We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start before that cruise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol/Dawlish, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great start before that cruise!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived in Newark and chose the Mariott based on reviews and it's location so close to the airport. Getting to the shuttle bus was easy .... Got to the hotel and our cases were taken so went to reception to check in. The check in staff were efficient and fun .... We had a great room with a view of the airport on the executive floor. Beds very comfortable, everything clean .... All good. Went to the concierge lounge for drinks and a snack. Was an honesty bar with some good food and again everything kept clean and very friendly and fun staff. We had the same experience for breakfast .... Well done to the team. Check out was easy, again our cases were taken and placed in a taxi and we were sent away satisfied customers with memories of very friendly, fun staff :-) the next stop was the Explorer of the Seas which now has the worst sickness record in over 20 years ... Oh well at least we enjoyed our stay in Newark!

Room Tip: A view of the airport on the executive floor is worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominowomblestocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    726
    247
    71
    35
See reviews for
319
405
134
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I enjoyed staying at this Marriott property on the grounds of the Newark Airport. The rooms were nice sized, clean, comfortable, quiet, had nice amenities (hair blower, milled soap, water - but not free wifi). They have a shuttle that goes to the airport 24/7. Decent restaurant, good bar, very friendly and responsive staff. It is a Marriott, but a good one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R&DAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The pluses:
Convenience to airport & free shuttle.
Nice rooms, but a little tired & in need of refurbishment.
Good exercise facility & nice pool.
The minuses:
The noise from the HVAC system makes it difficult to sleep.
The room thermostats are ineffectual. (The heat in our rooms was extreme, even when the temperature was st at 60 degrees F.
The prices in the Aviation Grill. Ridiculous! (The quantity of food presented was OK, but quality was sub-par. A caution: Unless you have a car, you are trapped here, food-wise. There are no other options, unless you take the shuttle to the airport terminals & eat there.)

We had the occasion to stay here twice within 10 days. (We came in via Amtrak for our outbound flight, &, days later, we arrived at the hotel after an inbound flight for an overnight at the hotel.)

Front desk staff quality is erratic. On our first stay it was ridiculously bad. Many difficulties checking out, not of our making. Second stay went much better. Staff was more than satisfactory & helpful.

We found that the quality of the hotel does not warrant the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abernathy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, Manager at Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We have been fortunate to receive great comments about our hotel and our location. While most of our guests enjoy the convenience of our location, and the consistent quality of our service and product, we understand that sometimes we need to make adjustments as we receive feedback from our guests. We have shared your comments with our Team to make the necessary improvements to these areas. Again thank you, we look forward to making your next stay brilliant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
391 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great place...I did get a wonderful rate. The bed was great, room clean, service, food and the hotel was first class. It does not get much better then this. The shuttle took me about 5 minutes to get to my terminal. I will always stay here!
Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

One of my fave airport hotels. It is easy to get to, the staff is friendly and super accommodating. We had a late international flight (leaving at 10pm) was able to get late check out which was great. Food is your typical marriott fare.
Great airport hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I together with my wife and son stayed at the Marriott Newark airport. In the morning of the 13 Jan we took the shuttle from the hotel to the airport (2 min). When leaving the bus going to the airport building we were in a rush. By being in such a rush, I forgot our bag with the passports from the shuttle bus. It was 1.5 hour before our long-haul flight to London would depart. We only realised that we forgot the passports when the person at the check-in desk asked for our passport. I immediately called the hotel. While on the phone with me, the receptionist called the shuttle bus driver. He was already on his way back to the airport as he realised a passenger had forgotten his bag. I will never forget the kindness and the speed of action of the MArriott people.

Thank you so much !

Bart, Nimia and Bart-Gabriel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baaarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stay at this hotel all the time and it is really great. The location is literally inside the airport property, so it is very convenient for quick layovers (you can walk from the terminals if you don't mind crossing a few streets or take their frequent shuttle). The hotel is newly renovated (although it was nice before as well), with friendly staff, nice and clean rooms, and it is quiet! You would think being in the airport that it would be hard to sleep, but you cannot even hear the planes. The construction is obviously very good. I've always slept well there, which is usually the purpose of my stay. Room service is also good, and accommodating for my dietary restrictions. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They're all quiet and nice, I've never had a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrnBfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing