We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection and service”
Review of Destination Dogs

Destination Dogs
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great selection and service”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We r new to the area and some friends recommended dd to us. We had a very good lunch of one of their speciality dogs, fries and an utterly fantastic fresh ny pretzel.

Helpful?
Thank markroy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    44
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great service, great atmosphere, delicious and creative take on hot dogs. Chicken sausage, wild boar sausage, and a good old-fashioned hot dog were reasonably priced and satisfying. Homemade soda was a hit, as was a waitress-recommended beer we hadn't heard of before. My high school senior's reaction when our check came was, "That's it? I'm coming here with the guys to watch a game and have decent meal in a place that feels good and that I can afford."

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolMom4398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Still good dogs but ....”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I gave DD its first Trip Advisor review when it was at the old Spring Street location. Now all moved into a great location (the old Doll's Place bar - no great loss) with a liquor license, I revisited. DD's new digs are fun with a Cheers like atmosphere and a young, almost of hip (its NJ after all) crowd. I went on a Thursday night and it was packed. Nice beer selection and cocktails with fun names that are a play on travel - like the dogs. The food is the same quality as the old DD and my meal was delicious. Although DD has gotten quite a few reviewer dings for being overpriced, I don't mind paying $8 for a really good hot dog (here comes the 'but') but... I was disappointed that DD charged me $2 for avocado on my "build your own" dog and then served me two ridiculous paper-thin,tiny pieces of avocado - so small that I could barely see it - let alone taste it. If the DD owners are monitoring these comments my advice is to give people their money's worth (especially a young crowd who may not have money to burn). If you are going to charge premium prices for a hot dog than don't skimp. That being said, DD is a great new addition to downtown New Brunswick and I hope it is a success.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and funny experience!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had the pleasure of being introduced to this place by a friend of mine, and I must say that I enjoyed the experience! Its not only great and different food, but also a nice environment where you can enjoy some sports and a bear. If i'm coming back to New Brunswick, then I will definitely go to this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndglamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Niche market that's not for everybody”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hot dogs are great; they're my absolute favorite "cheat food", and the concept that Destination Dogs offers is a dressed-up, gourmet version of a dog/sausage in a downtown, homey environment. That said, I came after taking my LSAT to treat myself on a Saturday, and it was only okay.

Portions are a little small, though I do understand why because the 'fixins' are a little expensive; the prices were a little too much for the value/worth you were getting; the location is in downtown New Brunswick that's in the section where two more steps and you'll be on the lookout for gunshots.

It's got a great vibe though, and the Howlamo that I ordered was good, but not so good that I could ignore its price and say that I would definitely come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Destination Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Destination Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing