We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unusual policy.................”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“unusual policy.................”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Generally nice hotel - comfortable room with a large flat-screen TV, fluffy towels & a comfortable bed. Very close to Rutgers University for those with business there & easy access to the NJ Turnpike to head elsewhere (about 45 minutes to NYC with normal traffic). There is also a full-service restaurant & tavern on the premises.

NOTE; there's a $13/night parking fee & a very unusual (to me) wi-fi fee. I recall being told upon check-in that there was a $10 fee. But as it turned out, that was PER DEVISE. I've had wi-fi fees at hotels before but never per devise. And - the wi-fi was awful. As bad as I ever experienced. The only time it was decent was early in the morning, presumably when most other guests were still asleep. But then when trying to connect a cell phone along with a laptop, neither devise functioned very well.

In the future, if I ever need to stay in this area - I would not stay at this hotel. I'd look for other lodging. Even if I was several miles away. The extra fees turned what had been a good bargain into an average value.

Room Tip: The "city view" was quiet. I can't vouch for anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fried003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    311
    139
    70
    33
See reviews for
164
140
55
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel was actually pretty nice. Everything was clean, service was decent, breakfast was good, and it's close to the train station. My only complaint is that the rooms are far too cramped, and that they didn't have king size beds (only double).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12KPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a great experience at the Hyatt Regency New Brunswick. George checked us in, He was professional and efficient. I was not familiar with the area so moments later I stopped back by the front desk and Nisha was more than helpful she answered my questions and gave me suggestions that were very helpful. There was a bellman that greeted us with a warm smile each time we passed. The bartender (young female ) was also very knowledgable about nightlife and restaurants in the metro area. The rooms were nice and clean. I have worked in hospitality for the last 6 years at a four star property. It is hard to get my seal of approval. The Hyatt Regency New Brunswick is a place that I am looking forward to visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Their executive suite is listed at under 500 sq.ft. but is a nice sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Not many options for a good hotel in New Brunswick. This Hyatt is pretty much it.

The good:
Decent area. Not threatening at night.
10 minute walk to New Brunswick train station.
The area around the hotel is good. Walking distance to restaurants, fast food and a 7-11 store.
Nice lobby and restaurant, although I did not use it.
Lobby store selling drinks and snacks 24 hours honor system, pay at front desk.
Gym in the basement is decent. 24 hour access with card key. Modern machines, tread mills and ellipticals with TVs.
Bathroom is small buy OK, good amenities, hot water, nice tub and shower.


The not so good:
The mattress is too soft for my preference.
The reception on the TV is poor.
They charge for in-room WI-fi. No thanks.
The free WI-fi in the lobby was terrible.
Two small 16 oz water bottled in room, $3/each. Also no thanks.
Went to get a Pepsi from the machine on my floor at 2:30 am. $2.50 but it cam out frozen solid. I went to the front desk and the let me take one from the lobby store.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This is a well designed, clean hotel in a convenient location. Hotel restaurant is excellent. Bar area available as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is a little bit confusing, so check the level when you go into the hotel. The hotel is on a level lower the the garage. Close location to Rutgers University and area hospitals. Would gladly stay again and recommend this hotel to others as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenNEU03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beringen, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have mixed feelings about my stay at the Hyatt Regency. The room was ok but a bit dark, also the bathroom was really really small and my tap was not working properly, also after mentioning that to the reception. The food was ok, the staff that served the food was super great! We had a business meeting at the hotel itself and they were absolutely helpfull and doing their utmost best. Terry from the reception is a great asset for the hotel, she does everything with a big smile, remembering what you need and trying to make you feel comfortable. The environment around the hotel, I don't know... I went to get a coffee at a nearby starbucks and I didn't felt really safe.

Room Tip: Choose a room 6th floor or above as these are the 'quiet' rooms, there is even a banner sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinnie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 307 .. Very nice suite located in the front of the hotel. We really enjoyed the comfort and space. We stayed at the other hotel( Heldrich) in the area and it doesn't come close to the Hyatt. Terry is the person that greeted us at the front desk and she is a complete professional. Looking forward to our next visit. The Clark's

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckman2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Brunswick

Property: Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Address: 2 Albany St, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1236
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency New Brunswick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary convention/ conference center hotel within walking distance of downtown New Brunswick. 288 Room, 14 suites hotel with 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including a 9,600 sf ballroom. Public and meeting space renovation completed in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick Hotel New Brunswick
New Brunswick Hyatt Regency
Hyatt New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing