We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll done ..beautiful grounds”
Review of Rutgers Gardens

Rutgers Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
356 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“We'll done ..beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have been to a few gardens before...this place was great. Beautiful lay out. Child got a bit bored, but she appreciated the work. Flowers were magnificent. Would bring more water , but other then that"....go go go. This is a place that is a good trip, good exercise , and good fun. It's free...if that helps

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Day-time trip”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I liked the fact that you can almost feel (almost) that you are out their in the wild by yourself.

Well, there is nothing to dislike really but nothing outstanding about them either. The hiking trail was nice, the garden's were garden variety (sorry, couldn't help it).

Word of warning: it was a bit confusing for me to locate the place. I was told the same by a couple of other people. It's right on Ryder's lane (right on Log Cabin road if you are heading South) but the navigation couldn't find. I had to read consult my hotel front desk and follow the signage carefully.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank abbas-jafri-aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little place!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

See a bamboo garden, cool! If you like flowers, plants, this is a nice little place to stroll and spend an afternoon. But it could get really hot because a good part of it has no shade.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice little place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rutgers Garden is both a formal garden, large more informal garden areas, and a hardwood forest, very close to the center of New Brunswick. It is owned by Rutgers University, and it doesn't cost anything to visit. I particularly like the bamboo forest, the Helyar forest (even if very damaged after hurricane Sandy), the azaleas in the spring, and also the small formal garden around the square little pond. Birdwatchers love this place. Don't miss the 'sunken' conifer area with all kinds of strange cone-bearing plants. This is a very kid-friendly place. Part of the garden is dedicated to horticultural research, and it is a much more low-key garden than the big famous ones, but it is a little gem in central New Jersey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for pictures”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful garden. Well kept. I had my engagement shoot here. This is an enjoyable place to stroll around and have picnics.

Helpful?
Thank omarhaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rutgers Gardens also viewed

New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Rutgers Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing