We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I arrived my room was ready early which was nice after flying in. The room was very clean and super comfortable.

I needed a fridge for medical reasons and one was brought up by maintenence very quickly. Bernard had such a pleasant disposition and was so friendly.

I forgot my phone charger so I called housekeeping. The housekeeping manager, Glorymar, brought me hers and after she heard that I came to memorialize my grandmother she had the sweetest note sent to my room.

Definately convienent to everything. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friendlyflyer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    569
    282
    116
    62
See reviews for
349
372
135
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I travel to Manhattan on business from California and the prices of Manhattan hotels has gotten ridiculous. But if you stay at the NEWARK Penn Station Hilton, you walk across the covered walkway to the train station and in 15 -20 minutes you arrive in at Penn Station NEW YORK for $5.00. it's simple. And the Hilton is right next to a bunch of fun places to eat, plus a great Starbucks. Nice alternative to noisy, pricey Manhattan hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Easy location from the Newark International Airport. Great Front Desk experience at check. We arrived early and was able to check in immediately. All staff were excellent...friendly. Due to our Hilton Honors Memebership we were treated very special by the Manager. Older hotel, but compelely re-done. Nice bathroom and a great bed. Club Lounge was nice for evening cocktails and morning breakfast. We stayed one night before our cruise which departed the Liberty Cruise Port. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Concierge Club Level Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We traveled up on train from Washington, nice and easy to access hotel from station. I had two over eighty year olds and a 20 year old with me so not as easy as it seems. Staff were very good, just need some care in offering bell hops to help with lugage. Cant fault rooms for New York area, most of USA a lot bigger but it is New York and expensive like other major citys. Path train to world trade center and access to new york metro easy. Recomend the cheese cake from deli on penn station. go to Jersey gardens mall take empty suit case. $25 taxi we paid ,compaired with home good deal. I rang our driver when we wanted to be picked up, no problem. Bar / resturant very good, I was always meet with a hello even when they were serving.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Hood, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had to stay in the Port of Newark area for a few days while awaiting shipment of my wife's BMW from Germany. While doing so, and because we were already Hilton Honors subscribers, we chose the Hilton Newark Penn Station. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The room in which we stayed was large, the bathroom exceedingly clean, the bed comfortable, and proximity to both personal and public transporation a tremendous plus. Unlike some oddball reviewer below, we found the breakfast to be bountiful and the staff quite accomodating. In the meanwhile, too, we had the opportunity to eat at nearby soul-food magnet Je's (see separate review), walk around the home of the NHL's New Jersey Devils (anathema to my younger son, who lives in Edmonton), drive over to Ellis Island, where my mother's family arrived in 1922 from Russia; get my wife's car serviced in nearby Bloomfield (see Internation Cafe, separate review), take the PATH into Manhattan for a Broadway play starring Frances McDormand, then visit my old med school school in Brooklyn; and finally, on a whim, we drove down to Princeton, not to see the campus, but to do laundry at a laundromat! (We'd been living out of suitcases for almost a month!) Terrific experience, wonderful welcome back to the USA, great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Spent two nights at this property for my sister in-law's wedding. Traveled with my wife and children (two teens and a toddler) so we had two adjoining double rooms.

Property was clean and well maintained. All staff encountered was friendly and helpful. Carpet and paint in room looked newer, wood textured doors seemed to be original 70's style. I had called ahead of time to see about a fridge, it was in the kids room when we checked in (toddler drinks special soy milk). Minor complaint was the noise from outside - the windows and insulation seemed fine, I think the noise is hard to avoid given the hotel's proximity to Penn Station . It was not overbearing, but it occasionally was enough to awake me (kids and wife slept like logs however).

Parking was at a public lot next door, but the hotel has a deal with the lot ($21/night). Thought even this deal was expensive, but I guess that's typical for a city.

There is an attached shopping promenade, as well as a connection to Penn Station across the street. My toddler was excited to visit Penn Station to see the "Choo-choos's", luckily he was oblivious to homeless and panhandlers...

Overall the stay was very good, I would stay in this hotel again (although I am not sure what reason I could foresee to again be in downtown Newark.....)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjmd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This Hilton Hotel was an integral part in making our (husband, wife, daughter) Easter Break such a great time. Upon arriving at the front desk, we were greeted by Keith and Jung. These two gentlemen were so professional, friendly and helpful! Soon after we were settled in our room, we were back to the front desk with many questions about transportation to NYC, specific tourist locations, Broadway info, printing from our computer, on and on. Both gentlemen went above and beyond helping and explaining every question we had. They even suggested that we call them, while we were out, if we needed further assistance. Throughout our seven day stay we found every person, at the Hilton, a pleasure to interact with. No kidding!!!

Our room was completely clean, very nicely done and bed was very comfortable. The room was not large but not super tiny like NYC rooms often are.

One of the other HUGE pluses of this Hilton is that it is attached to the Newark Penn Station by a skywalk. This makes it sooo easy and fast to get to the New Jersey Transit or the PATH. We had NO desire to drive anywhere near NYC so being this close to a transit system was perfect!!! Every time we made that short walk to the transit we remarked about how happy were to be so close.

Ultimately, we had outstanding service, very clean, safe, comfortable room, convenient location and a place that we really liked to go home to each evening. If you don't want to pay huge NYC hotel prices and don't mind a little travel time to Manhattan, this Hilton would be an excellent choice.

Oh…BTW, there is a Starbucks right off the hotel lobby!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZranger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Property: Hilton Newark Penn Station
Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing