We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights for a convention in the area and sight seeing. The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk to Penn Station with easy access to NYC Penn Station and World Trade Centre. The room was great, clean, everything worked well TV, air con etc, iron and board in room. All staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was amazing, much more than continental, and it was opened at 5am rather than 6:30am due to the convention we were attending. Airport shuttle was excellent, on checkout we left our cases with reception for a few hours, went back, picked them up and got shuttle to the terminal at Newark within 30mins! Room service was excellent aswel, highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    542
    261
    110
    80
See reviews for
310
390
156
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our stay here was nothing but excellent. We are a family of 5 so we do appreciate the morning breakfast. The breakfast options were plenty. Short commute to NYC from this hotel. The front desk staff were wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very good overall, but the cleanliness of the carpet is a lot to be desired. Room service is inadequate and at the Front Desk, there needs to be some English Speaking people. Otherwise, communication with the hotel employees will be very difficult. Consequently, you lose some good English Speaking customers. Either WiFi or Internet needs to installed in each room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Narayan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and were very disappointed with the the response to our complaint of excessive noise from the room next to us. It was not resolved until 3:40 am. We attempted to speak with the manager .However,we were not able to reach him. We did get a message from him upon our return home. I was surprised to hear from him that he had no idea of the problem we had had .
I do not recommend this hotel. They need a protocol that ensures that management reviews significant complants in a timely manner.
I do not recommend the hotel as the management failed

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Seby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were on our way to Israel and decided to spend one night in Newark to break up the trip. I looked for a hotel with reasonable rates and close to the Newark Airport. Upon arriving at the Best Western Robert Treat Hotel were were greeted by friendly professional front desk staff. Check-in was easy, the room was clean and spacious. We wanted to go out for dinner and asked about a Steakhouse, the shuttle was offered for our services for delivery and pick-up. The morning continental breakfast offered is more then just continental, plenty of food offerings, eggs, cereal, fruits, biscuits. All tasty and fresh. The staff in the breakfast room was so kind and helpful and professional. The location of the hotel is convenient. We did not walk from Union Station however it would be an easy walk. The morning of our departure we did take a walk out to the city, convenient and close. All in all I have to rate this hotel as an amazing find for the location, price, helpfulness of the staff. From my brief experience in Newark I would like to go back and discover more and will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main street, 8th floor, big window with good window treatments, not much noise, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I read all the trip advisor comments on this hotel but it was our first time staying here - so glad we did! The price is so reasonable, parking is free, breakfast is free and the shuttle to the train station is free! What a deal! The breakfast ladies are wonderful - greeting every guest with a smile and sometimes a song! Don't miss the pancake maker, it's great. It's only a short walk to the train station but we never had to wait more than 5 min for the shuttle to take us back to the hotel. Which is great when you've been exploring NYC all day! The room was clean and big enough for our family of four (two teenagers) to fit comfortably. The rooftop porch is very cool with a great view of NJ and NYC. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed 5 nights here while attending a program at Seton Hall Law School and was pleasantly surprised. When I told other attendees that I was paying $104 a night, with free shuttle to/from Newark Penn Station and the airport and free breakfast (and a very good one), the attendees who were staying elsewhere in Newark (most at the Hilton) were quite jealous--they were paying around $250, with no breakfast.

The lobby is nice. There is a good upscale restaurant "Maize" on the premises. The room was a bit older and a bit small, but clean, and had a comfortable bed and a little fridge. The bathroom was spotless. The Military Park across the street was a good view and hearing the church bells playing songs at 12 and 6 was nostaligic. It is only a $5 train ride into NYC Penn Station. It's next to the Performing Arts Center.

Everyone at the hotel was extremely nice. One of the breakfast staff had a great voice--it was such fun hearing her sing in the mornings.
One of the other reviews had mentioned thin walls/noise, but I found that turning on the A/C fan cured that.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTUFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
3.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing