We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and breakfast, service okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and breakfast, service okay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall, the rooms I found to be very nice for the price, maybe I got upgraded as a Gold Member but if so I was not told. The breakfast was also solid given that it was free for me. The service from the front desk I found lacking but that may have just been exceptions. I came from Newark Airport at a flight that got in at 12:30am. I called the front desk to ask about the airport shuttle since the website lacks more than a mention of it though I had seen elsewhere that they offered them. I asked where to meet the shuttle and the gentleman said P4 but he didn't know where that was and neither did I. He also said it left the airport on the hour and then every 20 minutes (example: 1am, 1:20am, 1:40am) but couldn't give me a firm answer on when it would arrive at the airport. I asked around and found P4 was a place one had to get the AirTrain to so I had to wait for the AirTrain for 10 minutes and then got to P4 where most hotel shuttles are. By then it was around 1:15am and I had called the front desk again and spoken to the same gentleman to ask if he could make sure that the shuttle driver would wait for me as I would be there around 1:15am and he said the shuttle took 15 minutes from the hotel to airport, but he said there were a lot of people and he basically said he couldn't help me. I arrived and then proceeded to wait until approximately 1:45pm when a shuttle finally came, I am not sure if it was delayed or was the next shuttle but I got on. When I got to the check in the woman was very efficient but didn't mention my Gold HHonors Status but told me I got a free breakfast and internet which was what I expected as a Gold member. She was not rude at all, but I just would have expected a nicer welcome and I had to remind me about the cookie. When I got to the HHonors level (7th floor) the room I was in was large and comfortable. The bathroom seemed slight outdated but the bed was very comfortable and had lots of pillows, a large flatscreen etc. I was impressed and really slept well. In the morning I went down to get my free breakfast but didn't know where the dining room was because the hotel is pretty large, maybe I missed a sign. I went to the front desk to ask and the man gave me some directions telling me it was behind the pool, which wasn't helpful, so I didn't really understand but eventually found it towards the back of the hotel. The hostess greeting diners was very helpful and nice and so too were the waiters I encountered. I had a large but quick breakfast from the buffet which had a decent spread of hot and cold foods and then took off for the shuttle back for my next flight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests and your comments will help us focus our attention to ensure situations like these do not happen again. Our shuttle service is an important part of our hotel's daily activities and we will review with the staff so we can learn from this incident. Thank you again for your review - we hope that if your travels bring you back to the Newark Airport area you would consider giving us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    439
    319
    182
    145
See reviews for
354
295
136
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were booked in to the Doubletree by United Airlines following a missed flight connection. The room was ok and the staff were efficient but we arrived late and were unable to get anything to eat. We arrived just after eleven pm. The restaurant was closed, which is ok but we were not told that room service finished at 11:15pm. By the time we got up to our room, got settled, looked for the non existent menu and went back down to the desk to ask for one it was too late. Luckily the gift shop was still open (allegedly until midnight but actually closed before 11:55) and we dined on crisps, cookies, kitkats & coke.
The coffee machine in the room didn't work and once we collected a replacement from reception we discovered that there was no proper sugar, only substitutes, to go with the coffee.
Minor niggles but given that it is an airport hotel I would have thought that a simple menu would be available 24hours a day.
The airport shuttle service was useful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor, and we are glad you liked our shuttle service and friendly staff. We are sorry that we didn't provide dinning options for late arrival guests. However, we do have take out menu from local restaurant which open very late and menus are available at our bell/concierge desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel and staff was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and found it to be very relaxing. The room was clean and the staff were very nice and helpful. We ordered room service and it was very good when it arrived. It was hot and very pleasing to the eye. We also ate one evening in the Pub and the service was outstanding and the food was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
THANK YOU!! for recognizing our amazing staff!! It is such a joy to work with each of them on a daily basis. I appreciate that you noticed! We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel as well. We can not wait until you come back to YOUR hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
2,176 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I'd give it 5 stars if I wasn't still tired 2 days later from lack of sleep. The amenities and hospitality were truly superb and the breakfast food and staff were top tier. However... They had a few busloads of HS kids staying at the hotel and apparently haven't been trained how to tell kids to go to bed (or contact their group leader). As teenagers without leadership will do, they were hooting and yapping loudly in the sitting areas of the atrium. I finally called at 1:15am to ask for management to get involved and it was quiet enough to sleep by 1:40am. Not exactly a zippy resolution. If your room doesn't face the atrium then you'd probably enjoy the quality beds/bedding much more than I did.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauai-Biz-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at DoubleTree Newark. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including items of opportunity. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods we certainly do encourage for guests comfort and safety that they contact the front office so we can calm the issue. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team to ensure that this is not an opportunity in the future. I do hope the next time you return you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree for 1 night on our way to Scotland. The free shuttle took forever to show up at the airport. It was around 2 am and the airport was busy due to bad weather and delayed flights but as all the other hotel shuttles came by and went and came by again, we just stood there. Finally after calling the hotel they showed up. We were on a Hilton Honors floor which I thought would be nice but really was not. The room was musty and looked worn. The carpet was stained. I tried to call down to get a couple of extra pillows but none of the phones in our room worked. We were only there for one night so I didn't ruin our trip, but I was hoping for something a little nicer. Luckly I had used my points for the room or I would have been more bummed to actually spend money on it. The breakfast bar was so so and pretty expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am sorry to hear about the transportation and room issue you experienced. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, and perfecting our shuttle service is always at the top of our list. We currently have a shuttle leaving the hotel every 20 minutes. In order to execute this, we always have 2 shuttles running. During peak times, we make every effort to provide 3 shuttles, which essentially increases the frequency of shuttle service to every 10 minutes. I regret that in this instance we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed a night before our flight out of EWR. We arrived by town car service.
In front of the hotel there was a gate with a booth. It said to take a ticket.
Parking was $6 up to 1 hour. There was a man in the booth. The taxi driver spoke
loudly to get his attention. He just looked at us then faced away and refused to
acknowledge us. The taxi driver got out and tried to get his attention in the
booth but he ignored him and refused to talk to him or come out of the booth.
Not wanting to pay an extra $6 so he could let us in to drop us off in front of
the entrance to the hotel, we lugged all our bags for our 2 week trip over the
metal tire spikes all the way to the front entrance to the hotel. After we got
inside the hotel a bellman offered to help with our things. At that point, I was
so annoyed, I refused and told him what happened. I also complained to the front
desk when we checked in. They apologized and said that the guy should have let
us in for a quick free drop off and that he would speak to him. The welcome
chocolate chip cookies that Doubletree is known for were not as good at this
particular Newark location compared to other Doubletrees we had stayed at. We
requested a quiet room and we did get that, along with foam pillows because we
are allergic to feathers. If you want quiet, try getting a room not facing the
inside atrium. Upon arrival, was the smell of chlorine as there is a indoor pool
in the atrium. We ordered calamari, which was tender but very greasy from room
service and then we each had burgers with fries, which were good and cooked to
our specifications. We put the air conditioning on as high as it would go. When
we arrived, it was 82 degrees in the room. After hours, it got down and
fluctuated between 76-78 degrees. We took off the comforter and just slept with
the sheets but were up for hours hot and uncomfortable. This was room 619. Being
a Hilton Honors Gold Member, we did get two free bottles if water in the room.
We also got two complimentary breakfast buffets. Half an hour after the buffet
started, the didn't have the French toast or oatmeal out. The turkey sausage was
so hard to chew and swallow. There are omlettes you can request made to order.
Mine was fine but took 20 minutes to come. Four people at the next table were
complaining about his hot their rooms were. They also had to leave to catch a
flight, so the omelette the woman ordered 20 minutes before she did not get a
chance to eat and they had to go. Normally this buffet costs $17 per person. We
told checkout about the room being too hot and he just apologized but did
nothing. Then we go to catch the airport shuttle, which runs every 20 minutes. I
told the driver to drop us off by the first class United terminal C. Then as we
approached, I told him to slow down and drop us off by the first class drop off.
He went right past it and refused to stop, finally stopping all the way at the
end of terminal C. We did not tip him for this because again we had to walk all
the way with multiple pieces of luggage to the first class checkin. This staff
went out of their way to be the rudest and most uncaring people.This place has no clue about customer service and I will never stay at this location ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVIATRIXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks very much for taking your time to share your comment with us. Please accept our sincere apology as we failed to 100% meet your expectation. Once we received your comment, we looked into the problem and nailed down for a solution. Please rest assured that this problem will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was quiet and relaxing. The staff was friendly and efficient. Mattress, pillows and bedding were wonderful. Location was easy in, easy out. The parking arrangement made me feel secure about my vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our Tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing