We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
377 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Expensive but convenient”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

If you need a night at the airport then nowhere is better. It's convenient for sure. Rooms are ok but as with most airports, a complete ripoff! I arrived late so all the services where closed and nowhere nearby to eat, so bear that in mind if your arriving late.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveParryHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    722
    244
    71
    34
See reviews for
315
402
133
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Was passing through NewYork/Newark when returning from Europe and needed a place for the night before connecting the next morning. Chose the Marriot because if its proximity and reasonable price. First pleasant surprise was the airport shuttle pick-up, no problem at all, at the time the central SkyTrain pick-up was not set-up and shuttles picked up at the terminal. Driver was extremely helpful. Generally, this hotel has great staff, I had no problem checking in early.
Room was quiet, clean and spacious, bed okay, bathroom modern, overall, room had most of what a business traveler needs. Room service was solid, nothing fancy but quick. The biggest plus is the convenience of staying at the airport and being able to hop on the train or bus to go to Manhattan.
My advice, don't try to take the airport express bus from terminal C (last stop), it was full x3, eventually shared a cab, which is just insanely expensive. Should have gone to the terminal A stop. The RailService (last stop on SkyTrain), a better option, was not in service that weekend, but could have taken the train from Newark Union Station (not everybody feels comfortable doing that).
So, again, I was pleasantly surprised by this airport hotel, service was great, price to value ratio is good, very convenient if you stop over and plan a quick trip to Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had an early morning flight so I begrudgingly made a reservation at this hotel because I really wanted to stay in NYC because I arrived on an early flight as well and had all day to spend the city. First of all, I arrived early on a Sat morning at the airport and was hoping to just drop my luggage off so I could dash into the city so I was very delighted that they let me check in to my room around 10 AM! After a quick change of clothes I hopped onto the shuttle that took me to the Air Train which connected me to the NJ Rail service to Manhattan so I was able to enjoy my day in the city and then return the same way in time to retire early for the night. The room was clean and very comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering you were at the airport. I definitely recommend staying here if you need to make an early flight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taavimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
234 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here overnight before my husbands' early morning flight to the west coast. The room was large, with a nicely appointment bathroom, and amenities. I went to the executive lounge and was greeted by some very friendly attendants, who couldn't do enough for me. The staff here is awesome--would definitely recommend it if you are leaving or coming into EWR. The hotel has a shuttle to the airport, and on site parking for a fee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

While the Newark Airport is not amongst my favorites this hotel is in the perfect location and has WOW friendly service. The shuttle runs 24/7 and was clean and impressive. My room was perfect except the keys would not work properly. Such is only a small issue and occurs with smart phone interference. Overnight parking is a premium so turn in the rental and take the shuttle .

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melzoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I travel every week and am partial to Marriott overall, but I found the level of professionalism and service with every single contact at this property to be extraordinary! You notice it as soon as you walk in, all the way until you depart for your meeting and Caesar helps you get a taxi. They all wear "WOW" ribbons drawing attention to the experience they intend to deliver.
They do!

The Concierge Lounge is fantastic, above and beyond the high level of great food and super service I normally see at Marriott...Montrell was especially thoughtful!
I'm staying there again next week....can't wait for another great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed one night on our way out of town. Everything was about what one would expect from a large American airport hotel. Rooms were clean, beds were fine, plumbing worked, room service was prompt, etc. I will say I noticed that one of the two queen beds in our room had a bottom sheet that was much too small for the bed and the bed skirt was dramatically askew, but you know ... picky, picky, picky. So this was exactly what I expected from an airport Marriott, no more, no less. There is shuttle service to all terminals about every 15 minutes, and that was the important thing for this trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSniggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing