We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel was a very good value for the price. It was under $100, and I just needed a reasonable place to stay for the evening for business in the morning.

The room was plain but clean. There were plenty of good pillows and mattress was comfy enough. The shower had good pressure and good water water.

The staff were reasonably helpful and friendly when I arrived, which was after 11:00pm.
Parking was easy and free. The waits for the elevators were not long. The fitness center actually looked pretty good and modern and actually had people in it working out.

The free breakfast is sold as "deluxe continental" and I think it surpassed that title. Usually continental breakfasts are a selection of breads, but their breakfast had egg and cheese sandwiches and hot oatmeal and the eating area was comfortable and clean and even a little elegant. The woman working the dining area was lovely- great upbeat attitude. The location felt quiet and safe.

Its a good budget hotel.

The only real criticism I had was that the walls were just paper thin. It sometimes felt like neighbors were in my room with me when they rummaged through their suitcases or dinged a hanger in the closet, or folded newspapers. If that matters to you, take note.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    538
    261
    108
    79
See reviews for
309
388
155
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My stay at this hotel in New Jersey has been great. The check-in is fast and friendly. The location is a 5 minute trip from the train station. It is located in downtown Newark so I am close to everything. Reserve your room early for a discounted rate online and you won't regret your choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Staff was extremely unfriendly. Room was just ok.Quite far away from airport,the trip back took almost a half hour.I wouldn't stay here again,very disappointed!!!! Shuttle bus driver did not say a single word to us.Front desk guy threw my reservation sheet back at me..We felt like a bother to these people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Souppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The advantage of staying at Best Western Robert treat hotel is that apart from the economical rooms it takes care of a lot of additional needs. Breakfast is free. Internet is free. Shuttle to Penn Station is free. Shuttle to airport is free. So you save a lot on additional costs!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I over all had a wonderful experience at best western. I will be staying their again, the prices were great and the rooms were beautiful. I arrived at night and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very comfortable, everything was clean. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel for 2 reasons: Location (near the airport) and price (very reasonable.) When we arrived, we found free parking, very courteous (even friendly) desk staff, a clean, comfy room, a nice fitness center, great breakfast (unusual, with an automated pancake maker, which is something I'd never seen before) a terminal to print boarding passes... But there is more: Very close proximity to a station with trains to Manhattan. For less than $100 a night we had a very nice room a ten minute walk and a twenty minute train ride from NYC. We fly to Newark and rent a car to visit family. Next time, we'll stay here for two nights and plan a day in NYC. And we might even see a bit of Newark...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had a flight cancellation at the airport and booked a night at this hotel. I greatly appreciated the fact that they would check me in so late. I took the shuttle bus from the airport and the driver was very entertaining, telling us about Newark and pointing out attractions. The staff were extremely nice and the room was very comfortable and clean. And I did appreciate the name brand shampoo, conditioner and lotion instead of the usual hotel brand. Check out was easy and the shuttles were always on time. Plus I ordered food from room service and got a lot for my money, (chicken avocado sandwich, which came with fries and salad) was pretty tasty and came quick,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing