We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When booking this hotel online it seemed to have everything we wanted in a hotel. The pictures online made this hotel look huge and inviting. It offered free shuttle service to and from the airport. There was a shuttle to the cruiseport in Bayonne (for a per person fee) which we needed.

When we arrived we were disappointed to see the real facts of the hotel: the lobby was small and in need of some TLC, a huge abandoned building was our view out of our room window, the elevator would jump and make loud noises if more than 3 people were riding, we were right in the midst of freight docks of some sort, and in order to catch transportation into New York we needed to take the shuttle back to the airport. Also, there did not appear to be other restaurants close, and the hotel restaurant was not open for lunch.
On the plus side, there was a tour company that picked up at the hotel for a day excursion into New York. For a fee, the shuttle would take you to the outlet mall if you wanted to get away from the hotel. The restaurant was open late evening with a very limited menu but the food was alright. The shuttle drivers were friendly and helpful.
If I was leaving for another cruise out of Bayonne I would be ok with this hotel for the overnight stay before boarding the ship. However, I would not book this hotel for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizFred2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very good location for a hotel by the Newark Airport. Confortable hotel and rooms. Restaurant opened until 11:45 pm. Convenient shuttle service from/to Airport and to Penn Station. Good wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Micael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of the hidden secrets of the airport area in Newark. It is a great place to stay and the entire staff here are great customer service ambassadors. I always tell my family to stay here when they go to this area. The managing team always comes to you to make sure your stay is what you expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bettie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We picked this hotel to stay in the night before leaving on vacation since the rooms had 2 queens beds and they had a shuttle to the airport with free parking. Everything was fine until our return when we ended up waiting 35 minutes for a shuttle (the hotel is 5 minutes away). When we were finally picked up the driver said nothing about our long wait but played his music very loudly instead. When I went in to complain the desk personnel never apologized for the delay but made some nonsensical excuses. After a long travel day they really blew it for us - we will never stay there again. I simple apology would have saved the day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ischafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fundamentally OK. The good: clean rooms, adequate size and decent furnishings (bed, microwave, fridge, HDTV, wi-fi), helpful staff. The bad: surrounded by car parks and industrial areas, no restaurants within miles (hotel bar serves burgers & wraps + average complementary hotel breakfast). Windows do not open. OK for an overnight before or after a flight, or a cheap place to stay while you go to NYC. They do offer a free shuttle to Newark Penn Station, on the hour from 7-11 AM, and returning on the hour from 7-11 PM. From there it’s a $5 /25 minute train ride to NY Penn Station.

Room Tip: Rooms seem all the same & look on either an office building or a parking lot. Airport sounds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuho45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had a really nice room. I enjoyed my stay. It was decent. I was upset in the beginning, there were subflooring issues, however, the staff did a wonderful job in giving me another room. They have a wonderful shuttle service, and they have a good schedule.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank eujeaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

As stated in other reviews, directions are tricky. Staff was able to give direction over the phone. Staid during a Girl Scout Retreat. All things went well the room was very nice/clean. Although it was not the promised jucuzzi upgrade, the rm change was corrected & we were given an additional night at the original rate for our troubles. Freddy, Pedro, & the two lady staff members exemplified excellent customer service. The downside is you have to drive so far for a decent meal.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rlycalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark Airport West

Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114-2314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. A nominal fee is charged for Mall, Cruise Port and off peak Penn Station trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing