We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Never been to this town before, had to come in for work. The area is a little dodgy, but the hotel was a pleasant surprise. VERY courteous staff, very clean, good prices. It has off-site parking, but that's becoming more common with hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We very much appreciate your recognition of our staff for their hospitality standards, the hotel facilities for the cleanliness and the good value our rates offer travelers. We look forward to seeing you back again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    225
    117
    39
    28
See reviews for
142
149
52
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Upon check-in, they could not find our pre - paid reservation. They quickly realized that it was booked for another date. Without asking, the honored the pre - paid amount when they could have been rude and told us to pay again. They actually accepted blame and apologized for the confusion. We ran into friends while checking - in and they tried to have our room near them, without us asking. Ryan was amazing! We had a great stay. The rooms are spacious and contemporary and the hotel location is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We very much appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich and it is especially nice to see how Ryan's exceptional service made your stay all that much nicer. We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
221 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Normally we stick with chain hotels. This time we decided to stay in downtown.

We were not disappointed. We got a view of the neighboring theatres of which we are a fan. Parking can be pricey but it nice not to worry about where to park. Breakfast buffet had both hot and cold choices with a nice selection. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WildmanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate that you chose the Heldrich and not a chain hotel for your stay in New Brunswick. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the view of the theatres from your room and our buffet choices were appealing to your taste. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was there last week for business. The courtesy and helpfulness of the staff is really noteworthy. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Christopher's all week, and the buffet was delicious with a good selection of items. There was always a seafood, meat, and pasta option, with salads and vegetables available consistently. They graciously prepared an alternative for a colleague on a special diet. Occasionally I noticed the food could have been hotter. The servers were very prompt with beverages and clearning plates (once I had to defend the last few bites of a meal from an overzealous busboy). There were a lot of lite options and snacks available at the carts outside our meeting rooms. Is it a bad thing or a good thing how delicious and readily available the baked goods were??? I think I put on a couple of pounds. The meeting rooms and bedrooms were well-equipped; my only complaint is that they were either freezing or too hot, and tended to swing from one extreme to another. I find that very distracting, especially in a business setting. It was 'sweater on', 'sweater off', constantly. If you use the spa, make sure you are very clear about the cost of your service. I had a very nice spa pedicure, and had discussed the differences between a $30 and $40 version. When I went to pay the price came up as $50. After I said that I had booked a $40 version they changed the price; something about the way their online specials work vs. their checkout system seems to cause confusion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Tracy, we very much appreciate your kind comments about the meals and the selection offered during your meetings. We regret the inconsistent climate control and the price issue experience at the Spa. We are following up to make certain these issues are rectified. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEARNY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent two nights here after our wedding (held on premise) and it was perfect! The one bedroom suite was incredibly spacious and comfortable. Room service was fast and delicious. The entire staff did everything they could to make our weekend perfect. The hotel is up to date and close to everything New Brunswick has to offer. We will definitely be back! Special thanks to Andrew Dale and his remarkable staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITHM995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are happy you had a "perfect weekend" at Heldrich and enjoyed your one bedroom suite, speedy room service and the hospitality of our team in general. We look forward to having the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I'd never been to New Brunswick in my life, so I really had no idea what to expect. As usual I just check with TripAdvisor that this was where I wanted to go, and it was so right. This hotel is just really very, very nice and reasonably priced. I stay in June and got my room on a Saturday night for $110. It was a single room with a king sized bed which was HUGE. Really nice bathroom.
CAUTION-The only thing that sucks is the parking. It's either in an expensive multi-story, or you can walk like two blocks and park on the street. I'd go with the later option if I went again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaDiamonds7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are happy you enjoyed our overnight accommodations and found the price to be reasonable. We appreciate your very kind comments about the Heldrich hotel and look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a recent conference. The conference facilities were wonderful and the snack area was well thought out. The room was clean with no complaints. The view was overlooking the roof and rear of the hotel, which I would have preferred a better view but again, travelling for work, not pleasure. Location was great with many restaurants within walking distance. I ordered room service the first day and the crab cake sandwich was amazing. I would recommend this hotel...staff at the front desk was also very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your 3-day conference, the crab cake sandwich, the hospitality of our Front Desk staff and also the convenient location near all the attractions in New Brunswick. We very much appreciate your kind review on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcome you back in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#2 of 4 in New Brunswick
839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 10 Livingston Ave, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1904
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heldrich Hotel - where ordinary is obsolete. Located in the heart of New Brunswick, New Jersey, a place where elegance, opulence and ambiance go hand-in-hand with innovation. Where meetings are engineered for results, and your leisure experience is sure to be unforgettable. Located within a few steps of the cultural hub of the city, and a short walk to public transportation and Rutgers University, meet me at The Heldrich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing