We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best campground we've seen!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Great Divide Campground
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best campground we've seen!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Gread Divide Campground was very thorough in communicating with us after we made the reservation by providing a receipt, a map, and giving us our site assignment. They also assigned a site right next to restrooms/shower as I had requested. They accommodated us for a late arrival (we drove from Indianapolis and had a few construction slowdowns along the way). When we arrived, a security guard was there to escort us to the campsite. The site had a lot of room for our car and tent (we have a 10' x 15' tent). The restrooms and showers were clean. The grounds are clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The area we stayed in was very quiet. One family were up late quietly enjoying a campfire, and that really enhanced the atmosphere! We certainly plan on staying at The Great Divide Campground the next time we visit New Jersey!

Room Tip: If you want your site close to a restroom/shower, just ask (their webiste suggests that). We were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaRobertsWakulchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    29
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
88
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
livingston,nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My Family and I just returned from a weekend trip to The Great Divide. We had such a great time! The entire grounds are clean and very well-maintained. The Staff is friendly and very accommodating. My son loved the pool, the playground, and the paddle boats! The carnival was an expected surprise that was lots of fun. You can tell the staff goes above and beyond to make sure all their guests feel welcome.

And as crowded as the campground was, nighttime was quiet. We were able to relax by the fire at our site (and sleep) without any disturbances.

I highly recommend The Great Divide and look forward to our next weekend there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecappicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We've tried several campgrounds in NJ. While they have been pretty good, we keep searching for a spot we want to return to. Great Divide is a place I can see myself coming back to again. The only downside is there aren't water activities, but that's not their fault!

We went for my birthday and stayed Friday until Sunday. The campgrounds were very clean; the bathrooms were very clean as well. The only downside to the bathroom was how low the stall doors were. I could easily see over them (I'm about 5'11"). All of the bathrooms smelled pleasant due to air fresheners and fans constantly circulating air. Probably the best smelling camping bathrooms I've been to! The showers near our site (W) were separate from the bathrooms. That can be good, and it can be bad, totally depends on your preference. I actually didn't shower while there (shhh, don't tell!), but our friends did and said they were pretty clean, very small, and the hot water was more like barely warm. But let's be real here; this is a campground. You can't expect 5 star facilities! For being a campground, I was very pleased with the facilities. The staff were friendly too.

We stayed in W3 and W4, both were primitive sites (but there was a spigot in the middle common area that could be used). There were only 2 couples for this trip. We got two sites because at the last campgrounds we went to, 2 sites were barely big enough for 4 people! Since I had never been to Great Divide, I wanted to ensure we actually had space for both tents and both cars. Boy did we have room! We could easily have had one site for the 4 of us, our two tents, and two cars. W4 is mostly grass, while W3 was all gravel. So we parked the cars in W3 and pitched the tents in W4. However, we could definitely have fit everything in W4. The W loop is in the section by the pond, and we were a little worried about excessive bugs. It wasn't worse than usual bugs while camping. Of course we got bitten up, haha. W1 is a very small site (can fit one small car and 1 small tent), and it is perched up a bit and right on the pond. W2 is a water/electric site and is bigger than W1 but smaller than W3 and W4. W5 is grassy but much smaller than W4. We had one set of neighbors across from us on Friday night and then a couple in W5 and W1 on Saturday night. No problems with noise or rude people. We mostly stayed to ourselves on our own campsites. Oh and we had our dog. There were plenty of other dogs around, and our dog was not the noisiest. I wouldn't say it was bad with the dogs in the campgrounds. They bark of course, but everyone seemed to keep their dogs in control.They have a dog park there too, but we never made it to that side of the campgrounds.

There is a nice pool there that has lifeguards; they have a lake with free paddle boats (we didn't have a chance to use); they have activities/events throughout the weekend. Overall, it is a family friendly, clean, secluded place. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: W4 is mostly grass and big, while W3 is mostly gravel. W5 is mostly grass, but is small and a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raraavis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We rented a trailer here. Everything was great. Very clean the kids had a Great time. Even one night the ac froze and with in minutes they had a brand new unit installed. The entire staff is friendly and accommodating. I can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I went here for the second time and was not dissapointed!!! Beautiful, well maintained camp sites, spotless bathrooms and enough amenities to service every need. The staff could not be more helpful. They make sure your every need is taken care of. I camped with 3 little girls this weekend and after our stay all the can talk about is how soon can we return. That's enough of an endorsement right there!!!!

Room Tip: Bring your bathing suit!!! The pool is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a wonderful campground. Beautiful grounds; clean bathrooms; caring staff. Activities and events every weekend. We've been twice now with our 2 year old daughter, and we loved it both times. Take the highway to the great divide!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binyamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our first time at the park this weekend in June for the first time using our new travel trailer, and could not be happier with the whole experience at the location. From the friendly staff at the office to the very helpful maintenance people. They were so eager to help and so hospitable. They have the cleanest bathrooms we have ever scene in a campground. The sites are large and most are secluded from others by the natural landscape. The clean and refreshing pool starts at 3 feet, gradually deepens to about 9 feet and has a diving board. The lake has complimentary paddle boats and they had lifeguards on duty. The environment was mostly families, young and older, with their children. It's a perfect place to come and relax and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Budd Lake-Rockaway Area
16.5 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Campground

Property: The Great Divide Campground
Address: 68 Phillips Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-5427 (Formerly Green Valley Beach Family Campground)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of New Jersey’s rural Sussex County, the Great Divide is your gateway to fields, forests, mountains—and the finest in New Jersey camping and recreation. Adventure, relaxation, family time or solitude, you’ll find it here. No matter what type of getaway you seek, we invite you to experience camping your way.With dozens of amenities and attractions, the Great Divide is the perfect vacation spot for families, couples and groups. Hesitant to leave creature comforts behind? We offer cabins and cable TV hookups. Prefer to ‘unplug’? Choose a primitive campsite and enjoy sleeping under the stars. From our Olympic-sized pool to our full schedule of family-friendly activities, there’s something for campers of all ages and interests. In addition to our beautiful locale, Great Divide visitors enjoy the hospitality of our friendly team. Each of them is passionate about protecting and enjoying the New Jersey outdoors—and they’re here to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Unforgettable experiences, friendly faces. They’re what draw people to the Great Divide, and what keep them coming back, season after season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Campground Newton, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing