We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here one night for - what do you think - a wedding. Got very good rate although I don't know whether it was the hotel policy or the cunning negotiation skills of my father-in-law. Probably a bit of both. The hotel is easily accessible from major highways in the area. Ample-sized attached parking garage, 8$ for 24 hours during the weekend. Not much going on in the neighborhood although I hear there is at least one decent bar within walking - or staggering (return trip) - distance. The front desk stuff was efficient. Complimentary NYT and WSJ. A restaurant on premises, didn't go there due to other engagements. Two out three elevators talk to you, one was in the sulk. The king bed room was spacious and well appointed (large screen TV etc) except anything passing for a fridge. The packets of rooms (by numbers) were clearly marked, the directions to the elevators were not. The Presidential suite rented for the bride and groom was bigger than some towns I have visited. Not sure how many presidents stayed there but it was perfect for the after-wedding party. As the party got noisier and the hours longer the hotel security was receiving complaints but acted understanding yet firm. Personally I'd call a SWAT team. Thanks for the consideration ;-) All and all a better stay than most.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gordonsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here this past weekend for a wedding. The hotel was decent enough, although really bad sound isolation from outside. The front desk staff needs some serious training though - terrible check in process and had to yell, "hello" several times at early-morning checkout to wake the person behind the desk. Air conditioning worked well, but was noisy and constantly turned on and off in the middle of the night.

Our first evening there, we went the lobby bar/restaurant and ordered a few appetizers to share. One of them was the buffalo chicken lollipops. I asked for ranch instead of bleu cheese because I don't eat that. The chicken came with a side of ranch, but covered in bleu cheese crumbles. I sent it back and the bar tender said they will make you a fresh one real quick. The "new" order came out in about 3-5 minutes. The chicken appeard overcooked, smelled bad, and obviously had little pieces of the bleu cheese crumbles fried into the outside. Instead of making a fresh order, they re-fried the first order and served it to us. Thankfully none of us were allergic to bleu cheese or it could have been really bad. I told the bartender about this and she said that she had suspected that, but they told her it was fresh. There's no way that they could have overcooked a fresh order that quickly.

If it were my restaurant, I would fire the kitchen staff before they kill someone. Food safety is no joke.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel. There is a loud outdoor bar across the street and we could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The rooms have been recently updated. Comfy beds, nice linens and furniture and a sleek bathroom. Room was a bit on the small side, but perfectly fine for an overnight. Front desk and waitstaff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bzucknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR_NB, Manager at Hyatt Regency New Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your great review of the hotel! We are always grateful when our guests take the time to let us know how we are doing. We hope your travels bring you back to the area in the near future.

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel lobby decor is very nice and the staff is excellent. The staff is very professional and courteous. Location is perfect to explore the city of New Brunswick.

I do hope they remodel rooms soon as they are starting to show there age. Also hope they clean and resurface the balconies as they are not that impressive at the moment.

Overall had a very nice stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Garey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is starting to show its age. The lobby area is nicely finished, but the corridors and rooms are plain and getting a bit worn around the edges. The staff are consistently professional and seem to be genuinely interested in helping out. The gym is OK-it gets very busy from 6 to 7 in the morning, good treadmills, and free and machine weights- spinning bike is on its last legs!
Great, big comfortable beds, massive flat screen tv, with full selection of stations. Breakfast in the restaurant is good-omelettes made to order. dinner in the restaurant is unremarkable-there are much better restaurants in the town

Room Tip: Go as high as possible and on the town side, rather than on freeway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barl0w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here as it was very central for a family gathering - check in on Friday was great - front desk couldn't be more helpful. Rooms were sufficient and clean - had everything that you need. Lounge downstairs was friendly and breakfast was fine. Surrounding neighbor within walking distance had an array of different options. Was pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sOccermOm94_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR_NB, Manager at Hyatt Regency New Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for the tremendous review! We are so very happy you enjoyed your time at the hotel and I hope the family gathering was a success. We can’t wait to have you back again soon.

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I recently stayed for two nights. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. We had excellent service in the bar and restaurant. But the best experiences were at check in with Terry, who saw too it that every request was met and was a pleasure to work with.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank moneil2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR_NB, Manager at Hyatt Regency New Brunswick, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We truly appreciate the excellent comments about your stay. I know Terry will be thrilled to know that she had a huge impact on your stay.

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brunswick
0.3 mi away
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rutgers University Inn and Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Brunswick

Address: 2 Albany St, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1236
Region: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range: £91 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency New Brunswick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary convention/ conference center hotel within walking distance of downtown New Brunswick. 288 Room, 14 suites hotel with 33,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including a 9,600 sf ballroom. Public and meeting space renovation completed in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick Hotel New Brunswick
New Brunswick Hyatt Regency
Hyatt New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing