery.)

• Another evening, there was a main course -- hot dogs -- but no alternative for non-hot dog eaters. (Again, not how I remember meals from earlier visits where Neptune offered unique meals & alternatives; dinners were the bright spot at end day.)

• For clarification, fine attention to detail & care in presentation of evening foods (tantalizing quality: cheeses, crackers, salad, raisin/ nut/ seed mix, carrots, celery, hummus, tortilla chips), it just wasn't full "meals" (chicken, pasta, meat, veg,...) experienced previously. (Just be aware of what to anticipate & adjust expectations accordingly.)


Niceties/ Not So Niceties
---------------------------------
• 2nd-floor guest laundry: 3 washers ($1.50), 6 dryers ($1.50). Much appreciated washer with deep well for full load. Bottom tier dryer (one farthest from door) set on high (hottest) setting did not dry clothes. (Clothes too damp to hang dry in room (in reasonable amount of time) so plunked in additional $1.50 in quarters to completely dry clothes. (Spent $3 to dry.)

• Exercise room: sometimes no towels, sometimes 1 or 2 towels -- likewise in swimming pool room. (Bring towels from your room just in case.) No wet wipes to wipe down exercise equipment before/ after use. A treadmill remained broken but other equipment available. (Appreciated note stating broken treadmill.)

• Not a sidewalk-friendly area for leisurely after work/ dinner stroll, but certainly can safely walk to nearby Walmart, eateries. (For approximate drive & walk times to various sites, see Dec. 2011 review from earlier stay.)

• Housekeeping sporadic. Sometimes you get service -- sometimes not -- no discernible rhyme or reason. Just be prepared (after coming back from a long day) to have to go down to front desk to pick up roll of toilet paper or bar of soap. Hit or miss. If you're a self-sufficient traveller, this won't faze you. If you prefer service, this may annoy you.


Heavy-Heartedly Recommend as Low- to Mid-Level RI
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you routinely travel (or live on road) disappointments/ annoyances can have cumulative wearing effect -- putting you off a site/ brand. If occasional traveler, brief, temporary, inconsequential annoyances may roll off you & not detract from your visit.

Not enough negatives to tip scales -- to never return. But will look into alternative accommodations in future. Deeply disappointed in comparison to quality of earlier visits. (Have hope it will rise back up to earlier standards.)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI_Neptune_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. Information such as yours will assist us with improvements to both guest services and the services that we provide. Consistency is certainly important and we have put a strong focus on improving it. If I could be of assistance for a future stay, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. We will be sure to make it right! All the Best – Abby Kushner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Every year we stay here for 3-5 days. It seems every time we get to Neptune, the place shows an improvement. And, I hear the next time we go there, they would have had just finished with more improvements.

The place is centrally located with an easy access to the main highway. There is a mall across, walking distance, which offers great shopping.

The staff is attentive and caring. They remember you from check in. They make sure you're taken care of....

The room was cleaned daily, white & crisp towels, efficiently. FREE Breakfast is consistently served, fresh and piping hot. FREE parking too!

Looking forward to staying here again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rits2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RINeptune, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Thank you for your candid review of our property. I apologize about the issues you had with your air conditioner. I assure you we do our very best to address any and all maintenance issues immediately. As far as hearing children in other rooms, we do address noise complaints as soon as we get them, thus being because we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay. I have addressed your concerns with the breakfast area to all of the attendants and staff who assist with breakfast for our guests. We do hope you will give us a second chance in the future, as it appears the two-bedroom suite suited your family's need for space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Residence Inn. We stayed in a studio apartment.

The hotel is very convenient in terms of location, its room layout and services and attractions in the neighborhood.

The room (small apartment) was clean and had all the necessary equipment including cooker, oven, microwave own, dishwasher, fridge and freezer.

The hotel breakfast was included to the room rate and selection at the breakfast was good.
The small kitchen allowed us to enjoy some meals in the room when we didn't feel like going anywhere. However, there are plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood.

There is complimentary internet access in the room with cable but wifi access only in the lobby. The hotel has also guest computers and printers available for the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews