We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newark Museum”
Review of Newark Museum

Newark Museum
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Newark Museum, New Jersey's largest museum, invites you to enjoy unforgettable experiences in the arts and natural sciences. Take an inspirational journey through 80 galleries of world-class collections, travel to the stars in our popular Planetarium, and stroll through our beautiful sculpture garden.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Newark Museum”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

this museum is the best kept secret in Newark. On my first visit I thought it would only take about a half hour. I was there several hours. it has three floors of exhibits. there is so much to see. every time you go, you can see something different.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    61
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Local Jewel”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Newark Museum may not be in NYC, but it offers excellent displays, the planetarium, Ballentine House, workshops, etc. When my children were younger, they attended the summer workshops there and they were excellent. They also have the workshops in Saturdays in the fall. If you have never been to the Newark Museum or know firsthand of what they offer, you are missing out on a great venue that is affordable!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
696 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“A NJ Treasure”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Newark Museum is a world class museum that contains a beautiful collection of art.....American, African, contemporary,Tibetian. The docent led tours are wonderful. At Christmas or anytime, the attached historic Ballantine House is worth a visit. Newark once had many breweries including Ballantine. We park on the street for free. There is a planetarium that children will enjoy. We visit with friends and with family and it never disappoints. My favorite painting is by Joseph Stella. Do not miss it! Other nearby attractions: Sacred Heart Cathedral, Olmstead designed Branchbrook Park & Weequahic Park; NJPAC and lots of Spanish/Portugeuse restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little known world class museum”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Newark Museum at 49 Washington St, Newark, NJ is not as well known as other museums in the NY Metropolitan area, but worth a visit. It is famous for its large collection of American Art, The Ballantine House and the Tibetan Collection. The American Art is arranged chronologically and reflects the history of the US. The collection starts in a colonial gallery and continues to the 21st century.
The Ballantine House was built in 1885 by the son of Peter Ballantine, founder of Ballantine Beer. It is fully furnished in the period and has some original furniture.
The Tibetan collection is the largest outside of Tibet. You will have to go there to find out how it ended up in Newark NJ.
There are tours of the collections, free with admission.
The NM is open Wed-Sun, 10-5pm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Used to go there as a kid with my Mom. Well worth the effort to visit with children it will be a educational experience they will long remember.
.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newark Museum also viewed

 

Been to Newark Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing