We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Place Near NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid Place Near NYC”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for the NHL Draft in June 2013 and it was a decent price for the location (near New York City). While the area of Newark is a little bit sketchy at times, the hotel was a very solid place with a decent amount of things around it and close to the train station to get to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    542
    261
    110
    80
See reviews for
310
390
156
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is my second home away from home. Even so that my friends took my advice and this is our little local get-away when u just wanna escape for a day. The morning crew are fun (Esp. Jameelah and Mrs. B) when you go for breakfast, the internet needs work though with the wi-fi...that's really my only complaint....add a pool somewhere in there and it would be the best hotel in Newark .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Suncerae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was a very good choice to stay in Newark, just 20 min away to all major attractions in NY City, we saved on parking and taxis.
The hotel has a superb sense of service; everyone that works there make us felt welcome.
Shuttle to PennStation and Airport every 30 min but they will pick you up at your request. The ladies in the breakfast room were always smiling even when the rude tourists from Europe were around.
Parking was included.
Great stay and whenever in NY for weekend will stay there!
Only one set back; smell of smoking is just too strong! closing the bathroom door helps a little.
We were in a smoke free room and seems that the AC/Heat vents are the culprit of the problem.

Room Tip: away from elevators. Even some rooms are smoke free the smell from other rooms get into yours. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJM653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here one night before starting on tour of New England. Flew into Newark Airport; the hotel offers a shuttle that runs every half hour, 24 hrs a day, so that was very convenient. Staff were all very friendly, hotel is nice, clean. Room was clean though a little cramped, and the safe in our room did not work. The bed was not terribly comfortable.

Saw a "happy hour" advertised in the lobby for their onsite restaurant, but the happy hour is only available for those seated at the bar, and when we got there all the bar seats were taken & there were about 6 people in front of us. And they were not seating in the regular dining area because it was a theater night (the hotel is next to the NJ Performing Arts Building) & all the tables were reserved for pre-show guests. We were able to finally get a seat (not at the bar, but at a small corner table near the bar because the host felt bad that we had to wait (about 30-40 minutes) and there was only about 5 minutes of "happy hour" left when he made this arrangement, so while we got discounted drinks, we didn't get the advertised discount on food since we didn't get our food order until a few minutes after 6pm.

A complimentary breakfast was included, and there was a decent variety of choices including coffee, juice, pre-made biscuit sandwiches, fruit, boiled eggs. The staff in this area were very friendly & we had a nice chat with them. They seemed to know many of the guests well so I gather many people have extended stays here, which is a good sign. We wanted to explore a bit before our tour started; the front desk was able to put our bags in their storage room so we didn't have to haul them around, which was nice. This was when we realized the hotel wasn't in the greatest of neighborhoods. However we never really felt in danger & were able to walk a few blocks to an area pub for lunch. It's an older part of town & there are some really beautiful older churches in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

If you ask the front desk for a cab, they will order you an executive limo costing way more than a cab would. Rooms clean, comfortable. Breakfast is good, but staff working it are busy the entire time chit chatting with each other and taking up the limited seating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had to stay near Newark Libery airport (EWR) for one night, and had part of the next day free for sight seeing. Found good reviews in general about this hotel, and it all turned out to be good. The hotel is located in a nice area towards the north of EWR. I booked using Expedia and got the NYC Special Sunday rate, which was probably 35% of a similar hotel room in the Manhattan area.

There are a bunch of restaurants including fast food chains within walking distance. The Newark Penn station is also about 10 minutes walk, which makes travel to Manhattan easy. If you have only one day, there is a tour company bus that picks you up from the hotel, and shows you the major NYS attractions, including State of Liberty if you take the full day tour.

I had been to NYC multiple times before, so instead of taking the NYC tour I went to the Jersey Gardens Outlet mall to do some shopping. The #40 bus takes you to the mall straight from the bus stop which is about 5 minutes walk away for $2.35 on way in about 30 minutes. One the way back, the #24 bus takes you back in about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floors (14 and 15) that faces east for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel was a comfortable stay, and despite a few issues throughout our stay, staff were kind and the hotel served its purpose for our trip of being walking distance to the Prudential Center.

The 24 hour airport shuttle is a great feature, but please note that if you're arriving at night the "shuttle every half hour" rule doesn't seem to apply. We sat outside Newark Airport for 45mins at 11pm waiting for the shuttle, only to finally call them from the airport phone asking what the delay was. The night staff then informed me that I had to request the shuttle for pickup, which was conflicting to the information the day staff told me when I called ahead that morning to find out if I had to request the shuttle or not.

Once we arrived at the hotel, our first room smelt very strongly of smoke despite it being on a non smoking floor. The night staff were very apologetic (especially after the shuttle mixup) and upgraded our room for the evening, and ensured our room for the next day was ready in the morning.

The free wifi was good when it worked, however the hotel was almost full and their wifi has a limit on how many people can connect at one time. Our entire first night we were unable to connect to the wifi due to too many users -- something to keep in mind if you're travelling for business and can't be without wifi.

The breakfast looked good, although we arrived at 10:30am and found most of the food was gone. Managed to get some pancakes though, and it was enough sustenance for the morning ahead until lunch.

A quick 10min walk to Penn Station (which is a quick 20mins ride away from NYC Penn Station) Robert Treat Hotel wasn't without its faults and could do with some modernization but overall it was comfortable and clean and a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmudgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
3.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing