We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, spacious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, spacious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We just stayed at this hotel April 5-9, 2014. We were so impressed that I had to write this review. This hotel is extremely clean! They were always cleaning! The hallways, the lobby areas, the breakfast areas, you name it, they were cleaning it! Hard working, and SUPER FRIENDLY STAFF. During breakfast, the manager was walking through the breakfast area making sure things were topped up and clean. It was very busy at breakfast on the weekend, but they were able to keep on top of everything. Amazing.

The rooms were excellent, and comfortable. Very spacious, clean, and the kitchenette was a great bonus! Every time I walked by a maid cleaning another room she was spraying surfaces and wiping them down. This highly impressed me!

My kids enjoyed the pool (and as a side point, the pool towels were soft and large which was a nice surprise compared to other pool towels at other hotels we've stayed at).

Our family was extremely comfortable here. And my son enjoyed watching the airplanes from Newark airport landing and taking off from the window of our hotel room.

There were not many restaurants nearby, but the front desk gave us many delivery menus for nearby places and they were all delicious. Also our family took the free hotel shuttle to the airport and ate at some of the restaurants there. We even took the hotel shuttle to the airport and then took NJ transit from the airport right into NY one day and walked up to Times Square. This was so convenient! And not very expensive considering we would have paid a lot of money in toll charges to drive the same route.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Breakfast had something for everyone. Coffee was delicious. Location was good for what we needed. Clean, clean, clean. Spacious, modern and comfortable rooms. And amazing staff. Two thumbs up from our family! We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you so much Spring Hill Suites! We had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVan936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    330
    155
    56
    29
See reviews for
287
189
51
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

High volume hotel since it's close to the airport. Not easy to get too unless you're taking their shuttle. There are not many options for eating or at least ones that you can walk too from the property. If you're in town for one night or catching a flight in the morning it will do the job. Depending on traffic you can be downtown NYC in 30 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikolt B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear DrZeek,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty. Thank you for making note of our proximity and ease with which to get to downtown Manhattan. As you also mentioned, we do not have a restaurant onsite, however we offer several dining options for the convenience of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty.
Regards,
SHSDOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

THe location was hard to get to and from the highway. Local food plsaces and stores were hard to reach. The overall hotel was good . However your room card might not work. The key failed at least 5 time during the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikolt B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear John L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty. I am disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered and can assure you that they are certainly not typical of the high standards we set for ourselves in these regards; your guestroom key should always work. We take guestroom maintenance and repair very seriously and work hard to ensure a problem free experience for each of our guests; with that being said, admittedly, we sometimes fall short. I apologize sincerely for any inconvenience created by the issues that you encountered.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty.
Regards,
SHSDOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a layover between flights at Newark, and my husband found this hotel on line for a reasonable amount and it included free shuttle and breakfast. At the airport we asked the first Marriot shuttle driver who couldn't bring us to this hotel (there are eight Marriot's in the area) but was kind enough to bring us the correct pickup location for this hotel's shuttle and also advised us that if the Fairview shuttle arrived it was just across from the SpringHill. The shuttle arrived and we checked into the hotel that gave us a late checkout for free since we only arrived at 2 am. There is a 24 hour shop off the lobby for snacks and quick meals.

Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. I'm not sure what the age of the hotel is but I am guessing it is late 80's or early 90's but the room has been redecorated recently. It was fresh, modern and clean with an excellent use of space. There is a beautiful kitchenette with a bar sink, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. A small closet separates the king size bed from the sitting area (sofa bed) and the tv stand is positioned so that the tv can be viewed from either area. A nice desk is provided as well as free internet and there were lots of outlets to charge electronic devices. The vanity sink area is separate from the bath and tub which is also very practical. The bed was an oasis of clean white bedding with lots of pillows. There were also lots of towels provided in both the bath and vanity areas. I could no find fault with the room or service...

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and popular with the guests. There is free coffee available just off the front lobby. One of the best hotel stays I have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marthawannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very convenient to the airport, however the shuttle service is every 30 minutes and can be a bit annoying if you don't catch it on time. The rooms are very spacious and very accommodating kitchenette area. Beds very comfortable, and pillows very soft. Bathroom very odd (layout) and the lighting with sink and mirror was extremely bad. They need to update that because it can be very dim. Housekeeping not consistent with replenishing soup/shampoo/conditioner. Hotel states that they supply theses items and I only received it for 3 days and we stayed for 5 nights. We used tea/coffee mug and left it in the sink because we didn't have any soap to clean it and came back one night and mug was in the same place. Breakfast area very busy, one day it was extremely busy that we were going to eat in our room but one of the mangers was very nice and let us eat in the staff lunch room. I went to get some tea and one of the ladies who sets up breakfast got mad at my son telling him to get out and he can't be in their staff lunch room, I was heading back and heard her and told her the manger had gave us permission to eat in there and I wouldn't just go in and eat someplace I'm not supposed to. This lady didn't even apologized for accusing us. It was a major turn off but I didn't complain because I wanted to have a stress free trip. Beside rude staff, the staff at the front desk were extremely accommodating and very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwalk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great overnight stay after flying in from Europe. Rooms clean and comfortable and an excellent shuttle service. Fantastic value for money. Would definitely stay there again if I could get a similar price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PooleyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here the night before a flight. It was very clean and comfortable. The front desk employees were very nice. The shuttle service was great and in the morning he dropped us at the terminal instead of the airtrain, which was nice and saved a lot of time! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 652 US Highway 1 and 9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Newark Airport hotels that are convenient, comfortable, and enjoyable choose SpringHill Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport. Our Newark International Airport hotel's accommodations and public spaces are thoughtfully appointed with a range of useful and beautiful amenities. We are an all-suite hotel that provides everything a business or leisure traveler needs for a pleasant stay in Newark, including spacious accommodations with free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen TV, a sofa bed, plush bedding, and a kitchenette. Our hotel's extra perks include a free daily breakfast buffet, a complimentary airport shuttle, and an indoor heated pool. Our location as a Newark International Airport hotel is ideal. We sit close to the airport, Prudential Center, NYC attractions, and Cape Liberty Cruise Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing