We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is really the best way to describe it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average is really the best way to describe it”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel was cheap, and we were just in NJ for a few nights. The hotel was average in every way. I don't really mean this as negative, its more neutral. The rooms were older and dated, but were clean, and functional. The lobby was older, but nice enough. The location is very close to the airport. The shuttle wasn't bad and fairly structured on the hour. Waited longer at the airport then I wanted a few times, but tolerable.

The restaurant was probably the best part, much better than I would have expected.

All in all, if the price is right this hotel is perfect for a clean, run of the mill hotel near the airport. If its not priced well I would pick something else though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrav426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    552
    410
    257
    207
See reviews for
420
523
211
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I had to postpone a connection flight because I got ill on the way. We quickly looked for a non expensive hotel near the airport, and found this hotel. We were greeted by a smiling and very nice person at the front desk - Samantha. The day after, she willingly helped us with everything possible. She called the airline, explained our situation, made new reservations for our flight, and made sure we got the confirmation. Since our luggage was already on the following flight, she helped us with getting ourselves basic needs for our two days stay. We did not expect such a personal attitude in a large airport hotel.
The room was clean and quiet, but what's made the biggest impression on us was Samantha's caring attitude.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary1Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Shortly after arriving in my room and in the bathroom (bathroom door open), housekeeping just walked right in without a knock.......
I called the front desk to see if this is common and if people would just be coming and going as they pleased, the front desk didn't seem all that concerned and just said they would speak to housekeeping....

The hotel is showing a lot of wear and is in need of updating badly. The hotel is conveniently located to EWR, has a bar & restaurant with service, there is also a coffee bar in the lobby and a gift shop that has everything under the sun.... You need jumper cables? They have them.

In returning to the area, I will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EWBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Decent hotel, hotel staff were not as pleasant. Accused us of smoking in the suite but we didn't. Apparently our neighbours complained.

Very close to NYC , clean hotel-getting into the lot of the hotel can be a little scary it is off a freeway(or something very close to a freeway)

Super close to the tunnels in NYC and make sure you visit Cake boss - 10 mins away from this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Min N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Room was as you expect for an airport hotel, bed comfy as all American beds seem to be and didn't feel there were any cons until the next morning..

My partner has a leather bracelet he bought on a special holiday and holds sentimental value to us, he unfortunately left it behind on the desk in the otherwise tidy room - you couldn't miss it.
We went out to Manhattan for the day after we had checked out, he realized it was missing ( we tried to call the hotel but phone did not connect via number on website?? )

when we returned to the hotel to collect our bags for the flight home we asked the Hotel Manager to speak to the maids to see if they could grab it from our room that may or may not have been cleaned but either way would have had no other contact with any other person other than the maid. The maid told the manager there was 'no bracelet left in the room' and after being told this the manager rudely lost interest completely and walked away and said we 'can go and check ourselves' even though we were on a tight time schedule to catch a plane.
My partner could not find the bracelet in the place it had been left leaving no other conclusion but that the maid had taken it and was denying any responsibility.
Granted we should not have been careless and left the bracelet, but after long flights your brain is all over the place - and no one else was assigned to our empty room so there is no other explanation as to where it could have gone.
So the bracelet just disappeared off the face of the earth? Not happy.
They could clearly see our distress and it frankly put a very large downer on our otherwise fab holiday.
I would have not posted this bad review if they had a customer service email I could talk to - not a foreign number that doesn't work.

Only giving the extra star because the room was acceptable.

Thanks for nothing Wyndham, won't be staying with you again. Maybe you should consider who you hire.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Newark Airport

Property: Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Address: 550 550 Route 1 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing