We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport good for overnight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Austin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to airport good for overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a nice hotel. It has a restaurant but the service is extremely slow. I waited 45 minutes for our breakfast. It shouldn't take that long and they weren't even very busy. There's a small "store" that has some pastries, premade sandwiches and drinks but it's kinda expensive. There are a couple of restaurants that will deliver so I'd chose that again over eating at the hotel. Rooms are nice and clean, free WIFI. It's a perfect hotel to stay at 1 night before or after your trip before you head to the airport. They have a free shuttle that is very user friendly. I'd stay here again, in fact, I've stayed there 3 separate times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    367
    292
    110
    75
See reviews for
239
331
128
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trois-Rivieres,Quebec
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The rooms are clean but the beds are kinda small. The personal was nice when we were there. But we forgot some glasses besides the TV, we called right away to get them back. First they said theyd call us back in 20 mins to go check the room. 4 hrs later, we called back and they said "oh right we forgot to call back but we didnt find your glasses". There is also some kind of prison right by the hotel. I dont think Id go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our first night in your hotel was 7/9/14 & we left our car while we made our trip to Seattle the next day. On our return, our plane was delayed & we would have not been able to drive home that night at the late hour they were getting us in to Newark Airport. We asked to spend that night again with you & were very disappointed that you charged us the full rate when we only were there for 6 hrs. & never even used the shower or other facilities. We thought we would get a reduced rate. Will investigate using another hotel the next time we travel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The room was comfortable and clean. Kiddy friendly too, room for the pram our luggage and room for my son to walk around and play. Although we couldn't get any room service after 11pm. We didn't check in until 11pm as our flight was cancelled and would have liked a little food. Check in process was smooth and fast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LG_Travels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

I appreciate your review . I am glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. I apologize we do not offer 24 hour room service. Our kitchen is open till midnight and we have 24 hour corner cafe where guests can purchase hot and cold food. We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Thank you

Ernst Gaston
General Mnaager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

United put us up here after our flight was cancelled. To the Ramada's credit, they were well-prepared for an overpacked late-night airport shuttle--the room key was ready in a flash. Just 1 key for 2 of us until I requested a second. The room was spacious but very humid. It felt damp all night. The toilet ran and I reported it when I checked out but the guy just shrugged. The worst part, though was breakfast. The menu in the room showed yummy omelettes and French toast and "pure premium" OJ and such. We saved 4 meal vouchers from the airline ($28) to have a nice breakfast before our early-morning departure. But no. The hotel set up a buffet in a small ballroom (not the restaurant--crowded makeshift tables for 10) of undercooked eggs, bagels but no toaster, coffee but no tea, cheap OJ, no ice, etc. the cost was $14.25/person and there was no option to order from the menu. We guessed that the hotel does this when they have lots of airline voucher travelers, to save costs, and guests don't complain because they're not paying out of pocket. That breakfast was not worth $14, and it seems crazy that a big hotel has guests sit with strangers. I would skip this place if you have a choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst2013, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza Newark Airport.

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt your room was warm and at check out the Front Agent did not make an attempt to resolve the disconnect. That is unacceptable. Our AC units are new and very efficient. I will certainly pass on your comments to Property Ops in order for us to verify.

In regards to breakfast our guests have options. We offer a buffet and guests can order a la carte. The omelettes and the other items that you mentioned on the menu was to be purchased a la carte. I am sorry if we did not informed you of that.

Unfortunately I disagree with your comments on the set up and the breakfast. We have waiters to assist guests . We put out a great breakfast every morning and we do our best to keep it affordable .

Thank you,

Ernst Gaston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.6 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport

Property: Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Address: 160A Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE EVOLUTION HAS BEGUN! The Ramada Plaza's long awaited top to bottom renovation is almost complete! Come give our hotel another try, we have made dramatic strides in making The Ramada Plaza Hotel the great hotel our guests deserve! Our guest ready team is here to make you feel at home. Every one of our 412 rooms and public areas are part of a major improvement program we are sure you will love the new modern decor.All of our rooms offer, Free WiFi, coffee and coffee makers, irons/ironing boards, in-room Movies, Ramada Plaza branded amenities, daily housekeeping, airport shuttle and more!Park and Fly at The Ramada Plaza, we offer room night and long term parking packages.We have an outstanding restaurant Teddy's Bar and Grill, arguably the best service and quality food at any of the airport hotels! Daily specials, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!Want to grab a quick snack, our Corner Cafe is open 24 hours, coffee, tea, pizza, beverages, sandwiches and sweets all at your finger tips 24/7 in the hotel lobby!Ramada Plaza offer 12,000 sq.ft. of meeting rooms and ballroom space. Having a corporate or social function? Need to organize a quick meeting, we can accommodate meetings and groups from 10 - 400 people (depending on set-up requirements.) Come witness the EVOLUTION at the new and improved Ramada Plaza, Newark Airport. We are here for you, our valued guest. We understand customer service and look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing