We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a regular stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good place for a regular stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

As a Platinum traveler, we stayed here before and after the upgrading. It is now a very nice and accomodating hotel. Our traveling staff stay here on a regular basis (up to two or three times per month) and it is the only HI we choose in the Newark area. Staff is highly competent and friendly. Meals are well, well above average. In spite of proximity to the airport and the freeways, I have never found my room(s) noisy. Well worth the value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millionmiletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    442
    179
    27
    41
See reviews for
191
233
106
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Holiday Inn Newark was a great hotel especially if you are catching an early flight out from Newark Liberty Airport. Check in was speedy. The hotel isn't particularly close to any AirTrain stations but the hotel provides efficient and complimentary airport shuttle which can be arranged at the reception/concierge. Takes about 5mins to travel to P4 garage where you can hop on the AirTrain for free to the respective Terminals.

I was expecting the hear lots of planes buzzing around due to the close proximity to the airport but either I was too tired or it really was quite a peaceful night that we had at the hotel.

And my, do i love the free in-room hi-speed Wifi access!

Clean room, super comfy and big bed, lovely toilet. No complains and in fact, only full of praise. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneaky_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Good sized rooms, good service (we checked in in around 3 minutes-just what we needed after the 10 hour flight!), decent food in restaurant. Excellent value for money - room was spacious, clean and the wifi was not only working perfectly, it was also FOC as part of our package deal. We had a car so driving to Newark train station and into Manhattan from there was a piece of cake. No restaurants around within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My best friend and I stayed here after Irene came through for storm work. I was really impressed w/the hotel. The layout of the lobby is cutting edge, easy to navigate. Drinks at the bar a little pricey but is to be expected in N.J. I guess. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheltoe19028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently spent a comfortable night here after flying into Liberty International / prior to collecting a hire car from Alamo (close by) for a 3 week road trip.
Once we located the airtrain & found our way to the free shuttle service (not well signed for o/seas visitors) it was a quick ride to the hotel where we experienced easy check-in with friendly service staff.
Our king size room was clean, tastefully decorated & contained more than the usual amount of lounge furniture to comfortably relax whilst using the comp wifi or to view tv on the large wall mounted screen. The bed was firm but great for us as were the pillows - and the aircon worked well but was quite noisy. The ensuite bathroom was small with a shower over the bath & modest toiletries were supplied.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was nice with some fine wine selections & many beers on tap....but the food was very over-priced. The breakfast buffet the following morning was stunningly un-impressive & a complete waste of money...."hot" options were luke warm, eggs hard & lumpy, bacon burnt to a crisp & to top it off waiting staff were rude, unhelpful & totally disinterested in providing any level of sevice. We had no choice with dining as the hotel stands alone, a solitary figure in an otherwise hostile, freeway congested environment - with no food outlets for miles.
A word of warning .....as others have mentioned, the location is a logistical nightmare for drivers, street signage is rare, the turnpikes confusing & our gps failed to recognise anything resembling a Holiday Inn nor the car hire company we needed nearby!!
Not sure we'd return to be honest....there must be better airport hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delta260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just a one night stay before driving north after a late incoming flight but we wished we were staying longer. We were upgraded to a suite (we're IHG Ambassador members which should only apply to InterContinental hotels but we always seem to get a great upgrade in any IHG brand) which was really an exceptional room! Fantastic new decor, a huge living room and big bedroom as well as a kitchenette - 2 huge flat screens, upscale coffee maker, and complimentary water bottles. The whole hotel is clean and extremely well maintained. Superbly efficient aircon, good bathroom, lots of towels.

It was late and we were tired so ordered room service after a quick beer in the bar and the food was really good. I had sliders and salad and my partner a fresh and crisp chicken ceasar.

The shuttle to the airport was waiting when we wanted it and the staff were all engaged and charming. If only all airport hotels could be this good, travelling would feel so much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I want to say "Thank You" to the staff of the Holiday Inn, Newark Airport.
We arrived late, about 12:30 AM on Wednesday evening, 10/19. The staff helped us with directions because I missed a turn coming from the Newark airport, after the flight from London.
The room was clean, modern and neat.
Our breakfast later that morning was served well and we enjoyed the buffet. The selection of items was just what I wanted. Again the restaurant was clean, neat and modern. Our waiter asked if everything was okay and gave us more hot coffee.
The luggage carts made moring around the hotel much easier.
I recommend this hotel to anyone, at anytime.
"Two California travellers"

Room Tip: Our room on the 8th floor was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing