We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This one was a real shocker, although in a good way. After landing an Express deal for a three star hotel near the airport on Priceline, we were a little apprehensive as we had never stayed in a best western hotel before.. and boy, were we surprised.. my first reaction when I walked into the room was Wow! It was a huge room with two queen beds ( but lacking a sofa bed, which was part of the deal on priceline, but we didn't mind because the room was simply awesome) .. the bathrooms were very clean . If you expecting a room with a view, this isn't the place for you but if it a good , clean hotel room you want near the airport with a free shuttle service to and from the airport as well as to the nearby Penn station , this is it.. the staff were attentive and friendly... The two issues I had was firstly, with the shuttle drivers , who were pretty rude and had a lackadaisical attitude... and the second one was not so much as issue as a weird occurrence.. We stayed for two nights and each day when we returned to the hotel at night, our key cards were deactivated and this was an issue all the guests faced..I m not really sure what was happening.. I would definitely recommend this hotel..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shebha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We waited more than one hour for the shuttle at 11 pm in the evening. This was inexcusable. Then we had to wait another 10 minutes while they searched for someone to check us in. Room was clean. The shower was pitiful, like a nearly empty sprinkling can. Then the breakfast... Not much healthy and the yogurt was in a locked refrigerator with no one present to open it. Would most definitely not return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank rac-columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently booked a double queen room and was happy with the room decor and here are the pros and cons:

Pros: nice room with updated decor, flat-screen TV, microwave and fridge
available shuttle service to Newark Airport and Newark Penn*
free hot breakfast
free parking

Cons: staff was unfriendly and indifferent at best
room and bathroom slightly smelled stale and of smoke
shuttle pick-up from the airport took an hour to come both nights!!! major disappointment
breakfast was sausage and eggs for 3 consecutive days
surrounding area was sketchy...no place to walk around
no pool

Overall, I think that if you offer a shuttle service, it should be on-time as vacation plans are time-sensitive. Further, if you are in the service and tourism business, hire friendly staff.

Next time, I would try to look for other hotels for the same price range that is closer to NYC and had better reviews of the shuttle service and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rolliecoaster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here while visiting New York, room was nicely furnished, had a refridgerator and microwave. My only complaint was housekeeping missed the obvious mold on the bathroom grout in our first room. Shuttle drivers were great picking us up at the airport and also to Penn Station to catch trains. Shuttle is free of charge during normal scheduled pickup and drop off times. If you need pick up / drop off during other times the charge is $12.50 per room which is a good deal. They were always on time, and Jose was the absolute best!

Our 2nd room a couple days later had an even better layout, there was an additional sink and counter outside of the bathroom which made getting ready a lot easier for an early morning departure to the airport. Again the shuttle drivers got us back to the airport right on time! Front desk staff was always friendly and helpful.

You can get attraction tickets at the front desk which will save you time later, they will also print out tickets from your email if needed.

Breakfast in the morning was pretty good, didn't try the hotel restaurant for other meals though.

Be advised there are no other close restaurants / stores in walking distance as this is an airport hotel.
And the scenery is not great for the surrounding area, but location is good if you need to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a room here on a day rate to spend a few hours before continuing to the west coast (after arriving from Europe). We were instructed to use the courtesy phone to request that the shuttle pick us up. It did not arrive; after a long wait we called again and they told us ten minutes, but it did not arrive, we called again, and after maybe 45 minutes it finally arrived. The driver said he just got the call and that he was dropping people off at departures. Don't know what was really going on, but it was quite frustrating since we only had a few hours to shower and get a nap before returning to the airport. The room was excellent - large, quiet, very comfortably furnished (we didn't use most of what was available because we came to rest and not watch TV, etc.), and had free WIFI. The entrance to the hotel was dirty, and I commented to the front desk. My recollection is that they could have used some more hooks in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

3 day stay. Check in staff at front desk was efficient day one. Room was average for clean. Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable. 5 star comfortable. View of the cargo yard was just a view of an industrial wasteland. Didn't get the room for the view however. The restaurant has a very limited menu, our first night,the bartender/ waitress was great. burgers where very generous,and fair price. Sadly day 2 and 3 the server/bartender was a different woman, who spent more time giving her phone number to a patron and flirting than addressing tables. by the time we finished our burgers, she had 5 tables full, that she still hadn't addressed, that came in just after our food hit the table.
The night staff at the desk wmere immature. the gentleman that was manning the desk was having a pen throwing contest with the shuttle drivers. very loud , boitstrous ,what you would expect from a 19 year old not someone representing a business. the f word was used generously. the night clerk drove a tricked out sahara,which he parked sat and sun in the first handicap spot . no placard or handicap tag. The vending machine had old candy stocked and the parking lot is horrendous. Yes the parkng is free, however,the cars are not double but triple parked. and don't park in the 10 min checkin parking. I attempted to, just before chcking in, and the shuttle driver stated it was for shuttles so go figure. It was myself and my child staying. The breakfast offered was murky at best, but the apples were fine as a grab and go snack until we could get "real"food. it is close to all sites. Newyork, the train, the airport, libery science center,the garden malls, and ellis island. Overall ,I wouldn't give it a 3 star rating as a hotel. however, for a business traveler or just using for sleep at out the door each day like we did,it was more than acceptable. The hotel physically was a pleasant surprise,the décor well done, and again extremely comfortable beds. the room was larger, plenty of space. its that staff the made the stay only a 2. but again, if your just there to sleep and go,or on business,its better than average. I should note, the 6th floor REEKED of pot. and cheap pot at that . skunky cheap. this was on day 2 and it lingered on day 3. Not noisy,very quiet given the trains running but,yeah if you have little ones, skip this destination. there are hotels much better suited for family.

Room Tip: solo go for the 2 queen room not the king. its 6th floor, quieter than lower floors. rooms are huge...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room is huge. The bed is very comfortable. The big tube really surprised me. The breakfast is free and decent. The airport shuttle is also free and very convenient. My only complaint is that the staff gave me the key that didn't work twice. Overall, it is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yankai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Newark Airport West

Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114-2314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £80 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. A nominal fee is charged for Mall, Cruise Port and off peak Penn Station trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing