We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Value near EWR”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The hotel is clean, easy to get to (once you low how), and offers scheduled shuttle to EWR, and the good value if you need to be in the area (Newark, near EWR, and all).

Pro: close to EWR; reasonable value; and clean room
Con: if this is your first try to drive to the hotel, read the direction carefully -- I mean very carefully. It is confusing.
[But after a few ties -- I have been there more than I can remember; it is pretty easy]

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SiqingWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    232
    102
    27
    22
See reviews for
146
116
51
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My stay was from 6th to 8th January 2014 and I certainly have no complains but positive comments. Whilst finding the location was a challenge due road works but the front office gave good directions to get to the hotel and offered further assistance if required at mid night.
Check in was flawless and room was very clean n large enough. The key for me was breakfast with almost full buffer with all choices. Normally they are basic stuff but this property offered all that you need and more than enough hands to assist. They also have variety of tea on offer 24 hours if you are a tea lover and apples was also on offer. A very quite complex with ample parking for guests and staff were very friendly
I will certainly stay there again and will recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I am a gold member in Marriott. I was in the area for business, and booked the hotel at a "discounted" prepay rate. The rate went down, but after calling in advance, talking to the hotel and 800# reservation, talking with them at registration, etc - they wouldn't give me the new lower rate.

Then that morning - I had to wash my hair in the sink - after waiting 10 minutes he shower still had not warmed up. So I washed my hair in the sink with a cup. After the shampoo the shower was finally warm enough to get in to it for my conditioner to rinse off. The fan in the bathroom didn't work either...

This hotel was also VERY hard to find, don't bother driving there, take the airport shuttle. You will never find it.

Room Tip: DO not try to drive to this hotel - its an oasis in the middle of a few freeways, damn near impossib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
888 reviews
495 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here before and after a trip to Cancun. Good park and fly rates with parking for up to 14 days. Nice good size rooms, great staff, good breakfast choices, airport shuttle. A little tricky to find but we always get there! Have stayed here several times and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here one night prior to my Dominican Republic. We checked in and they were very kind and clearly know what they are doing.

We entered the room. A half bitten apple. Uncleaned garbage can. Shavings on the sink. Used towels on the floor. Wrappers scattered everywhere. DISGUSTING!!! So we called them to report this and they sent a housekeeper finally 20 mins later who was very nice and did their job well. Then we found out after the whole unclean incident we had a broken television. Also another major problem. And they also didn't give us enough pillows and they only had one more left when we requested enough for my children. The people are very nice (Thanks for everything Jennifer) and the breakfast is delicious! They had a phenomenal shuttle service that drive us right to our terminal instead of us having to take the AirTram! The room we stayed in was a suite and it was very spacious!

I wouldn't stay again... It's great location though if you are desperate.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 867Konichiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on this site. We arrived at 7a.m.(for a 24 hour stay) and were kindly granted early check-in so we went to dump our bags before heading to NYC. We hopped on the Airtrain at Newark and got off at P4. Went down the stairs to await the shuttle. There are many people and many shuttles so you need to keep a sharp eye out. it's 15 minutes to the hotel. A $1-2 tip is appreciated by the driver. We were told that shuttles are every 1/2 hour but... seem to be some shuttle hiccups. The staff greeted us warmly and checked us in early. They told us to help ourselves to breakfast!!! This was fantastic as it allowed us to feed two teens before heading into NYC for the day.The room was a typical of a standard hotel. Two queens. We requested extra blankets and they were delivered immediately. We paid with a credit card when checking in. We had to leave at 5 the next morning and our receipt was under the door in the a.m. The shuttle was at the door and we had no issues getting to the airport on time. Now here is where they went up in my estimation...
We were on our trip home with no plans to spend the night in Newark. As we were getting our things together to board the plane our DD discovered her passport was nowhere to be found. We ran to the United desk and were informed by a next to useless agent (she was literally clicking away on her hot pink cell phone ignoring those lined up) that, "You can't fly without a passport." Duh... I gritted my teeth and asked my options. She told me they only check the lost and found a couple of times a day and that we should go back to terminal C. I explained our lack of time and she shrugged. I then turned to my husband and told him to board the plane with our son and go home and that I would stay with our daughter. I got her to re-book us for the next day. My husband suggest we return to the Fairfield as we knew what we were getting with this hotel. I had no phone nor change but after relying on the kindness of a lady working at the NYC transportation desk downstairs I managed to call the hotel and book in. (downside... they are not on the hotel directory board at the airport) We hopped the shuttle (after a 45 minute wait- mind you others were waiting for their hotel shuttles a long time too- Holiday Inn showed up 5 times while we waited fyi), arrived at the hotel and were pleasantly greeted as before. I explained why we were staying with them again and they gave us a little bag with 2 toothbrushes and paste. They put us in a quiet room (4th floor away from elevator). We settled into our room and my husband called after arriving home. He was put through by the front desk to our room. The phone line was terrible so he said he would call back. I went to the front desk and explained that the phone was faulty and they said they would send a technician up right away. While I was at the desk my husband called again and they handed me the phone and said to take my time. Upon returning to my room the maintenance man promptly showed and replaced the phone. The next day I explained that I was going to try to catch a train home but was not sure I would make it so I might have to return. They said it was no problem for them to hold my reservation until a requested time and that if I didn't return they would cancel it. What a relief that was, as I did not have access to a phone to call and cancel and I definitely didn't want to be without a reservation as it was New Years Eve. So to sum up... shuttle needs work but it gets you there. Hotel staff are exemplary!! Breakfast was above the usual included fare with porridge, cereal, granola, yogurts, waffles, boiled and scrambled eggs, bread, muffins danishes, fruit, drinks sausage and milk in the carton phew - what more could you need? Rooms are clean standard, affordable hotel rooms. I would definitely stay there again! If the hotel staff read this- thank you!!!!

Room Tip: 4th floor not too high not to low for street and air traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jauntyjane46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the service at the hotel was also good. However, the shuttle service leaves much to be desired especially when you want to get to the hotel ASAP, after a long day on flights. I understand that shuttle service depends on traffic, etc., but at this hotel there is two sister hotels in the same area, but the shuttle service for the other hotel would not drop us off. The other hotel was across the parking lot, and they were Marriott hotels. Perhaps they could use two shuttles for this hotel. Also at the airport when you are trying to call the hotel from the list at the phone bank, this hotel is not listed there, rather the sister hotels, so you are not directly connected to this Fairfield Inn and Suites. They need to improve this system. Other than that, thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Coffee service is available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing