We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

After having spent three and a half hours driving to this location (we were traveling from Massachusetts to New Jersey to visit the Statue of Liberty), I was looking forward to relaxing, putting my feet up, and watching a couple of shows. Unfortunately the directions from MapQuest, hotel website, from Google Maps, and all other map outlets, that I could find, were not very helpful. Frustrated, tired, hungry and bewildered beyond our means, we found ourselves near a prison. We called the hotel and we were finally given appropriate directions to make it there. The check in process was wonderful, the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. The room- extremely clean and comfortable. We found all the amenities as stated on the website. We were quite pleased with our room and our stay! Just wish that the directions there were clearer!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Patricia J,

Thanks very much for posting your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was good to see that you had an enjoyable experience after your difficult arrival issues. I would like to apologize for the confusion regarding your arrival. This has been an operational challange, but we have taken some dramatic steps to improve our direction instructions and hope you will visit us again soon.

Have a Great Day!

Sincerely,

Michael Boyle,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here when flying out of Newark and it offered very easy access to the airport. We had a pretty decent rate that included a week of parking, for much less than what I would have paid elsewhere. The hotel was clean and the rooms were average sized. If you are looking for a quick cheap place to stay before flying out, this is a good spot.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel was clean. However, the hotel could use a little more attention to detail. I took a picture of a phone cord that needed to be replaced long ago. Even with an IPhone, I had trouble finding a gas station with all of the many highways that converge around the airport. However, the hotel staff gave me specific instructions and were very helpful with multiple questions. The hotel shuttle operators were very friendly and always on schedule, picking up every half hour. At breakfast and in the hotel shuttle, I met people from Germany, Portugal, Sweden, Netherlands, and China. So, many countries are represented. The hotel itself is located between various highways. So, there is no good view of anything. It is in a good location for airport and train travel. Overall, a good say.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a newer hotel close to the Liberty airport.
Clean rooms, wifi, and pretty decent breakfast. Coffee is available 24hrs, complimentary apples and chocolate chip cookies at the front desk.
Suttle to the airport runs very frequently and the drivers are very helpful.
If driving from the airport check your map, it is a bizantine arrangements of freeways and overpasses to get to the hotel!
Our room was overlooking the freeway so we can hear the trucks going by but so bad that wouldn't let us sleep.
Very convenient if you like to visit New York, take the shuttle to the airport and the the train to Manhattan. Takes about 45'.
One thing our room didn't have was a refrigerator and microwave like the other rooms become it was a double bed?
Not clear why.
I will recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank juan carlos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this Fairfield back in May because the Park and Fly rate was so great. We did a 2 week Alaska trip and the Hotel Rate included up to 14 nights of parking. We only had to pay for 2 extra at $10 per day.

We assumed we would stay here again for our next trip in October, however they have now changed it so that the Park and Fly rate only covers 5 nights of parking (including the night you stay over) and extra nights are now $15 per night. Instead we will stay at a nicer hotel and park our car at one the the typical airport parking lots.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eriberry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had a late flight into Newark this week and used this property as a stay over, rather than pay New York City hotel rates. I then got up early and shuttled back to the airport transfer station for the train into the City (which cost 12.50).

This turned out to be a pretty good strategy. But here are thoughts and suggestions:

(1) The Fairfield is okay. I got a good nights sleep. And is was a clean facility. The staff was very polite. The shuttle drivers were on time and excellent.

(2) The key is to allow yourself an hour on each end to get to and from the airport and the train. To get to the shuttle you have to take the light rail to the P station. Then the shuttle shows up at either :15 and :45. So if you just miss it, add another 25 minutes. On the way out, when you shuttle over to the P station you still have to take the Airtrain over to the Path station, and then wait for the transit train into the City. The point is that there are quite a few variables- which means more things to go wrong.

But - with the right expectation, this property makes a lot of sense for one night stays and flights in and out. It provides a budget friendly experience. But takes a little planning to make it work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am a Marriott Platinum thus most of my nights are spent in this quality chain rooms. This Fairfield certainly is of the high quality of a Marriott property. The lack of hotel shuttle for an airport hotel is a reason to downgrade the property. One expects a shuttle service at an airport hotel especially since getting to the hotel from the airport is not an easy task, even with a GPS. Many confusing turns occur. Getting back to the airport is simple so if you can find it from the airport you can make it back.
Once you find it your will be pleased with the pleasant and clean hotel. It was very quite which is a pleasant surprise being so close to the airport. If I can find it I will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melzoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £101 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Coffee service is available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing