We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloomy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Pictures looked nice but upon arrival I noticed the place really needs an overhaul / upgrade. Front desk staff was nice. Plenty of parking, good size room on 1st floor with desk & jacuzzi tub, small bathroom but vanity top and shower insert looked new, decent size pool but pool towels are not provided. We were disappointed with the quality of the room/hotel for the $$. There was noise from a wedding party -- we finally knocked on their door at midnite and asked them to lower it. Cigarette burns on pillowcase. Continental breakfast in lobby not bad (cold cereal, bananas, coffee, bagels, donuts) but could use nicer presentation. Good location for sunset at marina; could be nice if they fixed it up. I suspect this motel has some Section 8 residents. Too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvineptune, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

We thank you for your honest review. We are new management and are constantly trying to improve our property so our guests have an enjoyable stay. We do have a great parking lot, sparkling pool and have recently renovated our 1st and second floors. We are also minutes to Asbury Park and Belmar and of course, the beach!!! We cannot always control the noise from a wedding party, but if you had called us, we would've gone to the room and asked them to be more courteous of our guests. We would have changed your linens if there was problem, but we did speak to our housekeeping team and they know to be more careful when checking the bedding. We are located across the street from Shark River and do have beautiful sunsets. Again, thank you for your review and for pointing out what we may be able to fix for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We rented this room for an overnight stay and got little sleep. There were kids out partying all night. I called the front desk and they chased them away once and that was it. When I was checking in they did not have the room ready because the person before me had not checked out. The two workers proceeded to argue in front of me why they didnt make sure the room was vacated. When checking out no one was even there, you had to leave the key.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank connieb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here this past Friday night for a friend's birthday. We just needed a place to sleep. The place is dark and gloomy, however the location is convenient. When we woke up the next morning, we were COVERED in bed bug bites! They can say that the bugs come from the cabs all they want, it still won't change the fact that there's bugs in the room! I will NEVER stay here again and I will be sure to report the infestation.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tink825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place is terrible. Don't bother getting a non smoking room. It'll still have cigarette burns throughout the room. Power goes out in the rooms. Definitely don't walk barefoot in the room, found a pin on the floor. If you want unfriendly customer assistance, this is the place to be. We used to stay here because it was cheap, but it's not even that much less than nicer places close by. So not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alessandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced motel near Ocean Grove NJ and settled on this place. Photograph looked like a pleasant location. Turned out the location was rather dreary. The comfortable beds and quiet air conditioner made up for the fairly poor accommodations, No closet, no hangers and ancient TV with very few decent channels. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chouchamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

They hold up to their name. LOL .And im not talking in a bad way. I arrived tired irritated and cranky as hell in the early hours of the morn but the man in the office was gentle and humorous. Enough so, to engage my interest in convo before I demanded the prices. It was obvious the the place was under renovation the moment I walked up the stairs. Lots of debris in the hall in front of the units currently under construction but the eyesore/hazard was worth it. LOL.. really it was...the room was huge, bed comfortable, clean, walk in shower, new furnishings, and a smoke room that don't smell like smoke. Didn't mention the marina behind the property, and the bar thats just close enough to walk! im not gonna lie...You might find a cheaper motel elsewhere, but this is the BEST VALUE!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyril e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean, I enjoyed that they had ample amount of hot water, awesome location behind us we have a complete ocean view, I had no issues with the staff and it was worth staying 3 days. It's convienently around shopping centers and plazas so I got everything I needed from here. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banbiluvsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
221 reviews
2.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,658 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
1.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmar
41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune

Address: 111 New York Rd, Neptune, NJ 07753
Region: United States > New Jersey > Neptune
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Neptune is conveniently located off of NJ-35 S, near Belmar, Spring Lake, and many of New Jersey's popular beaches. Start your day right with our continental breakfast, available from 7:30am to 9:30am. Enjoy a relaxing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool, which is open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Neptune Hotel Neptune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing