We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stolen iPad in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Rochester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stolen iPad in room”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My iPad was stolen in my room. The security chief told me that I could either file a police report or he could waive my two-night room bills. He refused to talk about the compensation for the value of a new iPad. It took me 2 hours for his nonsense. Eventually, I was compensated $399 for the value of a new iPad, but I still had to pay for my stay. This property has some party issues because during my 2-night stays, I saw at least 3~4 groups of people got kicked out of the hotel. Definitely wouldn't stay there ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tianyu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    538
    261
    108
    79
See reviews for
309
388
155
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I travel quite a bit from hotel to hotel, and in the area have been to quite a few hotels. I must say this is the first time I have had trouble sleeping in a hotel. For starters, my room was given right next to the elevators. Every time the elevator would go up or down I would hear it, and I heard it all night long. Secondly I'm pretty sure their thermostat's are fake because no matter how much I attempted to change the temperature it would remain constantly at this unbearable high temperature. Even when I turned off the thermostat, it was still going strong. The walls seem like they were made of cardboard because I swear every time a neighbour opened a door it seemed like mine was being opened. I strongly urge anyone looking into getting a hotel for a night look somewhere else, I have been to many other hotels in the area and all of them are strides ahead of this one.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grisham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I live in NYC, but unfortunately there is no viable way to get to Newark for a 6.45am flight on a Sunday morning, so faced with the choice of a $100 cab fare (from Queens) to the airport, or an $80 hotel (through Hotwire), we chose the latter, and we weren't disappointed. Newark has a reputation for being "edgy", but the Robert Treat is in one of the safer neighborhoods and is a 10 minute walk from Newark (Penn) station/PATH station; the walk is through a commercial district and we didn't feel unsafe at all at 11pm on a Saturday night.

The hotel is nicely appointed; big, spacious lobby and efficient check-in (as in it took around 90 seconds). The room was recently renovated, clean, spacious and with a decent view over the East River. The shuttle bus the next morning left on time (they go every half hour) and took less than 10 minutes to get us to the terminal. Overall a much more pleasant experience than waking up at 3.30am and getting a cab from Queens, through Manhattan, to Jersey.

The only disappointment was that breakfast didn't start til 6.30am; considering it markets itself as an airport hotel it should start early enough to cater for the inevitable guests who use the airport as a staging point for an early flight.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the east river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Maybe the best value hotel in the country? Historic, bordering luxurious in many respects, spacious modern room, and ideally located a quarter block from the New Jersey Performing Arts Center, a block from Penn Station, a block from the Prudential Center (hockey & concerts), and a 15-minute train to downtown Manhattan or the Financial District. And only 15-minutes from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport. A VERY pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank the_lawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had a very relaxing stay at the Best Western Robert Treat Hotel. Very convenient for my co-workers retirement party. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. I recommend this hotel for anyone doing business in Newark, NJ. Very convenient downtown location close to Newark, Penn Station, the NJ PACK and the Prudential Center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very convenient hotel for NJPAC & Penn Station. The hotel shuttle service was also very convenient for getting around if needed. There were private functions held in the dining room during our stay which limited use of the bar/lounge area for hotel guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have stayed in Robert Treat for 8 days this March and I have to say it's good hotel. Old one but good. Complimentary breakfast were big plus for me and also price per night is pretty good. Anyway if you are sound sensitive then don't ask for high floor room especially for the 14th, the highest floor! Otherwise a strange sound will be your room-mate all the time. Elevators I was told. And it doesn't matter if you are close or far from the elevators. I have moved to 3rd floor immediately and everything was ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing