We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel close to Newark airport. My stay was brief as I had a international flight from Newark. The staff was courteous and very professional. The rooms were quite large and comfortable. i was surprised at how large the rooms were for an airport hotel. The rate was reasonable for this area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    435
    161
    26
    37
See reviews for
186
223
102
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had booked at a nearby Best Western and it was horrible so we made a last minute change to this Holiday Inn after our first night. Everything at the Holiday Inn was above average - from the courteous and professional front desk staff that welcomed us (Gerald) to the very reliable shuttle service from the hotel to the airport (Phil). Breakfast was convenient and the service and staff were excellent. We can't wait for our next visit and will definitely stay at this hotel in the future!

Room Tip: There was a safe in our room for our valuables that was very easy to operate and at no additional ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here with a tour and it was such a nice hotel!! The rooms were beautiful and the beds were really comfortable and the room had more than you needed. The restaurant and breakfast were great too and exceeded our expectations!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie_198327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manteca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have stayed here several times and in my opinion is worth every penny! Staff is great, the food in the restaurant is fantastic! This is where I stay every time I come to the city! If you arent familiar with the area GPS can mess you up just a bit. I will be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelbaby5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights to avoid in-town NYC prices while visiting our kid in college. Rates are pretty good -- and the relatively newly refurbished rooms (~2 years old) are more spacious and nicely equipped than in the city. They also cost significantly less. (Our way into downtown was to drive to Jersey City, park near Journal Square and take the PATH into town. It adds about 45 minutes each way -- but can save you $150-$200 a night for a hotel in Manhattan.)

The only two flies in the ointment: don't bother asking for housekeeping to bring you an extra bar of soap or an additional towel. We asked -- three times, once in person at the front desk and it just never happened.

The second issue is WiFi. From about 9pm until 11pm, the Internet is slow. This isn't a problem with WiFi -- it's a problem with a slow connection. For some reason, this hotel has been cheap and not rented a big enough pipe to handle all the traffic it needs to handle.

Otherwise, a pretty good deal for under $130/night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the highway to minimize road noise from the 24 hours a day busy highway. Pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yobyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Very friendly staff. Great hotel! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because the address was wrong on the website and it was VERY difficult to find on GPS. Otherwise, I would definitely stay here again with my family. I highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

For Holiday Inn, this hotel is below standard. The room itself is just OK (good beds and shower) and clean. However, TV did not function properly and the airco was noisy. Breakfast does not include coffee (never experienced before). Personnel was not very friendly or helpful. Service is very slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Josbob,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the staff service, and sincerely regret our room amenities fell below your expectations. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing