We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but Tiny Bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency New Brunswick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location but Tiny Bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

For the price paid I do not think this is a good value. Especially when you have to add in the $13/night for parking, which I did not expect.
It is close to a lot of quite good restaurants and it is an easy walk to the station for a train to New York City.
The place is clean but the bathroom was tiny and you kind of have to look in the mirror to shave from the side and lean sideways over the sink, as the toilet is in the way. The door to my room was pretty weird and seems to have broken a few times because it as at a funny angle and you had to get it just right to open the door.
There was a convention group there at the same time as me, so not only was the room quite expensive, but I had to wait 15 minutes to get seated for breakfast.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking the highway with noise all night, so I suggest you ask for a room on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    300
    130
    61
    30
See reviews for
150
137
54
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a recent three-day conference, and I was very pleased. The lobby and the Glasswoods Tavern are both beautiful. I was very pleased with my room, it was clean and very comfortable. The wireless internet worked perfectly (this is not always the case in hotels). The beds are especially comfortable.

The most outstanding feature of the hotel, however, is the staff. The front desk people, bellmen, and servers are eager to help and please. I had a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have a nicer view, and the elevators are speedy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR_NB, Manager at Hyatt Regency New Brunswick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I just wanted to extend a personal thank you for your comments regarding your most recent trip. Thank you so much for the excellent feedback on the staff. We are truly lucky to have such professional and friendly team members.

Thank you and safes travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

but watch out for those sleeping rooms! room was dirty with trash behind and underneath the furniture; the bathroom door broke off in my hand and I was trapped inside with no phone to call for help; had to bang on the walls and shout for help. fortunately housekeeping heard me. and my room overlooks the highway so it's very noisy; best to pack ear plugs. service in the restaurant is extremely slow. This rating would be POOR but thanks to the delicious banquet catering food and the helpful, responsive meetings and banquet staff, and the very polite hotel staff, the Hyatt Regency New Brunswick gets an Average rating from me. stayed here for a conference, great location;

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemrac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR_NB, Manager at Hyatt Regency New Brunswick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I just wanted to extend a personal thank you for your comments regarding your most recent trip. As you can imagine I was very dishearten to hear of the challenges you faced with your room and our restaurant. I would like to assure you that this information has been passed on to all of the key players in the hotel to be utilized as a training tool to better the service provided.

Thank you and safes travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a nearby family function. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the lobby and bar/restaurant were very nice. Our room, however, was a bit small and the furniture was a bit tired but the bathroom had been recently renovated. Overall, very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Be informed that quiet floors have been allocated by the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolliSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here on business and had an enjoyable stay. I would recommend this hotel.

Pros: hotel staff friendly & helpful. Had an issue with my room upon check-in and was immediately moved. Great location since majority of my trip took place at Rutgers; good restaurants nearby. Nice variety at breakfast; pool table in the bar.

Cons: Free wifi offered in the room, but if you use the business center, they charge you $15. In-room water bottles cost $3.50.

Room Tip: Request a room facing New Brunswick. Very nice view. If you stay on the other side, you face the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have been staying at the Hyatt New Brunswick for over 2 years...almost every week. Location is great, rooms are comfy and clean, the employees from the front desk to the bar and restaurant are fantastic...so friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, they are also embarrassed. Literally every time I have tried to give a suggestion for an improvement, point out broken equipment in the gym, or note my surprise at having never once received a "how are we doing survey" from management (after hundreds of room nights there and a guest Diamond status), the employees apologize and reiterate their attempt to get the message to the right person. When I point out weeks and months later that nothing was done, they apologize again...they really are embarrassed. Every other Hyatt I have stayed at worldwide has been much more responsive. Maybe management will read this?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for four days a part of a corporate training course.

They hotel's services for our meetings were great. We had generous amounts of coffee, snacks and meals. I realize that this was all contracted for, but they nevertheless did a great job with it.

The room itself was large, comfortable and well appointed.

What bothered me (and to be fair, this seems to be common among the higher-quality hotels) is that they charge extra for Wi-Fi internet access in the room, for bottles of water, for parking and for breakfast. These are all things that are typically complementary at budget hotels, but for some inexplicable reason are usually extra charges at the nicer places. It really bothers me. If I'm paying more for a room, I don't expect to get less in return.

Fortunately, these charges were picked up by the people organizing the training course, but I'm still bothered by this as a matter of principle.

Which brings me to another issue. My room, wi-fi, parking and breakfast were all paid for by the course people (as a part of the course fees.) At check-in, however, the computer was unaware of this. I had to check in with my credit card and then complain about it the next day. The hotel management and the course organizers were able to straighten it out among themselves, but despite that, when I checked out, I found a charge for the first night on my card, which I had to ask them to remove.

If you stay here, bring along printouts of all your reservation material and make certain you are only billed for what you agreed to. I don't know if these "computer glitches" were accidental or deliberate, but either way, it is something you need to look out for and be prepared to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.0 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center
#2 of 7 in East Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 7 in East Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Brunswick

Property: Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Address: Two Albany Street, New Brunswick, NJ 8901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency New Brunswick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary convention/ conference center hotel within walking distance of downtown New Brunswick. 288 Room, 14 suites hotel with 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including a 9,600 sf ballroom. Public and meeting space renovation completed in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick Hotel New Brunswick
New Brunswick Hyatt Regency
Hyatt New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing