We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Robert Treat hotel was a great choice for us” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Washington State
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Robert Treat hotel was a great choice for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I really didn't know what to expect in Newark. The Robert Treat Hotel was a great place to base our NYC adventure. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Newark Penn station and because of the complementary shuttle that runs every half hour. We never waited longer than 15 minutes. The shuttle is clean and the drivers were courteous.

The hotel is clean and nicely furnished. Our room faced the back parking lot so it was surprisingly quiet at night. We also had a distant view of the city which was nice. We ordered roomservice through the Maize Restaurant and found it to be tasty. We ordered a 14" pizza and 8 piece buffalo wings for about $20. They tacked on a20% tip.

Only two things were bothersome: the temperature controls are not room specific and I thought the breakfast was meager.

All in all we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the east side - they are quiet and have a view Stay away from rooms adj to the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keliiaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    519
    248
    102
    75
See reviews for
289
380
149
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Several weeks ago, I booked an online reservation to stay at this hotel for work. The fact that this hotel refused to honor this rate was ultimately the least of my problems.

The hotel is "sketchy," and, more importantly, good customer service seems to be a novel and foreign concept to employees at this hotel.

After checking in and going out to dinner, I returned to find a big group of other guests sitting on the floor in the hallway where my room was located, just "hanging out," talking, parading up and down, speaking loudly, joking and generally disruptive. In my thirty years of traveling for work (and for recreation), I've never encountered such inappropriate behavior in a hotel---ever.

I sought out the front desk staff face to face; they were completely unable to provide any sort of assurance and just stated they'd send security to investigate. I therefore asked for a room reassignment and was provided another room in a less desirable location, despite reassurances that this would not be the case----that is, that the new room would also be in a good location, with similar amenities.

Within 30 minutes of being in this new room, someone came to my room, began banging on the door, inserting a key, trying to come in and also refusing to identify themselves despite my requests. When I called the front desk regarding this matter, they again did not seem to appreciate my concerns, simply stating that they'd send security. Did they? Beats me. Did they conduct any follow-up with me? Not at all.

The final blow came at checkout when front desk staff insisted they could't fulfill the "guaranteed" online rate. They clearly stated that they were aware that their records stated that I had been "guaranteed" a lower online rate. However, they asserted that since I didn't "catch" a rate discrepancy when checking in (that is that they had re-set the rate higher for my stay), it was, therefore, my error and I was fully liable. To me this is a classic case of bait and switch. If you've got to be this hypervigilent to get a rate that's been promised....I'd say, stay somewhere else.

By checkout time, I was super motivated to escape from probably the worst hotel experience I'd ever had and to get to the airport super early where I could hopefully feel safe again. As such, I didn't ask to speak to a manager/supervisor to address this other matter.

Take home point: Don't stay at this hotel as it lack overall integrity. Aside from possibly being charged more $$$ then was guaranteed online:

STAFF IS INDIFFERENT and YOUR PHYSICAL SAFETY MAY BE ON THE LINE----A DANGEROUS COMBINATION.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NYCDCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel on January 4th to January 6. And I love that stay: very cozy, nice breakfast, good price, the whole enviroment was good!!! Interesting design of the canteen, frontdesk was very nice and friendly. I myself enjoyed my stay and also loved the shuttle bus service - every 30 minutes very comfortable. I had to stay there not predictable because of my flight delayed and I didn't regret about my choice!!!!))))))))

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakirinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca Falls
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My colleague and I stayed here just one night but we were both very pleased. Although not large, the rooms were clean and nicely furnished. We had planned to go out for dinner but decided to try the hotel restaurant. The menu was not extensive, but the ambiance, service, and food were all excellent.
Others have complained about the neighborhood, but we were pleasantly surprised. Nice shops and restaurants near-by and a lovely park right across the street. Also adjacent to the performing arts center.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodiorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
424 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I was very flag to try this hotel last night... Very good service, room very clean and comfortable bed, great fitness center plus very good complimentary breakfast!

The only down side the Internet was not working well this time.. Server must have been down or something!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

OK I know it's March but it's 80 degrees in my room and "they" can't turn on the air because the whole building is on the same system (even though the room has it's own unit). You figure it out. All I know is it's miserable, they don't care so why should I? Also - not a nice greeting to see cigarette burns on your bedspread. Yuck.

Room Tip: If you are forced to stay here ask for a non street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AteT00Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the Best Western for 2 nights. The room was fine, one king bed and a flat screen TV. This is an older property in town but it is in good shape. I found the room to be a bit noisy but not enough to disturb my sleep. The neighborhood is kind of doubtful, but ok for a quick trip.

Except the neighborhood, the location is just great. 5 minutes walk from Newark Penn Station or Prudential Center. You just have to take the PATH to go to NY for 2$ or Train for 5$.

Good quality price for the money if you compare with the Hilton overprice in this neighborhood. The price of the room included breakfast and free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Pou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing