We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but sometimes traps in payment policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

In general the hotel
looks to be a nice place to stay as the rooms are comfortable, bathroom is clean. Everything you need is waiting for you in your room (even liquid for cleaning your teeth!). However it looks like they seek additional incomes by any fees or fares which affect the hotel's prestige in fact.

The weak point is the shuttle's punctuality. It hardly leaves the hotel at the agreed hour and goes to terminals first not to the P4 point. It's ok when you need to get a flight but definitely not ok when you plan to catch another bus connection (late on leave+trip among terminals, so better avoid being short of time unless you want to miss your connection).
The very strange thing is the payment policy which puts a very dark and negative light on the hotel's image. They charged me for "no show" ("no show" due to weather conditions in NY with the flights canceled) which is fully ok for me, although:
- the full amount for the full staying (not for only one night no show) was blocked at my current account
- the reservation was canceled despite the earlier email confirmation from my side
- when I managed to renew the reservation, they blocked me again the full amount (! second time!)
- when I arrive after one day and I paid while the check-in the full amount for the whole staying was blocked third time (!!; another card)
As the result as of today I have c.a. 650 usd blocked instead of c.a.250 usd and I'm full of hope to have it unblocked soon.
Moreover, when the reservation was renewed, I lost the initial promo price and I had to pay extra c.a 50usd.
So, please be careful when do any payments at Howard Johnson Newark.
The rest looks really fine and ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emel2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello emel2x ,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel.

The public transportation to the airport, and our hotel staff, are the major factors of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for no other than valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Thank you.

The additional charges towards your credit card was done in part of our hotel's policies and every transaction was in honesty and faithfulness. The no show policies go into effect only if the guest was not able to call ahead of time and cancel their room due to a reasonable cause such as harsh weather conditions. Nonetheless, I apologize for all the mistakes and hassle we have put you into and we promise not to repeat this mistake again.

Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel , even with our team, but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation and resolve the existing problems, such as the towel situation. We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Toiled did not flush and ran all night long. Very courteous reception desk, but tired of the "workout room", which is always broken. it is bad enough that there is only a UNIVERSAL in there, but if it was functional, at least a semi-decent workout can be achieved. In the several years that I have been going to the Howard Johnsons, when the Marriott was overly priced that particular day, the universal has ALWAYS...ALWAYS, been broken.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hello Eric M,


Hello and thank you for taking your time to write a review based on your most recent experience at our hotel. I apologize very much for the mistake we have made which made your stay unpleasant and distasteful. We are providing the best service daily and hope to get positive responses along the way.

You have mentioned that our fitness center was up to par with your expectations but I want to clarify that all equipment is up and running and ready for use. This mistake will not repeat itself again.

Thank you for taking your time to write a review based on your most recent stay and we hope to see you again soon after forgiving us for the mistakes made. Everybody deserves a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Before checking into this hotel I was weary from the other reviews, but in the end everything was fine. You get what you pay for. Staff was kind to us. Only negative is that the room attendants brought stained towels to our room twice. All in all, I was pleased with everything but the towel thing. Parking is $15 extra per night. Free shuttle to the airport every half hour, 24 hours a day (On the hour and half-hour usually).

If you want to go to New York, there are two ways: The shuttle from the hotel to NYC ($25 round trip, drop-off at 39th and 9th - few time options). OR The free shuttle to the airport, then NJ Transit to Penn Station (also $25 round trip). We tried both, and for the same price, it really depends if you want flexibility in times or convenience to get to the Big Apple.

Dereck, Quebec City, Canada

Room Tip: Try to get one that isn't facing the airport. I wasn't bothered by the sound, but my friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dereck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hello Dereck D,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel.

The puclic transportation to NYC, our hotel staff, and the shuttle service are the major factors of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for no other than valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel , even with our team, but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation and resolve the existing problems,such as the towel sitatuion. We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

It is in no way fancy, but has all you need and is clean. The best part however is how attentive and smiling the staff is both in daytime and at night. The restaurant makes great pancakes. The hotelboffers shuttlebus service to the airport every half hour. I will use this hotel again :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MetteGlargaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hello MetteGlargaard,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel.

The restaurant, our hotel staff, and the shuttle service are the major factors of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for no other than valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel , even with our team, but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation and resolve the existing problems. We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We needed a hotel close to Newark Airport with transportation to and from the airport and a place to park our car while we were gone. Great choice for this type of need. Quick check-in, fast service to and from airport. Nice little restaurant with good reasonably priced food, right in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueLehighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello SueLexington,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel.

The wireless restaurant, the airport location, and the shuttle service are the major factors of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for no other than valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel , even with our team, but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation and resolve the existing problems. We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Georgiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £52 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing