We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long ways from airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Newark
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long ways from airport”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was undergoing a remodel and update. Our room was fine, breakfast was fine, but the neighborhood was sketchy.
We took a taxi for EWR airport, rate was $20.00. Seemed like forever until we got to the hotel in Newark. The ride back to the airport was $30.00, why we don't know, but that is what it was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest.,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.

Ash Sardar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    125
    61
    25
    30
See reviews for
101
73
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Comfort Inn Suites is ideally located near to Jersey Garden Outlet Collections Mall. Room was clean and had mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Staff at front desk very friendly and willing to provide assistance at all times. Even maids were quite courteous and friendly. My niece and I felt save and loved the family atmosphere created by staff. Shuttle service proved to be quite an asset to the hotel. Will recommend hotel to anyone who needs some quite time away from the hustle and bustle of new york city.Room prices were affordable. Booked with hotel.com and had no problems. Was provided with a lovely room with good view.

Room Tip: Room at top floor with a window view ideal for family with kids who love to see planes flying at low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 730patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area

--

Ash Sardar

Manager

Comfort Suites Newark

1348 McCarter Hwy,

Newark, NJ 07104

Ph: (973) 481 5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I Stayed here because we wanted to go and do some shopping in Newark.

The hotel is very clean. Rooms are big with sufficient space free and good WiFi inside the rooms.

They serve a good breakfast with sausages eggs bacon breads waffles coffe and juices a good start for your day.

You havê to be with own transportation . but all is OK...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area

--

Ash Sardar

Manager

Comfort Suites Newark

1348 McCarter Hwy,

Newark, NJ 07104

Ph: (973) 481 5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

It's definitely in a sketchy area. It's clean enough, but the sofa cushions are quite stained, and something has been spilled on the side of the dresser, but not cleaned up. The room looks tired, but they are renovating. The mattress on the pull out sofa bed is really thin, so bring your aerobed if you need extra sleeping space.
The breakfast was decent and the staff seems nice. Free wifi works well!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianedsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.

Ash Sardar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Room was dated but was clean, large and tidy. It had a microwave, fridge, really fast wifi, and a good AirCon. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety and fresh pastries.

Location was chosen as it was close to Newark and the airport. We arrived late and got the last free parking space that night - not sure I'd have liked to park in the surrounding area. We even had food delivered to the hotel because we didn't like the look of the surrounding area.

Staff were pleasant and helpful, especially the check in girl when we arrived.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yahooholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Newark is an upcoming city with a lot of positive developments in the city with new businesses constructing and developing their base. These changes are for the better of historic Newark. We would like to invite you to give us another shot in the future for your stay. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.

Ash Sardar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very scary area!!! When you pull off the highway you go right by multiple homeless people sleeping under the bridge. Our taxi driver said the police have a hard time in this area. The hallway had a smell. Beds were fine. Breakfast was not great, eggs were like rubber. The cruise package was enticing because it was parking, the room, and one way shuttle to the port. What they don't tell you is it costs $60 to get a taxi back to the hotel to get your car. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. Not a deal at all!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff.. Newark is an upcoming city with a lot of positive developments in the city with new businesses constructing and developing their base. These changes are for the better of historic Newark. We would like to invite you to give us another shot in the future for your stay. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.

Ash Sardar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Friendly front desk staff at this place but HRS was HORRIBLE! When we showed up on the night of check-in, front desk staff told us that HRS NEVER booked with/communicated with them at all! (and apparently according to the front desk staff, we weren't the only ones...) When I wanted to call their number to ask for more questions, their # turned out to be an INTERNATIONAL NUMBER !?!??!!? Which means I couldn't get a hold of them.... Luckily, there was one last room available so we got a room to stay that night. We couldn't stay for our original plan of 2 nights cause the hotel was fully booked. Because of HRS, we were forced to find another hotel for the next night. BUT OMG! WHAT IF THERE WAS NO ROOM that day?!?!?! WHERE THE HECK WERE WE SUPPOSED TO GO !??!?! In the end we had to pay double the amount for a different hotel due to THEIR MISTAKES and LACK of professionalism. HRS was HORRIBLE ! NEVER using their services again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able enjoy the complimentary breakfast and the level of service provided by our staff . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.

Ash Sardar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Property: Comfort Suites Newark
Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy, Newark, NJ 07104-3822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing