We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivore delight”

Fernandes 2 Steak House
Ranked #4 of 584 Restaurants in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: North Ironbound
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Carnivore delight”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you’re a person who loves meat , this is the place.
The variety is extensive and the quality above par, with a Brazilian style pit.
The restaurant itself is very attractive and comfortable with a private parking lot.
They do have other plates on the menu, from fish to seafood. But they do specialize
in charcoal cooked meats. The prices are a bit high when comparing to other Newark
eateries. But then again they do serve large portions. Service is attentive and friendly.
Very good wine list. The only weakness is probably it’s location, way off the Ferry street path.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penhadafranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    47
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
“Disappointment!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Last night my wife and I went to Fernandes for dinner and after waiting about fifteen minutes we were offered a table on the second floor which we turned down because of it's location, smack in the middle of the salad bar and kitchen traffic (waiters, trays, people walking by, etc.). We were sent back downstairs to the Maître D and he gave us a seemingly non working contraption to hold as we sat at the bench by the front door for a while, hoping for a table. We saw other couples and groups come in and walk past us, getting seated as we waited for close to an hour. We also witnessed many leaving, where in my mind at some point we could have been seated where they had been. The Maître D for our last fifteen minutes there, was not even at his post as we continued to wait. This Maître D is the same person that on other occasions has thanked us and asked for us to come back to dine. I guess last night, the Maître D forgot about having previously invited their guest back to dine -or-they were too busy to sit just us two. Too busy, to please two middle aged married persons who wish to have a moment together after a long week of hard work. Maybe, to the Maître D we were the sacrifice of the evening or the two that would not be pleased, since the Maître D did not even welcome us to sit at the bar while they prepared a table -or- at least, I'm sorry you wish to leave. We know not to expect an immediately available table on a Friday night and at a popular spot. We know to wait also, and to expect hospitality from a well priced restaurant, where we've patronized before and where we have been encouraged to come back. All in all, to come back for what? when a guest is brought to the point of feeling unwelcomed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HerminioGaetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have been to Fernandes on many occasions and it has always been a pleasant experience. The food is delicious, & the sangria is fabulous! The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the owners seem very nice as well! Great place to go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth to try”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went for lunch,and while the location is not great.the restaurant is very good. The service is great,the food very good.We had veal with white sauce and shrimp and some grilled portuguese fish . Everything was very good. The only con is the price ,is a little bit expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is my 3rd or 4th time here. Always go with a group. Usually have Rodízio. This time, ordered pork chop.

The service is amazing. The food is outstanding. Everyone who tried a little of my pork chop thought it was unbelievable. One person's fillet was a little stringy, the other person's fillet was excellent. The price is perfect. The Champagne Sangria is the best anywhere!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fernandes 2 Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Fernandes 2 Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing