We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveller rating
331
602
291
129
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
602
291
129
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewark penn stationguest loungenew yorkbreakfast roomperforming arts centerhard boiled eggsfree shuttlemilitary parkpath trainfree breakfastshuttle serviceprudential centerbreakfast sandwichbusiness centervisiting nycworld trade centerhotel shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a week long trip to New York for 4 nights. Great price for this hotel. It was very clean and perfect for what we needed. Best part was Newark Penn station was less than 10 minutes away and took 15-20 minutes to get into the city with NJ transit. Parking was free too so driving up to NJ and taking the train into NYC was worth every penny in gas instead of the hassle of airports, flight+hotel package, taxi here and there...So the location is just perfect. Dont expect to get internet though, for 4 days we could not get internet once. Notifications always said, too many people using the system already. We cannot comment about breakfast as we preferred to sleep in and just eat in the city but it was included in the price which was great if we would have utilized it. Overall front desk service was just fine, no problems there. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to NYC but dont wanna stay right in the city. This is certainly affordable and comfortable.. the perfect combo for budget friendly needs but dont want to sacrifice too much either.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stay at the Treat in Newark simply because I want to relax and enjoy the company of a very special person. The rooms are impeccably clean and the bed is outstanding. Public transportation to New York City is practically around the corner and The New Jersey Performing Arts Center is less than half a block away. The Newark Art Museum is also in walking distance. Excellent experience. Oh, the staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to make it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

1. Did not get Internet for 2.5 of 3 days (service was down) 2. Below average breakfast 3. Open/common areas need updating, rooms ok 4. Excellent location for Newark city 5. Excellent shuttle transportation to EWR Airport and Penn station, for easy access to NY Penn or lower Manhattan (12-15 mins)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 540amits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just needed an overnight after a late arrival at EWR and this was fine. Main problem was that no one answered the airport courtesy phone for the shuttle - not what I wanted late at night after a 16 hour flight. Had to use my cell phone which was an international call, very annoying, to get someone.
However, staff were all fine, checked in quickly. Breakfast was OK for the price, unlike other commenters we found plenty of room.
This seems to be the OK side of town- the business district, though barely saw a soul. You could walk to Penn Station, but we had luggage and took the shuttle- met a couple who were using the hotel as their base for seeing NYC and saving a lot of money over staying downtown.
The other side of the station area (we needed a drug store & that's where we had to go) is not pleasant though, to be avoided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HkPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good value for Money near Penn station and the room is just 0.5 mile from where I do business. The breakfast is good. The restaurant should have more options. Dost not have a 24 hr service for a business traveler like me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews