We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Automatic 15% tip on bill says it all!!!”
Review of McGinley's Pub

McGinley's Pub
Ranked #325 of 575 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Automatic 15% tip on bill says it all!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Food was ok! Had the salmon salad. Seating and waitress was horrible! They weren't busy so I don't know what her problem was? Automatic tip included on bill says it all! No silverware, dirty table and no refill on drink! Avoid at all costs and eat on other side of security gates if possible.

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    7
    8
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worst service, no choice after security -- eat Land-side”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We made the mistake of going through security and thinking that we could get something to eat on the air-side of Terminal B, near gate 44. The original captive audience problem. The only option is McGinley's Pub which features high prices, small portions from a limited menu, and THE WORST SERVICE around. To top it off, a 15% tip is automatically included in your bill, probably because that is the only way they would get a tip. Much better idea to eat on the land-side at Chili's or the food court before going through security screening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and reasonable”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly attentive service . Not an easy crowd to deal with but happy place to relax. Food Irish/German I guess because of the airlines using the terminal. Chicken sandwich good and freshly prepared and fast service. Also have sandwiches to go. Second visit in 6 weeks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst pub ever - a once in a lifetime experience...”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We wanted to get some food before boarding. Waited to be seated - while doing so we noticed the staff making funny faces behind other customers' back and we also overheard a silent "what an i d i o t" from a member of the staff about another customer before us who didn't wait to be seated but took a seat in the bar. He had to switch to another seat for some reason. After 5 minutes waiting we got a table -long waiting time since it was not busy and plenty of available seats. The waitress wanted to take our order directly but we asked for 2 minutes to check the menu. Then after 5 minutes no one was interested taking our orders - staff spent time talking to each other instead even though we clearly signed that we were ready to order. Then we overheard again between the members of the staff (about us): "you better take their order before they start complaining". Once the waitress came to our table with an arrogant attitude we decided to leave. We clearly told her we were unhappy and decided to leave. No response from the waitress at all.

Being at a pub with such horrible members of staff was an unpleasant experience. One guy who was rude with customers and one girl who didn't make anything to 'help' either.
I hope they have lost their jobs by now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This has to be the worse bar I have ever experienced. When traveling in a group of 39 from Scotland we visited the bar when delayed for 2 hours. One particular staff member made us feel unwelcome every time we needed served he would ignore us, told us ' could we not read as we didn't wait to be seated' when the bar was empty. The looks and the attitude was appalling. The staff and manager spent the majority of the time on their phones or in the kitchen. He was then extremely aggressive to the children which there was no need for. If i could have found the airport manager i would gave reported him. You are limited where you can eat at the airport and this is yor only options. Worse bar I have ever been in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kainic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to McGinley's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing