We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Newark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at this new property over Thanksgiving weekend. I must say that although the property is rated by Marriott as a 3-star, I think it deserves an extra star. The property is new and still has a new property feel. The rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised to find that my room had a glass shower rather than a bathtub. This is something I wish more properties would install. I always prefer the shower to the shower/tub combo and I look for hotels that have it. I usually only find it in high-end properties, but this Courtyard has them.

Another point in favor of this property is free wifi in every room. There is an option to pay a small amount for faster wifi, but the free wifi is sufficient for web surfing and email.

The property is very convenient to downtown Newark and Newark Airport, thus it is a good choice for business travelers. It sits on Broad St and directly behind Prudential Center, therefore it is ideal for events at that venue.

If I had any criticism of this property it would be that there is no direct access from the parking garage to the hotel. The garage entrance is around the corner from the hotel and you have to exit the garage and turn the corner to access the hotel. This is not ideal when carrying luggage. It's not much of a walk from garage to hotel, but still, they would benefit from direct access.

I am a very frequent traveler to NJ and usually stay at the higher-end properties in Jersey City and drive into Newark. But with this property now available, I will choose this over the Hyatt, W, and Westin in the Jersey City/Hoboken area. Those are 4-star properties, but I honestly think this Courtyard is equal to them.

In short, this is a very good hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WCYinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

What an excellent review! We're so excited to have become your preferred hotel when you're in the area. We are also working on a pass-thru that will connect the hotel to the parking garage, so we do plan to have that done in the near future. Thanks again.

Regards,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard last weekend for a birthday trip to NY with some friends! I have personally worked for Hilton and Sheraton hotels for a number of years so my standards are pretty high. I must tell you, this hotel is fantastic. It's super clean, everyone is extremely friendly and the location couldn't be better being so close to NJ Penn Station to make the commute into NY a breeze. They even have a regular shuttle back and for to Penn Station for guests! I left my Ipod in my room when we checked out and I freaked out thinking that certainly someone would take it.....absolutely not! I was put in touch with the Lost & Found team and in minutes they located my Ipod and made arrangements to get it back to me! I will certainly stay at this hotel again! They have my full recoommendation to anyone looking to stay in NJ or conveniently near NY for a decent rate without the NY prices!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for this awesome review C D. I'm so glad we exceeded your expectations here and that we were able to re-connect you with your lost belonging. We appreciate your recommendations and hope we see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights to attend a conference at Rutgers University. The hotel is within walking distance to its Newark campus. Based on the information we gathered, it is safe to walk during the day. But one should avoid walking at night, especially not alone. The hotel is new and everything inside the hotel is nice and clean. Every staff member that we came to contact with, either over the phone or in person, provided excellent service to us. We also received wonderful service through emails before and after the trip from managers that we did not meet. We will definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there in the future if we visit the area.
P.S., we did not visit the fitness center nor the swimming pool.

Room Tip: The parking garage is not connected to the hotel so you have to walk a very short distance on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromsouthjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hello fromsouthjersey,

Thanks for your superb review. Our team takes much pride in the service we strive to provide to each guest and I'm glad you had excellent experiences with each staff member you encountered. I hope next time you and your husband are here you find some time to enjoy our large, spacious fitness center.

Warm Regards,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spent 2 nights here with a friend and it was great. The rooms were clean, spacious, and aesthetically pleasing to the eye. The Queen beds were very comfortable, and the restroom was spacious enough for 2 people. The HD TV was cool and the hotel had actual HD channels to show on the HD TV. I was very happy with the room.

I had breakfast at the Bistro and they give you a lot of food, but it was delicious.

The lobby was really nice to look at and there were a great amount of comfortable chairs to sit in. The staff that worked there were very nice and professional.

One caveat though: we shared a room that was facing Broad Street, which got very noisy at night. It disturbed my sleep very much on the first night because there was construction outside. Make sure you get a room facing away from Broad Street. You'll sleep better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of Broad Street are probably quieter. Try to get those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark_CY_AGM, Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback Isabel G. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here with us. I'll be sure to share your glowing review with our staff. If you return to the area please feel free to reach out to me prior to your arrival so I can ensure I reserve you an extra quiet room.

Best Wishes,

Matt Garber
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've stayed at the Courtyard a few times when doing an overnight stay to watch the Red Bulls. The hotel is a short walk from Newark Penn train station. It's pretty new with a nice lobby to hang out at night which is ideal as the neighborhood is not really one for strolling after dark. Both service and the rooms are at the upper range for a courtyard and there is a small gym with limited equipment inside the hotel.

Nearby there are a number of food options such as Dinosaur BBQ, and Joe's Crab Shack. It also looks like there will be more casual yet nice options opening in the near future.

Another bonus is the proximity to the Ironbound district with its plethora of spanish, portuguese, and brazilian food and entertainment as well as the Newark museum which is a little gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fearsomepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark_CY_AGM, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. I agree there are many great restaurants located near the hotel, especially in the Ironbound District. We are also thrilled that Joe's Crab Shack recently opened on the ground floor of the hotel.

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Was really liking this hotel until we decided to grab a burger at the Bistro. Ordered a burger which was really pretty good. We ate the burger and decided we wanted coffee. Other hotel guest started coming down for eats. We had to wait until every other person was served until the person attending the counter started on the coffee which was was all of 30 minutes or more.( no exaggerating). I am not blaming the one person in the front and the one person we saw in the back but if Marrriot is going to have a "Bistro Restaurant" it should at least be staffed with more than 2 people. The front person had to bring orders to the tables for each person and make alcoholic drinks etc. - too much for the staff present. We should not have had to wait that long. Other than this incident and the less than desirable neighborhood the hotel itself is a good place to stay if you are attending a Prudential event. We loved hanging out in the lobby lots of seating and TVs. We didn't use the parking and I can understand why the lobby is on the second floor and security on the 1st floor. Rooms modern and fairly clean except for a few hairs on floor in bathroom and floor felt stickey.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taketime2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark_CY_AGM, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your dinner in the Bistro and apologize for any delays you experienced getting your coffee. We will be sure to use this as a training tool with the staff.

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Was in Newark for work, great location, clean new safe hotel. Good friendly staff, a pleasant surprise. Quiet solid building was also happy to do my own laundry. Had a comfy lounge & decent exercise room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Downtown

Address: 858 Broad St, Newark, NJ 07102-2611
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £91 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Newark Downtown boasts an innovative design, modern amenities, and thoughtful services. As the newest of downtown Newark hotels, guests will feel welcomed in our modern lobby and new guest rooms, providing greater flexibility and more choices. Unique among other hotels in downtown Newark, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) - serves fresh, café-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and evening cocktail service. Guests can also take advantage of our multifunctional lobby with communal table for meeting with friends and colleagues, business center with free printing services, and complimentary high-speed Internet. As an added feature, further differentiating us from other downtown Newark hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. Our downtown Newark hotel features comfortable accommodations for guests to relax and unwind after an eventful day. The Courtyard Newark Downtown offers guests a brand new experience on travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Newark Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing