We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MyStay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived late with a flight and had to get up early next day to drive on in a rental car. We did get a room quite shabby and noisy but we had a place to sleep and nothing more. Won't choose this place again even though it was quite cheap but not a lot cheeper than surronding motels where I am sure a can find a nicer place to stay. When we asked for a taxi a sort of private driver arrived with quite another expensive rate than other taxis we have used in Usa

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello Erika K,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a
pleasure to have you as a guest.

The spaciousness of our rooms is the major factor of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for our valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation. As far as the taxi service is concerned, our hotel operations are separate from the taxi company's operation and only use them because of the value received from them to our guests.

We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much and we hope you give us a second chance at providing an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

While staying for nearly a week, we left our passports in our locked suitcase one day and found them missing that evening when we came back. The management was not concerned in the least and it cost a full day to get a special visa to leave the country as well as expences.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello tecmarsa,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a
pleasure to have you as a guest.

The spaciousness of our rooms is the major factor of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for our valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation.

We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much and we hope you give us a second chance at providing an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had stayed here in July last year during our visit to New York City. It's a decent place to stay with clean well laid out rooms. Rooms have lockers so you don't have to carry your valuables / passports while touring NYC. The hotel offers a good continental breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randal_Nunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello Randal_Nunez,

Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a
pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel.

The spaciousness of our rooms, the daily shuttle service, and the continental breakfast are the major factors of the hotel and our hospitality that we are continuously improving daily for our valuable guests like you. I want to thank you for your time in writing a review behalf your recent stay. Many times it is difficult to understand our hotel but when important and respectful guests like you, write a review we are able to better understand our situation.

We hope to see you again soon at our hotel as we appreciate your comments very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £56 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing