We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Satisfied with my stay. Friendly staff. Service was good. Location is perfect for taking the train to Manhattan. Also easy access to restaurants in Newark. Close to NJ Turnpike and GS Parkway so easy and convenient when visiting friends and relatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tooney1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    702
    241
    70
    32
See reviews for
305
387
131
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I am a Hilton family traveler - I was forced to stay at this location due to a dance competition. I have traveled for 25 years and knew that a hotel airport was going to be an issue and I was correct. You are essentially trapped at this location - I realize most are flopping here for one night and heading out somewhere better, but I was here for THREE nights. Driving somewhere is not easy (and it's sketchy nearby, not much around) and you are essentially trapped eating hotel food. So, fine, hotel food. A couple of times for lunch a quickie type buffet was set up for the competition... CASH ONLY?!? WHAT?!? This is 2014, please, cash only is plain stupid.

The room was, eh, whatever, an airport hotel room. The water pressure/heat was pathetic. Sometimes lukewarm, sometimes barely coming out the shower head.

The Internet... two different rates (both a RIPOFF)... the higher cost option was for faster service. Well, it sucked. The signal sometimes wasn't even accessible and when it was, it was slower than my wife's phone. I had work to get done and it was a huge challenge.

I'll give props to the exercise room which I used multiple times.

I wont put myself through this hassle again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, Manager at Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do pride ourselves on our convenient location to Newark Airport for our guest’s arrival and departing flights and we are also an easy distance from Manhattan. We have great public transportation available in our area which is easily accessible from Newark Penn Station. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be sure to share this with our Team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingburg, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I think this hotel is just a bit too big for them to manage. First of all the check in process was terrible. Very lengthy and then the clerk argued with me over using my corporate rate.
Once to the room I noticed that the air was not on at all so I turned it on and attempted to make it cooler. AC was not working and was making the room even warmer.
I recommend staying that the Rennaisance down the street. Cheaper and better service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marineboy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Early flight great spot however hope it doesn't rain no TV getting up at 3:30 am want to relax instead I'm writing a review. Now I need more characters to submit this more annoyance.gfffddfff c xxdxxffvvbvvccccvvbbnnn now do I have 200 characters

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location for short business trip but expensive, poor choice of food at bar or restaurant and also expensive. No direct pathway to walk to the hotel from terminals except through the car park and stepping over barriers. Not recommended unless time is short.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabhand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, Manager at Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We look forward to hosting you brilliantly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starnberg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was stuck at the Newark airport on my way to Nashville, Tennessee on Saturday April 26 because of the tornado front going through on the way to Nashville. I decided with a couple of travelers to take the closest hotel -- it was this Marriott. Their airport shuttle service is perfect with very friendly drivers. The hotel was also nice, for example their business center excellent with info on flight situations etc. Bar service also excellent, restaurant I do not know as we decided to have dinner in NY downtown.

For bad news concerning my flight this hotel saved my evening!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eucoeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelenia Góra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located by the airport. A shuttle bus service avaliable for free. The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is clean and quite ( I could sleep undisturbed even it is so close to the airport). Food is very tasty. Breakfast helped me to start my day. Nice option to day and reach NY downtown by train ( only 12.5 usd one way ticket).

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing