We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights this week on a very short business trip to NJ. This is a beautiful hotel, the lobby is just lovely, the staff are friendly and the room more than comfortable. I had dinner here too and I highly recommend the pulled pork sandwich YUMM! This would also be a good hotel for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We appreciate your kind comments about the staff, the facilities and the location of the Heldrich Hotel. You may want to know that our Fitness Center has been completely remodeled and updated with new equipment and our all our guest rooms are now equipped with brand new HDTVs. We hope to see you back again soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

A Night at The Heldrich

My wife and I were in New Brunswick, NJ Sunday September 15th to see comedian Sinbad in concert at The State Theatre across the street. We decided to spend the night instead of taking New Jersey Transit back home late at night.

We arrived Sunday afternoon with a 4 PM check-in. The Heldrich provides a complimentary shuttle service between the New Brunswick train station and the hotel. You just have to call the front desk upon arrival. The hotel is also a 5 to 10 minute walk away.

The front desk staff, the shuttle driver and everyone else we met were so nice and accommodating. The hotel sits behind a beautiful town square, with a monument in the middle, as well as a distance sign pointing the way to New Brunswick’s sister cities around the world.

The lobby and public areas are beautiful, with unique pieces of art displayed. The hotel staff members are dressed in art-deco era uniforms that add a touch of bygone elegance.

We were in room 620, just off the elevators. The room overlooks the front of the hotel and the town square. Next to the elevators, behind a closed door, is the vending room with snack and soda machines as well as the ice machine.

The room was good-sized and very clean. The room did not have a closet. Instead there is a large wall unit with closet and drawer space that surround the standard definition television (vintage late 1990’s/early 2000’s TV). DirecTV provides over-the-air and cable channels. Free WiFi is offered in the room.

We had a queen-sized bed that was very comfortable. A chair and ottoman were near the window. Closer to the door is a table with a coffee maker. There was no refrigerator in the room.

There were signs of wear and tear in the room, especially on the wood surfaces (the room desk and the wood border around the bathroom mirror). Also, the towel bar in the shower was missing the bar! The rooms could use better lighting as well.

They also place a $50 hold on your credit card for incidentals. Of course many hotels do that, so not a complaint, just a FYI.

Christopher’s Restaurant and Lounge are in the lobby. They are expensive, so we did not eat there. There are scores of affordable places to eat nearby.

Despite the negatives listed above, I really liked The Heldrich. The hotel was quiet, clean and the staff was friendly. I would stay here again. If they give the rooms an upgrade, I would not hesitate to rate the hotel 5 stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room if you want a view of the front of the hotel. They cost a little more than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAJ790HAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for the kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is good for events and location, however the price is higher than other good hotels around its location. There is no fridge in the room and also nothing else special into the room. You have to pay $25.00 per day for parking the car, on the other hand you have some options of parking around the hotel. A good thing that happens at the Hotel is a service of Liquid Church on sunday.

Room Tip: Room with overlooking to the front of the pram
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiz_Prestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We appreciate your comments about the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor. We have just completed remodeling our Fitness Center including addition of state of the art equipment and all the guest rooms are now equipped with brand new HDTVs to further enhance the value for our guests. We hope to see soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I had stayed at the Heldrich a few years ago and thought it was fairly nice. This trip, the hotel seemed worn and in need of an update. The deadbolt lock was falling off the door and the desk chair was broken. Also, this is the first hotel I've stayed at in a while that doesn't have a flat screen tv. Hopefully an facelift is in the future...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We appreciate your constructive comments about the Heldrich and agree with them. We have completely remodeled our Fitness Center and replaced the old TVs in our guest rooms with brand new HDTVs. We hope to have the privilege of accommodating you again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Perfectly suited for what we needed. With the exception of our room overlooking the roof and ac machines etc. Staff very accommodating. The ride and pick up from our restaurant much appreciated. Breakfast was really good and included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinluxury54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed breakfast and the shuttle. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our family took a "stolen moments" vacation over the Labor Day weekend, staying at The Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick and taking the NJ Train into Manhattan for some Broadway shows. The hotel is a few short blocks from the train station, and the rates (booked through Travelocity - sorry TripAdvisor!) were more than half off what the Hyatt's best deal was. We had a "luxury double," with two full-size beds. Just wish there had been a mini-fridge in the room for the desserts we brought home with us! The room was clean and quiet. We just may have to do this kind of trip again! (BTW, we saw "Pippin" - REMARKABLE!!! See it! and "Once" - also excellent and highly recommended!)

Room Tip: Higher floors (7, 8, 9) offer better views (duh!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Heldrich. I am glad that you enjoyed your trip here and NYC. We are very close to the train and it is just a short ride into the City. While we may not mini-fridges in all the rooms we do have one available at the front desk to store your items so you can enjoy later. Please visit us again soon, maybe look at The State Theatre as they have some great shows being offered over the next few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed so many times in this hotel. Conveniently located to Rutgers, shops and restaurants. The lobby is beautiful, staff are very friendly and go out of the way to help. Rooms are large and well lighted. Bed is very comfortable and i have no trouble having a god night sleep. You can rent a small refrigerator/microwave for a nominal fee. This place is like home away from home. They have free WiFi and printer is available with three super fast computers in the second floor.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room in the 6 th floor or up. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhuri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to The Heldrich. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed New Brunswick. We try and make this a home away from home experience as we know it is hard being away from family. We do hope that you come again and enjoy other areas of the Hotel like the Spa or our Christopher’s restaurant. Thank you again for writing about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
924 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range: £85 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing