We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do if you're stranded at the airport, keep your expectations low”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had to stay in this hotel a couple weeks ago because I missed a connecting flight due to a really bad thunder storm. By the time I got to Newark this was the cheapest hotel I could find and they didn't have many rooms left so I booked one right away. I wish I had paid a few extra dollars for the Hilton because we had to wait a long time for the Wyndham shuttle to show up at the airport. I saw the Hilton and Holiday Inn shuttles show up a few times during the long wait, I would pick them over staying at the Wyndham again for that reason.
Once we finally got to the hotel we had to wait in a very long line to check in, before we finally got to a disheveled looking room. I don't think the A/C worked in my room, but at 2am after a rough day of traveling, I didn't care.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. I’m sorry that the weather conditions created a bit of slow down for our shuttle and a backup at the check-in desk. Fortunately, these kinds of problems are rare. I’m sincerely sorry about this situation and that you did not find the room completely to your likely. Hundreds are satisfied each month, and I apologize that we did not satisfy you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

An overbooked flight home led me to unexpectedly stay overnight in Newark. With my airline vouchers in hand I boarded the shuttle and made my way to the Wyndham Garden Hotel. Based on outward appearances I could tell this was an older property but I was going to stay positive; hey it's a free night. For being nearly 10:30pm the lobby and check-in was busy and bustling with people but the front desk staff moved the line quickly and I had my room key in hand sooner than I expected.

The room itself was pretty standard but was recently modernized with updated curtains and furniture. The king sized bed was stiff but it would do for the night. Again, there were spots showcasing the age of the property but at least the owners made an effort to revitalize the hotel. The bathroom was decent enough but I was taken aback when I lowered the toilet seat cover and saw the elementary school-grade pull handle plumbing. As mentioned in other posts flushing the toilet created a lot of splashback but that unit could probably suck a turkey down with no problems.

I would like to especially recognize this hotel for not only providing free WiFi but providing QUALITY service with an especially strong signal. So often we hear of hotels either charging for WiFi or the signal is so weak it's not even worth checking your email on but not the case here. I videochatted and streamed music with not a moment of lag or outages all for free. Many kudos Wyndham!

The airline hooked my up with $21 in meal vouchers for myself as well. Being totally unfamiliar with the area I decided to stay local and eat in the onsite restaurant. The restaurant didn't close until midnight but I was the only person dining at this hour so I wondered how good the food would be at this point in the evening. I ordered the lemon-garlic salmon filet and OMG I was shocked when it arrived. I was given a huge piece of fish perfectly cooked and with an abundance of sides to accompany it. Again, exterior looks are deceiving as I was definitely not expecting to enjoy my meal as much as I did.

In sum, while this is not the newest property around (by a long shot) this hotel excels because they get the basics consistently right. If you are looking for luxury I suggest you look elsewhere but for a no-nonsense stay close to EWR I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JFlow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. While you are correct that this is not a new property, we believe we’ve done a great job in keeping up with maintenance and with trends and changes in the industry. I’m so glad that you were pleased with the wifi signal, the restaurant and most other services and amenities we provide. We look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Room was comfortable and clean

Had a problem checking in at the reservations desk. Although my company paid for my 3 night stay the person working at the counter asked me to pay again. I paid to quicken the check in and now I have to get my money back from my company.. The sad part is the person checking me in wasn't new..

Poor reservations desk..

Hotel shuttle only takes you to the train stop which you then have to take a bus to take you to the individual terminals..

Food at the lounge was cheap and good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I’m glad we were able to provide a clean, comfortable room and some amenities that satisfied you. I’m sorry, however, that there was a mix up regarding the payment for your room. I’m glad this didn’t detract too much from your stay, and I look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good hotel for the price - The staff was easy to communicate with and the room was decent. Food is ok!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank 02Sud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I’m so pleased that we were able to satisfy you. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms that satisfy all guests, and it’s great to know that we’re doing our job. We focus on meeting all customer needs, and we look forward to having you back with us so we can serve you again. We hope we further exceed your expectations next time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked the hotel for an overnight visit before starting te road trip. There was a free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. The employee at the reception was very helpful when we asked what we could do with the spare time we had.
There wasn't a complimentary breakfast, but in the restaurant we could order breakfast. It was basic, but tastefull, and the employee was very friendly.
Overall a very good hotel to spend a night with friendly employees.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I’m so pleased that you had a good experience with us. We strive to provide the amenities you need for a comfortable stay. I’m especially pleased that our staff was so helpful to you. We appreciate positive comments like these and look forward to having you with us again whenever you need to stop in the area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gardenhotelnewark, Webmaster at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Newark Airport

Address: 550 550 Route 1 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing