We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Marriott property out of 2 other choices, right next door.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worst Marriott property out of 2 other choices, right next door.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I really don't know what value a Courtyard offers when right next to a Fairfield or Springhill. This property is beaten and old from the parking lot to the scary dark hallways to the unwelcoming staff. The facility is worn , used and abused. The "fitness center" is underwhelming, and most things don't work. I stayed at the Springhill the night before and thought the CY would be a step up. Surprise, it was a couple dollars more, they charged for parking, no free coffee or breakfast. Why are people staying here?!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dam614Worthington_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    144
    92
    34
    18
See reviews for
94
78
37
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After our flight was cancelled we ended up staying here.
Staff were tremendous, extremely friendly and nothing was a bother to them.
The rooms are very spacious & clean.
The food was really nice, tasty and decent portion.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghengis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Has all you need for a quick stay. Would consider staying somewhere else if more than one night.

Airport shuttle. Clean, odor-free room. Friendly staff. OK food and beverage available. Adequate workout room. Nothing nearby any of the airport hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were driving up on a Friday night from Virginia to stay the night before our cruise the next day. We had stayed at the SpringHill twice before and it was ok, so, we wanted to stay in the same area and chose this hotel. The beds were excellent, the room was very clean (my wife the germaphobe didn't really have much to clorox whipe when we went in!), and it was quiet. We only stayed over night and the only reason I did not give it a perfect score is they do not have any kind of complementary breakfast option at all and secondly, they never advised me they charge to park. The SpringHill, which is two buildings over, never charged me to park, so, this may be new. None the less, it was nice for what it was and I think this is our hotel of choice when we return in September to take our next cruise out of Bayonne.

Room Tip: Courtyard views are obviously the room choice for a more quiet room. You cannot see NY skyline from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for the great review.
As you noted we do not offer a free Continental breakfast as many of our other brands do. We do offer an ala carte breakfast at a reasonable price. We are also open for dinner with a full bar as well. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again when you depart from New Jersey again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a convenient hotel near the airport and about 30 minutes outside of the Manhattan. The rooms are standard and have the typical Courtyard setup. My room was a little musty, but I opened the door on the balcony and it quickly aired out. The highlight of this location is the way they handle the breakfast. The a la cart option at breakfast was done very nicely. Everything was fresh and served with a smile. The staff at this location really seem to care and are very nice. The one drawback of this location is the noise. You are right next tot he airport. It didn't bother me a bit, but it might be too much for some.

Room Tip: Stay on the courtyard side of the building facing away from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying the staff was very nice and the lobby was updated and modern with a full service of food and drinks available at the Bistro. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and overall nice. The biggest challenge for this location is if you are trying to drive here on your own. As one review mentioned the gps will take you to Elizabeth NJ which is not even close to the location. I had to drive for almost an hour to actually get to the hotel after getting off on the wrong exits. I decided to turn my car in early and use the hotel shuttle service to get me to the airport where I could take the train after a meeting in N.J... Much easier to get from the hotel to the airport then from the airport to the hotel..Best advice is to use the shuttle service..

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and got lost trying to find the hotel. I used a GPS and when I called they explained that there wasn't a good address to put in the gps. Frustrating when you're tired. Plus you have to pay for parking. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and nice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejones77rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing