We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't wish for anything better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“You couldn't wish for anything better”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a smart and comfortable hotel with a really nice atmosphere. It is well designed, with spacious public areas with high ceilings and with good sized rooms. A special attractive feature is the display of works by local artists, notably the stunning work that greets you as you enter, an art nouveau style piece by Kenneth Leap, called Garden of Hesperides. The rooms are very quiet and have comfortable beds and decent bathrooms - though a shaving/make-up mirror would be useful. The staff are most obliging and the hotel shuttle bus is always at your disposal so a taxi is rarely required. Breakfast buffet is good quality. Altogether, a really nice hotel that is unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the art work throughout our facility. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff, room accommodations, shuttle service and breakfast. I also appreciate your comments about the shaving/make up mirror and I will look into it. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    226
    120
    40
    28
See reviews for
144
149
52
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and nice. On the downside, there isn't a refrigerator in the room. The food in the restaurant (lunch) was really good. The hotel is across the street from the State Theater. The train station and a lot of restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We very much appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel and hope to have the privilege accommodating you again in the near future. Our corner king rooms do come equipped with refrigerators. We also lend refrigerators upon request for $25 per night based on availability. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Each time we go to New Brunswick, there is no question that we will stay at the The Heldrich. Staff is always professional and courteous. Rooms are nice and clean. Bed is comfortable, but a bit too much bleach in sheets. Hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, which is great. Right across street from State Theater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about the staff and the convenient location of the Heldrich Hotel. We are grateful for your loyal patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The check in process was simple and my room was of a good standard; clean, spacious and very comfortable.

All of the meals I had, whether breakfast,evening or dinner were excellent. There was plenty of choice and meal times and the conference spaces were well stocks with hot and cold drinks and snacks.

The gym is utterly inadequate. There are only 6 pieces of CV equipment, which is sinmply not enough for a business hotel, where guests are likely to be using the gym prior to the start of the working day. The pool is adjacent to the gym, so the air conditioning struggles to maintain an appropriate temperature and humidity.

The hotel is located in New Brunswick, with lots of Rutgers University student facilities around. Not exactly a holiday destination, but perfectly adequate for business.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFCfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel's food offerings and a convenient business location on Trip Advisor. We also agree with your constructive comments about the Fitness Center. You may be happy to know that our Fitness Center was remodeled since your last visit. We replaced flooring and also updated all the equipment. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I found The Heldrich while searching for a stopover mid-way between Richmond, VA and Providence, RI. I checked the Bed Bug Registry and found there had been no incidences, so it seemed like a great place for the price ($99)!

I had to make a few phone calls prior to our arrival and the front desk staff was courteous, helpful and followed up with me unexpectedly to ensure my satisfaction. We arrived late, but check-in was really easy, and we were greeted by the doorman, who was friendly and conversational and very accommodating, unloading our care and bringing the luggage cart up to the room. We were more than happy to have the extra set of hands. The valet parked our car. The Heldrich is a gorgeous, new-looking, boutique hotel with comfortable furniture in the lobby and beautiful art work.

The room was small, but clean and modern looking and the pack n' play we requested was in the room, ready for our baby. The beds were comfortable and the curtains completely blocked the lights from the city. The bathroom was sufficient for our needs and it was clean. Also, our view was of a rooftop below our floor, so if you want to look out on downtown, you may need to make a special request.

For runners, the streets had sidewalks and the hotel appeared to be centrally located downtown, with a grid-like layout, therefore, easy to find if you took a wrong turn!

We noticed when we arrived that there appeared to be active nightlife nearby. And, we went for a walk in the morning and found some restaurants for breakfast. Unfortunately, we found the hotel's restaurant to be too expensive for breakfast (breakfast entree's were in the $11-$13 range, with few provisions for kids). Even still, the customer service at the hotel restaurant was excellent, when I went in and requested warm water for a bottle, they happily obliged.

Upon check-out, the doorman volunteered to help load our car while we settled the kids and, because it is located right near Interstate 95, we were back on the highway in minutes.

We'd definitely stay at The Heldrich again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GromMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We very much appreciate your kind comments about the staff and the location of the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor. Our Fitness Center has been remodeled and all the guest rooms are now updated with HDTVs. We hope to accommodate you at the Heldrich soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I've been using The Heldrich Hotel for many months as my "go to" lodging for the business i do in the New Brunswick, NJ area. In comparison to other "Big Name" hotels, this the Benchmark Hospitality International group of U.S. hotels and resorts.

I find the Heldrich to be very relaxed with outstanding staff and genuine caring for my well being, comfort and satisfaction.

There are a couple of things to be aware of in staying at the Heldrich.
I don't believe there is a rewards program, such as stay points that most hotel franchises have.
Hotel valet parking is currently $25 per day.
Rooms do not have LCD or better TV screens - they are tube!

Other that than, the hotel decor and amenities are great. The business center meets my needs for printing, etc. The lounge is a great mixture between sports and quiet quaintness.
Christopher's Restaurant is also very good with a great breakfast buffet and menu.

The Heldrich is in the heart of New Brunswick, NJ including the Theater District, multiple restaurants and pubs, making walking a definate choice for destinations.

I will stay at the Heldrich again when my travel to the New Brunswick, NJ area calls.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East, North and West sides have city views. Others on the inside wings look into the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor and are grateful for your loyal patronage. All our guest rooms are now updated with brand new HDTV's and the Fitness Center has been completely remodeled with state of the art equipment. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Very nice and helpful staff. Room were spacious and clean. My room did have an old school tube tv. No problem though, it worked just fine. This hotel is excellent for training classes. I was here for a 3 day training class and the accomondations were excellent. Very comfortable seating and classrooms. The amount of food and drinks they provide during the day is unbelieveable! What a fantasitc assortment for breakfast and lunch. I hope to have more training classes or conferences at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandymhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We very much appreciate your kind comments about the facilities, the food and the staff of the Heldrich Hotel. We would like you to know that our Fitness Center has been remodeled with new equipment also added and all our guest rooms now have brand new HDTVs. We look forward to accommodating you at the Heldrich soon again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#1 of 4 in New Brunswick
848 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing