We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay for just a night and would have stayed longer. All the staff were friendly and attentive the only thing that let it down was being in Newark away from any shops but still a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed only because NYC hotels jacked up rates to 2x the usual rate this week. There is nothing nearby to walk to for food with the exception of a Spanish restaurant that is over-rated - family style tho' and you get quantity,not so much quality. So, have dinner in the city, catch the NJT to Newark and and just use the room to sleep only. There is no fridge, and you have to pay for internet access. You can do better at the next train stop west.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Devadasan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. I do apoligize that we did not meet your expecations. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great home base for visiting NY. Adjacent to Penn Station, clean enclosed bridge for getting to and from the train station. On site restaurant is good, room service is prompt and room was great. Be aware bed is a little firm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future. Hope you had a great anniversary!

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in Newark for a few nights recently and chose this hotel because of the location. I took the Acela from Boston to Newark and wanted something close to the train and car rental. I admit to having low expectations but I was pleasantly surprised by how friendly and service-oriented the staff was and how comfortable, quiet, and clean the hotel and my room were. Keep in mind that when you stay here you are in the most congested place during traffic hours that you could possibly me, in my opinion, in Northern New Jersey. I had rented a car from Enterprise located in the same building, and getting the car to the garage was annoying because there is no traffic control whatsoever. Aside from that, however, the hotel was everything I needed it to be for a quick stay. I'd certainly stay here again on my next trip to Newark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crb617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel, and you can stay here for half the cost of a comparable hotel in New York City. You are 15 minutes from Penn Station or the World Trade Center in New York and you can get there without even having to go outside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at another hotel in the area but it was booked and this was the next best option. I should definitely add that the Hilton will now be my go-to whenever I'm in the area. The staff allowed us to check in 3.5 hours early as we drove overnight and arrived in town early. They were very accommodating and for that I thank them! The ladies at the front desk were hilarious, polite and professional. I'm super bad at names there was one in particular that I wanted to acknowledge for exceeding my expectations. The rooms were clean, comfy beds, I didn't hear any neighbors but they did have a set of ear plugs in the night stand drawer for those with sensitive hearing. This hotel rocks because of its closeness to penn station, we literally walked across the street and we were at the train station. My only suggestion is use room service at your discretion, I ordered a cheeseburger and friend and my friend ordered some pasta with shrimp. Her order was fine my burger was dry and not tasty at all and the fries weren't edible. Being so close to New York you'd be crazy to not hop the grin and be in food heaven. Thanks Hilton for a great stay! See you again very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittanywoolfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Boyfriend and i stayed at the Junior Suite in this hotel. The check in experience was very smooth and we were pleased with the service. Our first impression of our room was great, everything was clean and put together. Our bathroom was a bit tight but that did not bother us a bit we were happy with what we got. We had a connecting door and our two very large windows were right across from two bright city buildings but we saw that there were black out curtains.

To our surprise these curtains did not close. This was already causing a rough nights sleep, not to mention how extremely thin the walls were. We were hearing sirens all night as if the windows were wide open. After tossing and turning all night 4:30 finally rolls around and our extremely loud neighbors were wide awake using their outside voices and their TV's were turned up all the way. i respect early risers, however it sounded as if they were standing right in our room, their voices were not muffled a bit! This hotel could use some sound proofing because we felt as if there was zero privacy in that room. would NOT recommend this hotel if you're trying to get some good rest.....unless you plan on using earplugs and a sleep mask!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £92 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing