We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed a week at the hotel. The stay went well except the day before I left the cleaning staff threw away my shampoo and other toiletry, which I left on the bathroom counter. When I checked out the staff confirmed my email address but I have not yet received the invoice, nearly a week later. This was the second time staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at hilton Newark penn station from May 1st to may 4th 2014, my stay was a very very pleasant one, the checkin went super fast, the lady welcomed me back to hilton, the location can't be argued with, it is the best location outside of Manhattan, train only takes about 18 minutes, and you are on manhattan, the Room was nice and clean, towels was clean and changed when i wanted them to be, the only negative thing i can say about this hotel is the fact it is a 4 star hotel, and i did wish the internet was free in the rooms.. i will on my next trip to newark/new york stay here again, thanks for a very very nice stay, and hope to see you soon again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Terrible assistance. I have waited for more than one hour for the shuttle bus. When I called the hotel they told would take me ANOTHER 10-15 minutes. TOTTALLY DISRESPECTFUL. The staff is not helpful and not friendly. I do not recommend for any purpose.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to update and better our hotel. I do apologize that there was a delay with our shuttle. Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to your return. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I was surprised how clean it is considering it is located in the bad part of the area. I was really nervous about staying somewhere shady but it turn out we have good experience. I went with one with my sister a week ago to go to New York Times Square. This place is perfect. But I will not walk around after dark in this area. You can walk out through the buildings attached to the Hilton and come out right across from the Penn station to go to New York city for $10 round trip. This hotel is much affordable that staying in close to Times Square. $300 cheaper. This building is surrounded by gifts shops and restaurant. Front desk people are friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. We flew into Newark airport and called for the shuttle, which arrived in about 15 minutes. We arrived at the hotel around noon and our room was ready, allowing us to freshen up before going into NYC. The hotel is attached to Newark's Penn Station and the train ride into the city is $5.00 one way, arriving at NYC Penn Station in about 20 minutes. The train runs several times an hour, even late into the evening.

We ate breakfast at a shop in the concourse between the hotel and Penn Station. I can't remember the name of it, but it has lots of colorful signs in the window. Good, cooked-to-order breakfast.

We took the airport shuttle back to the airport to pick up a rental car for some of our trip so also had the opportunity to use the parking garage. We had no issues with the garage. $21/day, I believe, with in/out privileges.

All employees we encountered were friendly and helpful. We found it nice to stay outside of Manhattan but still convenient to the city. This is a large hotel on a busy corner in a big city. It is not particularly quiet for these reasons. We heard no noise from inside the hotel (and we were near the elevator) but there was a lot of honking and traffic noise, but we were so tired by the end of the day it wasn't an issue. Our room had a comfortable Queen bed, desk/chair, and an upholstered chair and seemed roomy.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hearts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Having never visited New York before, we decided to stay here and save money by catching the train to Manhattan every day. The hotel itself is great, as one would expect from Hilton. Spacious rooms and very clean. However I would not recommend staying here if you are a tourist. The train to Manhattan takes about twenty minutes. There is virtually nothing in the surrounding area in terms of food and supermarkets. The inconvenience was not worth the money saved in our opinion!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LambieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to update and better our hotel. Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to your return. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our stay at the Hilton wasn't bad. The valet staff was excellent and tried to assist us as much as possible. The front desk staff was very pleasant as well. They did make the hotel very secure by using your key card to access any floor in the hotel. So if you didn't have a card, the elevator would not move. The food was okay. I didn't like the fact that the hotel was a Hilton and did not have a pool. This would have been excellent for children. Otherwise, they are thoroughly bored during down time.

Room Tip: The air conditioner/heat didn't always work and this hotel did not have a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newark Penn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your kind review. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from guests like you of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Hilton Newark Penn Station. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We hope you will have an opportunity to return for another visit in the near future.

Thank you again for writing
Lori S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £102 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing