We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HOTEL! FRIENDLY STAFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
new providence, nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL! FRIENDLY STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I went to his 20 year reunion at the Heldrich hotel. Since the moment we arrived, everyone was amazing. Judy to Alexis at lounge/bar, all amazing! Room was clean, and just overall a great place to stay. The Spa was great too! I truly recommend this hotel to stay for any occasion!

Room Tip: Ask for an end room! It's a smaller amount but worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We truly appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel and hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    210
    107
    34
    24
See reviews for
130
137
48
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I can't believe I'm in one of most highly recommended hotel in new Brunswick, NJ. I felt like being in 3rd world country. I will upload the pictures and these do not need any description. The hotel furniture is really outdated and very used and old. The furniture is less than Ikea quality furniture. The hotel staff are nice, but I think the people running this place have no vision on how to run a hotel like this.
I have to give 0 out of 10 for the room and maybe 8 out of 10 for the staff, but they could not be blamed as I think they could do nothing to help you except being nice. The restaurant is a big disaster with the decorations, I felt like being at out service restaurants. The gym and swimming pool located on the 3rd floor. You really have to search for gym and swimming pool as these are located between the rooms on the 3rd floor. What s
a smart design. Another smart design at this hotel, you have to go through the gym in order to get to the swimming pool. I think this is the worst hotel of its kind in North America. Even the Hampton Inn would do much better with design, furniture and hotel setup. I have to admit their entrance is ok. But the elevators are small and outdated. The reception staff told me that the hotel has only 7 years, but they do not known if they had any renovations or furniture change since then. The only thing they know they have upgraded the TV's. Hope this review will help the hotel owners or management realize they really need to invest a lot in the hotel in order to survive. Please watch the pictures of the rooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kass4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We very much appreciate your valuable suggestions regarding the Heldrich Hotel facilities in your recent Trip Advisor review. Your constructive comments are being follow up on and some of your suggestions are already close to the implementation phase. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make things right and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Went to see a show at the State Theatre so we decides to stay the night. This hotel was a great value for such a nice hotel. I would recommend this to anyone going to this area !

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csdemaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that everything was great and that the Front Desk staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I had a 1-night stay here. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Room is spotless, very comfortable with all needed amenities. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Christopher's. Excellent meal, lovely wait staff. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review about the Heldrich on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I got tickets to a show at the State Theater (right across the street from the Heldrich), and decided to build a romantic "stay-cation" around the event. I booked the "romance package" from the Heldrich website, with dinner and breakfasts for two included, along with chocolate dipped strawberries to round out the romantic element.

Unfortunately, it was not obvious to the folks at registration that I had booked such a package, and we had to ask for what should have come with the package. They had no "coupons" for dinner but called ahead to let the manager of the restaurant that we should receive a free meal.

We arrived (5 minute later), to a nearly empty restaurant, where the waitress tried to seat us in the window, on one of the coldest days of the year. The message that we should have meals included had not gotten to her, an error in communication, especially since we were one of only two parties there! She wanted vouchers, which necessitated a trip back to the front desk, who did not have such a thing.

I ordered steak and mashed potatoes that were excellent. The peach tart was filled with marzipan, making it a delicious dessert for two, even though the advertised pomegranate sorbet was replaced with vanilla ice cream. The Greek salad was delicious, although made with blue cheese instead of feta. However, the bread was stale, and the butter/mustard spread tasted acidic - not a good spread for sour-dough. The house white wines we drank were quite passable, with a generous pour.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding, with some yummy goodies (warm chocolate banana bread pudding, apple crepes, excellent granola), but the wait-staff again failed to serve well - 5 people were standing at the front of the restaurant and not one managed to notice me gesturing to my empty coffee cup.

As to the room - the corner king room was decorated in soothing sands and blues and was spacious and pretty. The location was quiet, mattress was excellent, and the bedding was nice. Still, three pillows on a king size bed hardly rates as luxurious in my book, as it leaves one person with one pillow. They brought more up when asked, but I would have preferred not to have to ask.

Last but not least, the chocolate dipped strawberries were unsatisfactory, as the major ingredient in the dip appeared to be wax, not chocolate. The 6 berries were large, but the flavorless coating spoiled the nice presentation. You could do much better!!

Would I stay there again? Yes, for the comfort of the bed, for the breakfast, and for the convenience to the State Theater. But would I recommend it highly? No, the service wasn't quite up to what I had hoped for. I hope it is better next time.

Room Tip: You pay more for a corner king, but if you like space, this one has plenty of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_in_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We appreciate your kind review on the Trip Advisor and are sharing your comments with the team. Your observations and suggestions are very valid. It is input from values guests such as you that assist us in reaching our high hospitality goals. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Heldrich for a conference. The rooms were clean and nice. It is located to some very nice restaurants (try the Ethiopian restaurant (Makeda) nearby!). The workout room was pretty small, but I did see they have a pool. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are grateful for your kind review of the Heldrich Hotel on the Trip Advisor. We value your comments and look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here while attending a medical conference at a nearby hospital. We were pleased with all of the hotel staff and their business accumen. The room and facilities were great. We were given free breakfasts for both days which were fabulous. The food choices and quantities were comparable to a $10/ea meal somewhere else. We walked to nearby expensive restaurants on our second night but they both refused walk-ins, so we came back to the Heldrich and had a fine dinner for two in Christophers which cost us less than we were going to pay elswhere. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms faced outward
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review about the Heldrich hotel. We value your opinion and look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#2 of 4 in New Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
#2 of 7 in East Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing